Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Crosscurrent

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Jaden Korr hits the library.

This new stand alone Star Wars novel fills the gap between the Second Galactic Civil War (Legacy of the Force series) and the new Fate of the Jedi series. It stars Jaden Korr, ambiguously defined hero of the video game Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy. This book finally give...
This new stand alone Star Wars novel fills the gap between the Second Galactic Civil War (Legacy of the Force series) and the new Fate of the Jedi series. It stars Jaden Korr, ambiguously defined hero of the video game Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy. This book finally gives some of the details about Jaden Korr and what distinguishes him as a Jedi. It also manages to tie in the story of Jaden Korr's continuing inner struggle with the emerging storyline of the Sith tribe prominently featured in the Lost Tribe of the Sith ebooks and the Fate of the Jedi. However, this book deals with the sister-ship of the Omen, vehicle of the Sith tribe, so this story won't be a spoiler for any who haven't read Fate of the Jedi yet. Definitely a must read for anyone who played Jedi Academy as well as anyone interested in the ongoing Sith tribe storyline.

posted by 644430 on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The characters make the novel enjoyable. The dialogue is off and

The characters make the novel enjoyable. The dialogue is off and clunky (especially how the characters seem to wander back and forth from the habit of using contractions in a manner that doesn't seem natural). What seems like the A-plot at the beginning (involving Jaden...
The characters make the novel enjoyable. The dialogue is off and clunky (especially how the characters seem to wander back and forth from the habit of using contractions in a manner that doesn't seem natural). What seems like the A-plot at the beginning (involving Jaden) kind of takes a backseat to the (IMO) much-less-interesting B-plot of the ancient Sith ship and leaves the A-plot for the last several chapters of the book. Despite what seems very two-dimensional, I did come to really enjoy the relationship that develops between the three main characters and was surprised to find myself looking forward to reading the sequel.

posted by M_S75 on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jaden Korr hits the library.

    This new stand alone Star Wars novel fills the gap between the Second Galactic Civil War (Legacy of the Force series) and the new Fate of the Jedi series. It stars Jaden Korr, ambiguously defined hero of the video game Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy. This book finally gives some of the details about Jaden Korr and what distinguishes him as a Jedi. It also manages to tie in the story of Jaden Korr's continuing inner struggle with the emerging storyline of the Sith tribe prominently featured in the Lost Tribe of the Sith ebooks and the Fate of the Jedi. However, this book deals with the sister-ship of the Omen, vehicle of the Sith tribe, so this story won't be a spoiler for any who haven't read Fate of the Jedi yet. Definitely a must read for anyone who played Jedi Academy as well as anyone interested in the ongoing Sith tribe storyline.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fine Addition to the SW Collection

    This was a great SW novel. Mr. Kemp has made a huge first impression on me in writing this novel. Not only is the story interesting and highly engaging (I couldn't put down the book within the last 100 pages), but he did it without using a single character from any of the movies and you end up genuinely caring for everyone of these new characters by the end of the novel. Thus far, only Karen Traviss had dared to do something like that. I hope this will create a new wave of stories that are bound only by George Lucas's universe and not his characters as well. Don't get me wrong, I love those characters, but they have been overused a little too much. I do have one criticism of this novel though: the whole premise of this story is that Jedi of the Old Republic and Luke Skywalker's new order meet. While Mr. Kemp gives an excellent and reasonable explanation for how this could happen, the two characters' story lines never really affect each other. He could have written two separate novels and nothing would have been different. I wish that those two characters' fates had been more intertwined. All in all, a fine addition to the SW novel library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    The characters make the novel enjoyable. The dialogue is off and

    The characters make the novel enjoyable. The dialogue is off and clunky (especially how the characters seem to wander back and forth from the habit of using contractions in a manner that doesn't seem natural). What seems like the A-plot at the beginning (involving Jaden) kind of takes a backseat to the (IMO) much-less-interesting B-plot of the ancient Sith ship and leaves the A-plot for the last several chapters of the book. Despite what seems very two-dimensional, I did come to really enjoy the relationship that develops between the three main characters and was surprised to find myself looking forward to reading the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Crosscurrent is a thrilling adventure with a new cast of interes

    Crosscurrent is a thrilling adventure with a new cast of interesting characters. I have not played Jedi Academy, so this is my first real encounter with Jaden's character. Kemp really did a good job at taking an underdeveloped character and giving him some depth. I also liked Khedryn and Marr; they have elements of Han and Chewie while having many unique qualities as well. Relin is an interesting character as well. Even though he was pretty much steeped in the dark side for the second half of the book I still sympathised with him. I thought Saes was okay as the typical deluded sith; although his character was stereotypical, he still filled in the necessary role of Relin's opposite. As for the lignan, I thought it was believable, it was after all mentioned in Precipice, as was Saes. This was another thing that Kemp pulled off well; he took the beginning of Precipice and expanded on it, giving it detail.

