Customer Reviews for

Star Wars: Scoundrels

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read for fans and even Star Wars newbies

This book was awesome! Think Ocean's 11 (the original one with the Rat Pack) with a Star Wars flare. It has you turning pages eager for the next turn. And you don't have to have read every book in the genre to be able to appreciate it either. You don't even really hav...
This book was awesome! Think Ocean's 11 (the original one with the Rat Pack) with a Star Wars flare. It has you turning pages eager for the next turn. And you don't have to have read every book in the genre to be able to appreciate it either. You don't even really have to have seen the movies to get it. It's great for those who like heist/intrigue type books. For the fans who have poured over every book ever written it give a little extra background detail to many characters you know and love. It's well worth the read. I loved it!!

posted by 17182539 on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I am a fan of Zahn and the Star Wars universe...but this was jus

I am a fan of Zahn and the Star Wars universe...but this was just not good. Honestly it felt more like a fan fic off the internet than a Zahn Star Wars novel. It passed the time, but I can't say I enjoyed anything about it.

posted by VoraciousReaderWP on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    A Must Read for fans and even Star Wars newbies

    This book was awesome! Think Ocean's 11 (the original one with the Rat Pack) with a Star Wars flare. It has you turning pages eager for the next turn. And you don't have to have read every book in the genre to be able to appreciate it either. You don't even really have to have seen the movies to get it. It's great for those who like heist/intrigue type books. For the fans who have poured over every book ever written it give a little extra background detail to many characters you know and love. It's well worth the read. I loved it!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Ocean's Eleven meets Star Wars....A Great Caper!

    Han Solo has to gather a who' who of criminals to pull off the ultimate heist in order to pay off Jabba the Hutt. This story takes place between A New Hope (the original Star Wars) and Empire Strikes Back. It is an exciting caper that was brilliantly told by Timothy Zahn, the author of the well-known Thrawn Trilogy. This book would appeal to more than just the Star Wars fan. It is for anyone who likes a good criminal caper story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    I am a fan of Zahn and the Star Wars universe...but this was jus

    I am a fan of Zahn and the Star Wars universe...but this was just not good. Honestly it felt more like a fan fic off the internet than a Zahn Star Wars novel. It passed the time, but I can't say I enjoyed anything about it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Another masterpiece

    Timothy Zahn's Star Wars books are some of the best works of this particular genre. Intricate schemes, plot twists, surprise endings- what's not to like? This one offers a fascinating look at the world of crime, Star Wars style. Han Solo and the faithful Chewbacca round up at team of elite scoundrels, including the always dashing Lando Calrisian, to crack a crime syndicate's 'unbreakable' security system. Thieves, pickpockets, hackers, con men, gamblers, explosive experts- reminds you of Ocean's Twelve, doesn't it?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    just as with any heist story, I don't think it went as smoothly as the intended plan.

    A heist story set in the Star Wars Universe using the biggest loveable rogue of the series as the main character? How could this go wrong? It can't really. It would have taken a total, unexpected disaster to screw this up. And yet, just as with any heist story, I don't think it went as smoothly as the intended plan.

    My issue with it is that I don't feel like the author got Han quite right. It is Han, but it's the older Han in my opinion. He's the authority figure. The leader that's concerned about the people working under him. This didn't feel like a Han that would banter with Leia before charging a squad of stormtroopers on his own. I think it would have worked better if Han and Lando had been switched.

    Otherwise, I did enjoy the story. And I'll give it some credit for making a "Han didn't shoot first" joke that needed to be made.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Fun, Star Wars heist

    It's simple, but the author does a great job of making a heist novel fit into the Star Wars universe. Highly recommended if you want an excellent, light read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Star Wars novel, Scoundrels was a very fun and adventurous book,

    Star Wars novel, Scoundrels was a very fun and adventurous book, it introduced some new characters and brought back some nice return appearances such as Lando, and Winter, I loved the ending it was worth the wait, to finish the book, nice reward


    mikegreene2323

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    this is star wars at its best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is star wars at its best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great book

    Little slow at times, but fast paced action all the rest. More a mytery novel. But a great book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Great book

    Loved this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    My boyfriend is back...

    Han. Writen by Zahn. Enough said.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Wow

    This book is really good. I loved how Timothy Zahn brings the classics back to life and yet incorporates new characters perfectly. This book takes place a short while after Star Wars: A New Hope, if that helps to bring the timeline into perspective.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    "You like me because I'm a scoundrel. There aren't enough s

    "You like me because I'm a scoundrel. There aren't enough scoundrels in your life. " - Han Solo

    It's surprising how well this novel epitomizes this quote from Episode 5. Not only has author Timothy Zahn created a thrilling, fast-paced, heist adventure novel, he has also fitted it perfectly into the Star Wars universe, a universe where such stories are few and far between. Indeed, there aren’t enough books like Scoundrels in Star Wars.

    After losing the reward money Han got from the Rebel Alliance, our favorite smuggler seems to be out of luck. That is until a mysterious bandaged man approaches him with a job: break into a Black Sun crime syndicate stronghold and steal the contents of its seemingly impenetrable safe. If he succeeds, the reward from this job would be enough to pay off his debt several times over. Enlisting the help of gamblers, con artists, and thieves, Han gets ready for perhaps the most thrilling ride of his life.

    The basic concept of the story is enough to turn heads. In a universe dominated by grand space battles, lightsaber duels, and classic good-vs-evil themes, it’s quite refreshing to find a story that epitomizes none of these.  Instead, what we get is a smart adventure book that focuses more on the interactions between characters and what goes on through their heads. Throughout the novel, we get to see the heist from both sides with each constantly trying to outwit the other. Is this trap? Who’s really behind this plot? How will my enemies react to this or that? Characters frequently ask themselves these questions throughout the story and oftentimes incorrectly. This psychological warfare makes for one of the most entertaining parts of the plot. However, not only are the characters left in the dark, Zahn intelligently leaves the reader out as well. Using the classic “show don’t tell” method of storytelling, sometimes not even the reader knows the entire story behind the heist and must piece it together as it goes along. When Zahn finally reveals the last piece of the puzzle, the payoff is extremely rewarding.  Add to that a slew of distinct characters with fleshed-out backstories and you’ve got yourself a real page turner. Might I also add the incredible plot twist at the end that is by far the greatest one I’ve ever read?

    To fully enjoy this book, one really has to go in with an open mind. If you read Star Wars novels only for lightsaber duels and space battles, you’ll find none of them here. However if a story about a group of crooks effectively stealing from the mafia sounds interesting, give this book a go. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Luke skywalker

    Luke skywalker is gay. Darth vador is cool and han solo is awesome. Anikin skywalker needs to stop walking on skys...... got that?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    This is more of a heist with Star Wars Characters. It wasn't a

    This is more of a heist with Star Wars Characters. It wasn't a bad read, but it wasn't what I would consider a true Star Wars book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Room #1

    Post

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    I am a droid

    I own your faces

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Darth vader is awesome

    And fat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    I LOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEE HAN SOLO

    I could even marrie him

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4