Customer Reviews for

Star Wars: Crucible

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

***My review first published on LibraryThing 7/9/13*** (Disclai

***My review first published on LibraryThing 7/9/13***

(Disclaimer: Received this egalley ARC free through NetGalley)

I enjoyed Troy Denning's past works that I've read, and this was no exception. Great action and some of the most beloved characters in the Star Wars u...
***My review first published on LibraryThing 7/9/13***

(Disclaimer: Received this egalley ARC free through NetGalley)

I enjoyed Troy Denning's past works that I've read, and this was no exception. Great action and some of the most beloved characters in the Star Wars universe facing inner struggles and staring death in the face and still coming through it all.

This book pits several Jedi, Han Solo, Princess Leia and Lando Calrissian against a pair of alien super-genius brothers bent on gaining use of the Force and using it for their own gain. Throw in a little deathmark they have against Han Solo, a platoon of Mandalorian mercs and their hybrid Nargon biot shock troops, a Sith agent of sorts, and a vastly powerful Force artifact and you've got yourself a book you won't put down.

A new character introduced in the book comes off as a young Han Solo and I wonder if we'll see more of him in future books.

Basically, one scene in the book will probably stay with me for awhile. Let me say, without spoilers, when you read it and think "This is like rabid dogs playing high stakes poker", you'll know the part of the book I'm talking about. Awesome mind game depiction. Don't know if I've ever come across anything similar in another book, ever.

When I got to the end, I wanted more, more, more. Not that I was unsatisfied by any means, just that I want to see what some of the many future possibilities (too many to name) I saw come about in later books.

Never trust a Sith, words to live by, and proven by the villainess Vestara, I know there will be more of her because she is cool, confident, and a perfectly beautiful, yet treacherous, being.

How do you play against two living brains, which is what the Columi brothers are pretty much? Doesn't matter when they bet against Han Solo, the high stakes will cost them in the end.

I loved the presentation of the Rift in this story, an endless black sea past the known and civilized galaxy. Made a fascinating backdrop for Lando's latest business endeavor and the starfighter dogfights where one wrong move can send you off into nothing, like the legendary Flying Dutchman. Also, where else would you hide an ultra-powerful Force artifact?

There was a nice depth to the whole book that I found impressive.
Entirely relatable characters, dark villains, several very well done sub plots. And of course, it's the Star Wars universe!

I can't wait for the next book that has as much as this one does. This one may be a stand alone, but I can hope.

My pet peeves: I found only 2 little missing word issues, that I can live with, and that's darn good for almost any book.

Easily recommended for any lover of sci-fi, in particular Star Wars fans.

Note: LibraryThing allows 1/2 star ratings, there I gave 4 1/2 stars which I feel is accurate, wish I could put 4 1/2 stars here also, not 4.

posted by wolfjack on July 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A little lite

Disappointingly short one-off story that doesn't seem to fit well with the most recent story arcs. Too many questions left unanswered.

posted by 10794596 on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    A little lite

    Disappointingly short one-off story that doesn't seem to fit well with the most recent story arcs. Too many questions left unanswered.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    The end of luke skywalker

    As the story winds down, Lukes role is at an end. NO NEW STAR WARS books. Only comic books are being published. Now that Lucas isn't running Star wars. DISNEY will ruin this epic saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Worth the read

    This was a good read but I was hoping for a bit more. it's always enjoyable when the " mysteries of the force" are delved into and there's some of that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1