Customer Reviews for

Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi: Into the Void

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I have to start this review with a disclaimer: I know next to no

I have to start this review with a disclaimer: I know next to nothing about Star Wars, and it’s universe. I’ve never seen the movies, never read any of the other books – I know only as much as you pick up through living in this society with all the references and quotes...
I have to start this review with a disclaimer: I know next to nothing about Star Wars, and it’s universe. I’ve never seen the movies, never read any of the other books – I know only as much as you pick up through living in this society with all the references and quotes out there.

That gave me a unique starting place to read this book from, and underscored the reasons I was interested reviewing it. To be able to “start at the beginning” for one thing, and secondly, to come at this work looking at it in its own merits, without the weight of “canon” or the full story coming behind me, as I’m sure many other reviewers will expound on.

Vivid. First and foremost, this work is vivid. I could see and understand everything the author was trying to show me in the worlds we were walking through. I saw and believed each species: I could see the height differences, the temperaments, the interactions of different backgrounds in the “melting pot” of the temples the characters travelled to. I was immersed in the environments brought before me, from the Great Journey over rivers, mountains, and desert, to riding in the customized ship through space. The air on Nox stung, and the strange pressures of the Chasm flooded out of the pages. Through all of these well-crafted images and sensations, my “suspension of disbelief” was complete. I was ready to hear and accept the story, and it did not disappoint.

I believed and mourned the downward decline of a brother who didn’t fit his family’s expectations. I understood the mentality of the sister who was trying to fight back against losing him. The split chapters between present day and flashback were done extremely well. I especially enjoyed the fact that the flashback was written in a completely different tense, so it added distinction, and gave it a bit more mystery than normal flashback scenes I have seen. The split story was also gripping. The reader knows what is going to happen, where it is going to end, but it still twists and turns, taking you by surprise, and keeping you engaged. There were no “throw-away” scenes, thoughts, or moments. I was never bored, or feeling like I had to push through a section to get back to the main plot. Everything intertwined perfectly.

My only argument with the book comes at a character-creation level, something the developmental editor in me loves to grab onto. I want to know WHY your character would act a certain way. Can you justify it? Can you justify it if they have not acted in such a manner at all until this point? Give me a believable reason, pass it along to the rest of your readers, and you will have an amazing story. That said, here is my question. Lanoree walks through a teeming market, noting the differing races, and remarking on some that are in the middle of religious rites. They are of a different belief from her, but she passes by them with a measure of respect, even though she does not agree. Her adult role is of mediator, of understanding both sides, and acting in the best interest of the worlds as a whole. As a child, she did not yet have this training, this outlook on those around her, and thus pushed her brother to accept her way. It was done in love, as she, overall, wanted the best for him, but she could not see his side. When she meets up with him again, she pauses, curious and contemplative, for a moment almost seeming like she wishes to use her new skills to reach a resolution. But the order from the Je’daii overrules, and she resorts to the same brash force she used back when they were children to get her point across.

Why would she be so open to allowing other species their beliefs that she didn’t agree with, but couldn’t allow her brother the same courtesy? And if it all boils down to the imminent danger of self-implosion, why did she not use her prowess as negotiator to try to touch her brother’s heart? To show him she could now allow for other sides of the argument, as long as it was for the greater good?

These questions are neither here nor there, but they are something to keep in mind for other writers out there. I greatly enjoyed this book, and I fully recommend it! I see Mr. Lebbon’s prowess in the writing craft as something others can learn from, but I would ask those writers to keep in mind, your reader will care about the characters you introduce them to – make sure maintain consistency, or it will frustrate them.

I received a review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.

posted by StudentofParables on May 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I didn't like it. It felt more like 2 short stories or novellas

I didn't like it. It felt more like 2 short stories or novellas with weak plots that were shuffled together like a deck of cards. It's too bad because it had potential.

posted by 260022 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    I have to start this review with a disclaimer: I know next to no

    I have to start this review with a disclaimer: I know next to nothing about Star Wars, and it’s universe. I’ve never seen the movies, never read any of the other books – I know only as much as you pick up through living in this society with all the references and quotes out there.

    That gave me a unique starting place to read this book from, and underscored the reasons I was interested reviewing it. To be able to “start at the beginning” for one thing, and secondly, to come at this work looking at it in its own merits, without the weight of “canon” or the full story coming behind me, as I’m sure many other reviewers will expound on.

    Vivid. First and foremost, this work is vivid. I could see and understand everything the author was trying to show me in the worlds we were walking through. I saw and believed each species: I could see the height differences, the temperaments, the interactions of different backgrounds in the “melting pot” of the temples the characters travelled to. I was immersed in the environments brought before me, from the Great Journey over rivers, mountains, and desert, to riding in the customized ship through space. The air on Nox stung, and the strange pressures of the Chasm flooded out of the pages. Through all of these well-crafted images and sensations, my “suspension of disbelief” was complete. I was ready to hear and accept the story, and it did not disappoint.