    The only real major problem with this novel was Kell Douro. While he was an interesting character, I feel he was completely out of place here. His storyline had almost no effect on the rest of the story, except that the clones stole his ship. He could have fit somewhere else, but not in this novel. Although he did let us see Darth Wyyrlok and learn that some people in the galaxy are aware of Krayt, he mostly just bogged down the novel.

    Overall this is a well crafted adventure story and some cool new characters and situations, although the pacing was almost too fast for my liking. Either that or I just couldn't put it down because it was so enjoyable. Paul Kemp really did well at making this seem like a Star Wars novel and he made some very appropriate references that didn't seem contrived. A special nod to Darth Wyyrlok's cameo as a way to show how the One Sith deal with their isolation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    This novel starts off a story that intertwines with many other s

    This novel starts off a story that intertwines with many other stories in the EU of Star Wars. If you are just starting out reading SW or a die hard fan who's read many novels, this book is for you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    f Gtt

    Read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Not a terrible Star Wars book but not a particularly great one e

    Not a terrible Star Wars book but not a particularly great one either. It doesn't help that it doesn't feature any established characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    john

    Bqcbuhaashjjddejj

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Pretty good read

    Lots of good action and an interesting plot twist or two. It was a bit predictable and many of the characters seemed like ports from the main star wars cast. The whole lines of fate thing was a bit odd... i didnt care for that aspect of th story but other than those few things i did have quite some fun with this read and it reads fast. Any fan should try it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Seth

    Cool

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Good

    Very good book would like to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!!!

    This book is awesome! Has all the classic Star Wars essence, from space battles, jedi vs. Sith duels, even mystery that leaves you guessing! It ends on a cliffhanger that you'll immediately want to buy the sequel Riptide! I loved this book immensely and I'm sure you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    this book is for someone who wants something new from star wars

    this truly is a book with a original story and many plot twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Solid

    I like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    Meh..

    This isnt a bad book. Its just hard to say that it really excelled. The characters were written very well, but i felt the major plots of the story (timetravel, cloning, inner turmoil, exc) were missing something. I believe the intention of this book was just a setup for a series. Overall it will not hinder a book collector nor can i say that it would be a must have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Crosscurrent

    For a Star Wars novel that doesn't have the core characters (Luke, Leia, Han), it is a decent story. The cool twist was finding the cloning lab, with the possibility of it being directed by Grand Admiral Thrawn, one of the greatest of the Expanded Universe characters.
    There may be a continuation of this story, so I hope they do some Thrawn flashbacks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Crosscurrent is the first great Star Wars Novel of 2010

    Crosscurrent is a great addition to the Star Wars Expanded Universe. What is truly great about this book is it ties in real nicely with the Fate of the Jedi series and the Lost Sith Tribe e-book series. Fans of the Jedi Knight video game series will recognize Crosscurrents main character Jaden Korr. It was nice to see Korr get his own book and hopefully he will show up in future books. Other great characters include Kell Douro, Saes Rrogan and Relin Druur. Kemp really goes out of his way to please everybody and Star Wars EU veterans will recognize much of what is referenced in this book. I was impressed with how much Kemp knew about the other novels and comics some of which has been around for quite a while. I also enjoyed the inclusion of the Great Hyperspace War; it fits into the story very well and adds to the story. The action scenes are great and the ending left me begging for a sequel Crosscurrent is a great Star Wars Novel that Star Wars fans can't afford to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    Getting Rediculous

    well I've been a fan of Star Wars for YEARS and I will even read this book when it becomes available to me, but everything I have read over the years was great up until Fate of the Jedi Series.... Star Wars is going over the top now and taking it to far I mean come on Jedi Force powers that let you phase through solid objects (the hand through Mando Armor). And now we are going to have time travel? I always thought of star wars as not being a cheap production like all other friday night science fiction series. but lately it just seems like they will throw anything into their books.

    Well I will play fair and reserve my feelings about CrossCurrent until I read it, but if it is going to go with the pattern of the fate of the jedi series then I think it will be more wild and exotic than what needs be. I miss the stories about friends with different strengths and weaknesses banding together to take out an all powerful foe. cus with all this time travel nonsence, the next thing you will see is Luke, Han, and Leia traveling through time to rescue Chewie, Anakin, Mara, Jacen, and Obi-Wan to keep them from dying.!! That book can be called The Return of those who shouldnt Return!

    well Ill get off my rant now.. hope you all enjoyed!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2