Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Coruscant Nights #1: Jedi Twilight

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Star Wars Noir

As a Star Wars fanboy, I have read and enjoyed Michael Reaves other Star Wars novels. Continuing the story of characters from his pre-Phantom Menace novel: Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter, Reaves sets this story just after Revenge of the Sith. It's a noir-style crime thrill...
As a Star Wars fanboy, I have read and enjoyed Michael Reaves other Star Wars novels. Continuing the story of characters from his pre-Phantom Menace novel: Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter, Reaves sets this story just after Revenge of the Sith. It's a noir-style crime thriller set in the Star Wars universe. It would be enjoyed by Star Wars and noir fiction fans alike.

posted by DarthDuck on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid Start To A Hopefully Noirish Trilogy

"Jedi Twilight", the first in the "Coruscant Nights" trilogy, is an interesting adventure to be added to the Star Wars catalogue. By basing the entire novel within the epic metropolis planet of Coruscant, author Michael Reeves is able to match a dark, gritty plotline to...
"Jedi Twilight", the first in the "Coruscant Nights" trilogy, is an interesting adventure to be added to the Star Wars catalogue. By basing the entire novel within the epic metropolis planet of Coruscant, author Michael Reeves is able to match a dark, gritty plotline to the equally sinister landscape. Unfortunately that plotline becomes as labyrinth as some of the dark city districts it takes place in. In the end we're left with a novel that works thanks in part to its fascinating locations and colorful characters but fails to deliver on noir-ish pretenses.


There are many characters that dominate "Jedi Twilight", most of them looking for each other while vying to be the protagonist of the story. Den Dhur and I-5YQ are trying to locate Jedi Knight Jax Pavin, who's avoiding capture from Darth Vadar and his assistant Rhinann, whose recruited Nick Rostu to track down Jax, who's joined up with Laranth Tarak to locate 10-4TO, etc. This simplified (if confusing) summery names only roughly half of the characters that all play significant roles within the novel. These characters are all pretty distinct but their details tend to blur together (species, sensitivity to the Force, etc.). The fact that so many characters are running around consciously or not trying to track each other down really creates a hazy plot.


This isn't to say that the plot is boring or meandering however. In fact, "Jedi Twilight" is pretty exciting overall. It works so well due to Reaves' uncanny ability to describe Coruscant's varied locations. Reaves has taken one of the saga's most complex and fascinating planets and described it in a rather fluid and understandable manner. While the films have dwelled on the upper-crust areas such as the Jedi Temple and the Senate, the Coruscant of "Jedi Twilight" is a much grittier and dangerous place to live in. The Black-Pit Slums, the Factory District, and the Crimson Corridor all come with their own distinct brands of dangerous intrigue to enjoy, and Reaves weaves those locations together well. However, if you're assuming this is "Star Wars" in "noir" clothing by the book cover and the Jedi-turned-Private Investigator Jax Paven you're going to be disappointed. Sadly, the plot doesn't reflect a noir sensibility nor does Jax ever conduct a single investigation. Hopefully the second entry will address these concerns more thoroughly.


The only time Reaves really stumbles is during his insistent knack to turn every description into an incoherent Star Wars metaphor. He does this by heavily relying on metaphors ("That droid can go through a ferrocrete bunker like a neutrino through plasma!") which end up becoming rather perplexing. These metaphors and references attempt to pack in every single Star Wars reference but the end result just becomes annoying.


Overall, "Jedi Twilight" rises and falls in different ways. It stumbles here and there, blurring plot and characters together in a medley of archaic Star Wars references, but makes up for it with nice action and terrific settings. And when Reaves hits the right notes, he really hits them well. I enjoyed his pacing of the plot into three parts, especially with the cliffhanger leading into the third act. Little things like that really show off Reaves' flair as a pretty stable author for action and suspense. What results overall is a sturdy first entry into a promising trilogy that i

posted by filmnut27 on July 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Solid Start To A Hopefully Noirish Trilogy

    "Jedi Twilight", the first in the "Coruscant Nights" trilogy, is an interesting adventure to be added to the Star Wars catalogue. By basing the entire novel within the epic metropolis planet of Coruscant, author Michael Reeves is able to match a dark, gritty plotline to the equally sinister landscape. Unfortunately that plotline becomes as labyrinth as some of the dark city districts it takes place in. In the end we're left with a novel that works thanks in part to its fascinating locations and colorful characters but fails to deliver on noir-ish pretenses.


    There are many characters that dominate "Jedi Twilight", most of them looking for each other while vying to be the protagonist of the story. Den Dhur and I-5YQ are trying to locate Jedi Knight Jax Pavin, who's avoiding capture from Darth Vadar and his assistant Rhinann, whose recruited Nick Rostu to track down Jax, who's joined up with Laranth Tarak to locate 10-4TO, etc. This simplified (if confusing) summery names only roughly half of the characters that all play significant roles within the novel. These characters are all pretty distinct but their details tend to blur together (species, sensitivity to the Force, etc.). The fact that so many characters are running around consciously or not trying to track each other down really creates a hazy plot.