    I believed and mourned the downward decline of a brother who didn’t fit his family’s expectations. I understood the mentality of the sister who was trying to fight back against losing him. The split chapters between present day and flashback were done extremely well. I especially enjoyed the fact that the flashback was written in a completely different tense, so it added distinction, and gave it a bit more mystery than normal flashback scenes I have seen. The split story was also gripping. The reader knows what is going to happen, where it is going to end, but it still twists and turns, taking you by surprise, and keeping you engaged. There were no “throw-away” scenes, thoughts, or moments. I was never bored, or feeling like I had to push through a section to get back to the main plot. Everything intertwined perfectly.

    My only argument with the book comes at a character-creation level, something the developmental editor in me loves to grab onto. I want to know WHY your character would act a certain way. Can you justify it? Can you justify it if they have not acted in such a manner at all until this point? Give me a believable reason, pass it along to the rest of your readers, and you will have an amazing story. That said, here is my question. Lanoree walks through a teeming market, noting the differing races, and remarking on some that are in the middle of religious rites. They are of a different belief from her, but she passes by them with a measure of respect, even though she does not agree. Her adult role is of mediator, of understanding both sides, and acting in the best interest of the worlds as a whole. As a child, she did not yet have this training, this outlook on those around her, and thus pushed her brother to accept her way. It was done in love, as she, overall, wanted the best for him, but she could not see his side. When she meets up with him again, she pauses, curious and contemplative, for a moment almost seeming like she wishes to use her new skills to reach a resolution. But the order from the Je’daii overrules, and she resorts to the same brash force she used back when they were children to get her point across.

    Why would she be so open to allowing other species their beliefs that she didn’t agree with, but couldn’t allow her brother the same courtesy? And if it all boils down to the imminent danger of self-implosion, why did she not use her prowess as negotiator to try to touch her brother’s heart? To show him she could now allow for other sides of the argument, as long as it was for the greater good?

    These questions are neither here nor there, but they are something to keep in mind for other writers out there. I greatly enjoyed this book, and I fully recommend it! I see Mr. Lebbon’s prowess in the writing craft as something others can learn from, but I would ask those writers to keep in mind, your reader will care about the characters you introduce them to – make sure maintain consistency, or it will frustrate them.

    I received a review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    This book was a fun and easy read. Although I wouldn't rate it

    This book was a fun and easy read. Although I wouldn't rate it as exceptional, it is a welcome addition to the Star Wars universe. Lanoree Brock is an interesting character. I would like to see her develop through additional stories. Keep in mind that this book covers events that takes place 20,000-plus years prior to anything else that has thus far been chronicled for Star Wars. It's worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    In high school I read nearly every Star Wars book ever written,

    In high school I read nearly every Star Wars book ever written, and I have great memories of Jedi adventures across the universe. Every now and then — particularly when I am in need of some easy fiction reading — I like to pick up one of the new Star Wars titles. I was given a free digital copy of Into the Void in exchange for an honest review, and I jumped at the chance.

    Into the Void focuses on the beginnings of the Jedi, to their historic roots. In fact, the few force-sensitive individuals in this book are actually called Je’daii, and they are far less concerned with clinging to the light side than their later descendants. The Je’daii look to walk a balance between light and dark, keeping a healthy tension, whereas the Jedi most of us know were ultimately concerned with never straying anywhere near the dark.

    Additionally, the Je’daii are unique in that they don’t yet have lightsaber technology. Although there are some hints of force crystals and the beginnings of lightsaber tech, the Je’daii use regular swords. Those swords can absorb and deflect some laser bolts, much like a lightsaber, but it took adjusting to accustom myself to reading about a Je’daii carrying a gleaming metal sword.

    In Into the Void Lanoree Brock is the protagonist, tasked with tracking down her brother, a mysterious possible villain who turned his back on the Force he despised. The brother-sister relationship carries good potential, but Lanoree never becomes a captivating hero. Her character lacks depth, and the author spends more time focusing on Lanoree’s history with her brother than on Lanoree as a person. I kept wishing I’d see more complexity in Lanoree’s thoughts and words, but she was frustratingly simple.

    The action was very well-written and compelling, but the character development was more frustrating and less complete than in other Star Wars novels. I recommend this book to Star Wars fans who want to ponder the beginnings of the Force and the Jedi, but I wouldn’t suggest this book to budding Star Wars readers, as there are many better novels to begin with.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Not great, but good.

    Two stories mixed together at what seems to be random. Not well written but entertaining enough to finish. Was expecting more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Good if you are new to star wars

    To date i have read all the star wars books. So this book a disappointment as basically being two short stories and exerpts of earlier published books. Came across like sn expensive ad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I didn't like it. It felt more like 2 short stories or novellas

    I didn't like it. It felt more like 2 short stories or novellas with weak plots that were shuffled together like a deck of cards. It's too bad because it had potential.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2015

    OK.

    OK.Definitely not great.I do not really recommend this book.It is boring in most parts.So yeah,not the best.You will probaly like Darth Bane:Path of Destruction more.It is much more interesting than this.This is the first Star Wars book Tim Lebbon has written.It is not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Good read. Gives a history for the movies.

    Enjoying the books more than the movies. More information than the big screens can show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4 stars for originality, freshness, and a new and different look

    4 stars for originality, freshness, and a new and different look st Star Wars. For just the writing and plot I would give about 3-1/2 stars. There is one main plot line, that is fairly strait forward, and follows Lanoree Brock's relationship with her brother in the past and in the present. If you are going to read the Dawn of the Jedi comic series this book is a must read. Reading this book first allows you to jump right into the comic series without feeling lost. Through Lanoree you are introduced to the Tython system and the Je'daii's unique understanding of the force. The Je'daii do not focus on just the light side of the force, but instead the balance between the light and the dark. This allows them to occasionally do some very dark things, which is something we are unaccustomed to seeing of the Jedi. One of the payoffs towards the end of the book shows Lanoree going to a very dark place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    I'm a huge Star Wars nerd and I like the Dawn of the Jedi comic,

    I'm a huge Star Wars nerd and I like the Dawn of the Jedi comic, but I really struggled to get through this book unfortunately. It basically has nothing to do with the comic series aside from the setting and I just could not get into the story or the characters at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Incredibly disappointing read. It's not about the dawn of the J

    Incredibly disappointing read. It's not about the dawn of the Jedi, but the dawn of light speed. This story could have been so much better had it been written by an author with more imagination. Drew Karpyshyn would have been golden for this one. I suggest skipping this one if you're not new to the SW Universe. Trust me, you won't miss much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Very good read, I Highly Recommend it.

    It kept my interest and I highly enjoyed it. Can't wait until the next book in this series is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    If it wasn't for Star Wars in the title you would almost never know

    I never thought I would find a Star Wars book I didn't like but I finaly did. It was hard for me to read this book, it just did not engage me the way it should have. You could have just as easily written this as a generic sci fi novel and it probably would have been a better read, and thst is just a crying shame.

    I had fairly high hopes for this book, here we have a whole 20000 years before A New Hope and the mythos that birthed the Jedi order. And I honestly have never been so dissapointed. This book had such huge potential to open up a previously untaped resource of history and good versus evil and it just turned into a typical soap opera sci fi drama between brother and sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    This book was awful. I was hoping to start reading Star Wars fro

    This book was awful. I was hoping to start reading Star Wars from the beginning of the Jedi Order but this is a completely irrelevant and poorly written beginning. The book is 400 pages, but actually ends on the 298th page and the rest are excerpts from other Star Wars books. The writing was poor and spliced together two short stories that could have had some really promising elements if the author had any sort of imagination. The fact that this author wrote a book that became a New York Times Bestseller astounds me. Skip this book! There is no reason to read it and ten reasons not to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    On the whole I really enjoyed the book and the story that was to

    On the whole I really enjoyed the book and the story that was told.  The dual-stories intertwined well and made for an engaging narrative.  The writing style is a little different from others and can take some getting used to, but the story is strong enough to carry it through.  




    I enjoyed the story, but in the grand scheme of all things Star Wars, I didn't enjoy it all that much.  Taken by itself, it's a pretty fun read, but doesn't really mesh in the overall mythos.  The idea that this takes place 10,000 years before everything else is just odd because all of the technology remains essentially the same.  The races are the same and the ideals are almost the same as well.  When you think about it, that basically means there's been no evolution of technology or species between this story and the other Star Wars tales. 




    It's a fun story, I just wish the time frame for it were a little different.  It's worth reading, but I'd take it more as a side tale and nothing more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    a long time ago strikes again

    Star Wars for over forty years has woven tales that are a great read for young and old.
    Dawn of the Jedi fills in a tale long before Luke Skywalker and Obi-wan Kenobi and yet fits in nicely. as a long time Star Wars fan Dawn is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    into the void

    A nice begining to a great universe this book leads right into the comic book series and has a nice short story at The end as well :) by john ostrander so a must read for any star Wars fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Just one question: When's the next one coming out?

    Just one question: When's the next one coming out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    You have to read it to see my comment

    Pie.... IT IS EPIC

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Into the void: Star Wars (dawn of the Jedi) Lanoree is strong in

    Into the void: Star Wars (dawn of the Jedi)
    Lanoree is strong in the force, but she is set on the journey to learn and test her ability to keep her balance in the force. This is the beginning of the Star Wars Jedi saga, when the force was a balance, and the Je’daii are different in many ways. They are scientist, they are explores they are artist like her parents. They are sent to various temples to explore their interests, find their calling and taught balance in the force. But Lanoree’s brother is different, Dal feels separate from his family, he does not feel a calling but a rejection from the force. This only causes problems as the siblings face their challenges. Lanoree who is strong with the force feels that her brother has abandoned her. When he is exhaled from the temple for endangering others she begins to feel a relief of the burden of helping him. Only to find his bloody clothing on the river bank, and have to return home to tell her parents. But this is only the beginning of this strange and mystical tale, with many plot twists and turns, the siblings will face each other again, and change the universe by their conflict. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3