    This isn't to say that the plot is boring or meandering however. In fact, "Jedi Twilight" is pretty exciting overall. It works so well due to Reaves' uncanny ability to describe Coruscant's varied locations. Reaves has taken one of the saga's most complex and fascinating planets and described it in a rather fluid and understandable manner. While the films have dwelled on the upper-crust areas such as the Jedi Temple and the Senate, the Coruscant of "Jedi Twilight" is a much grittier and dangerous place to live in. The Black-Pit Slums, the Factory District, and the Crimson Corridor all come with their own distinct brands of dangerous intrigue to enjoy, and Reaves weaves those locations together well. However, if you're assuming this is "Star Wars" in "noir" clothing by the book cover and the Jedi-turned-Private Investigator Jax Paven you're going to be disappointed. Sadly, the plot doesn't reflect a noir sensibility nor does Jax ever conduct a single investigation. Hopefully the second entry will address these concerns more thoroughly.


    The only time Reaves really stumbles is during his insistent knack to turn every description into an incoherent Star Wars metaphor. He does this by heavily relying on metaphors ("That droid can go through a ferrocrete bunker like a neutrino through plasma!") which end up becoming rather perplexing. These metaphors and references attempt to pack in every single Star Wars reference but the end result just becomes annoying.


    Overall, "Jedi Twilight" rises and falls in different ways. It stumbles here and there, blurring plot and characters together in a medley of archaic Star Wars references, but makes up for it with nice action and terrific settings. And when Reaves hits the right notes, he really hits them well. I enjoyed his pacing of the plot into three parts, especially with the cliffhanger leading into the third act. Little things like that really show off Reaves' flair as a pretty stable author for action and suspense. What results overall is a sturdy first entry into a promising trilogy that i

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Star Wars Noir

    As a Star Wars fanboy, I have read and enjoyed Michael Reaves other Star Wars novels. Continuing the story of characters from his pre-Phantom Menace novel: Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter, Reaves sets this story just after Revenge of the Sith. It's a noir-style crime thriller set in the Star Wars universe. It would be enjoyed by Star Wars and noir fiction fans alike.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    When I came across the Coruscant night series I wasn't sure whet

    When I came across the Coruscant night series I wasn't sure whether I would like it or not. Just by the blurb and reviews I had read
    I was a bit sceptical. In all honesty, the part of the Star Wars timeline I'm not a huge fan of, mainly because there hasn't been a bulk
    worth of well known novels that have characterised the era.

    I was left however, pleasantly surprised. The characters are interesting and not too 'far fetched', and I particularly liked the introduction
    of "I-Five" as well as what he adds to the novel. Michael Reaves uses good cross-referencing with some not so well known characters
    that helps drive the story along too. The problem I had with this book is that it didn't make me want to really get into it at all. I didn't find
    myself needing to get my book 'fix' as I have from previous novels that I've read. I think perhaps the lack of real excitement made it a bit
    of a drag but nevertheless, I have started the second novel in the series and I'm starting to get a bit more emotionally involved with the
    characters.

    I would say that this will tickle your fancy if you're a fan of the whole 'lone Jedi surviving' thing, and if you are happy to follow a character
    relatively unheard of and new. However, if you're looking for a ton of names you've seen pop up in multiple novels etc then maybe look
    at either the Clone Wars or New Republic era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for the Star Wars reader who likes the non-force characters.

    I'm a big-time I5 fan{the droid on the cover}. His character is very deep, especially since he is an AI character. For the Star Wars reader who was touched when Lorn Pavan didn't allow I5 to sacrifice himself in Darth Maul: Shadowhunter. This is my personal favorite Star Wars book that I have read so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    There was really nothing bad about this book at all. It was a gr

    There was really nothing bad about this book at all. It was a gripping, action packed read with great characters and an inthralling story. I liked that it didn't really finish the storyline at the end, as it will continue in future installments. I always love Reeves signature droid I5YQ. The only thing keeping me from giving this book 5 stars was just that it lacked that amazing 'wow' factor that a few Star Wars books have achieved. But so few of them have that, and I would highly recommend this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Awesi Ome

    This is an omg book love it hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    To FoxTrot

    The cat circled around him. "Hm. Not even respect for his ancestors?" "Learn to be polite!" Shouted an elder. A silvery outline of a cat padded forward. "Hush." She looked at FoxTrot, norrowing her eyes in thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Fawntail of hurricaneclan

    I have come to recive my nine lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Well thats must up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    TO CROWPAW

    Its Steeltail, come with me to Light Sky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Bluestar

    You no what? (Yes im doin typos) We need to give a prophecy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Starkit

    Leaves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Quietmoon

    "Hello?I am Quietmoon the deputy of Breezeclan"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    TigerStar

    The evil starclan cat pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Crowpaw

    He sighed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Lacerfeather

    Sighed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Goldenstar

    Why are you leaving rp?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Flamestream

    HihihiHI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Goldenstar

    BLAZESTAR! BLAZESTAR!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Shadeleaf

    Sorry I just joined but by the descriptions I'm gonna say Blazeheart. And I gtg cyaa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3