BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Darksaber

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

THE HERO'S DEATH OF GENERAL KRIX NADINE

As in all star wars novels we have the leia, han, and of course luke. In this book the hutts are in collaboration with remnants of the empire to build a super weapon. Luke, han, chewy and leia must find a way to stop them as is expected. What i liked best in this ...
As in all star wars novels we have the leia, han, and of course luke. In this book the hutts are in collaboration with remnants of the empire to build a super weapon. Luke, han, chewy and leia must find a way to stop them as is expected. What i liked best in this book is the reintroduction of one of the characters from return of the jedi. In rotj we only see general krix nadine for the briefest seconds. In this book we find out about his background and how he came to be with the rebellion. Best of all we a privileged to witness his immense courage and undying commitment to the cause of freedom. Read as he, along with two of his fellow agents infiltrate and sabotage durga the hutt's gigantic super laser codenamed 'darksaber.' named thus because of it's uncanny resemblance to a jedi light saber it is the size of a superstar destroyer. When finished the hutts plan to use it to force the galaxy to pay for protection. In this way they will become true galactic gangsters. General nadine it captured and tortured in an attempt to find out what the rebellion knows. He endures the pain and suffering knowing he will die within minutes as will all onboard the super weapon when it explodes. Unknown to the general han solo, luke skywalker and chewbacca are on their way to save him if they can? in 'the fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.' nuff said!!!! read it or miss out.

posted by Anonymous on August 23, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An average response for an average tail...

Don't get me wrong I did enjoy the book. Yet I agree with the comment that there was too much 'goofiness' going on throughout the story. On the positive side though, I enjoyed reading about Bevel Lemelisk. It is interesting to read into some of the unseen characters be...
Don't get me wrong I did enjoy the book. Yet I agree with the comment that there was too much 'goofiness' going on throughout the story. On the positive side though, I enjoyed reading about Bevel Lemelisk. It is interesting to read into some of the unseen characters behind such creations as the Death Star (like Qwi Xux), and reading the details of some of Bevel's executions at the hands of the Emperor was enjoyable. I like this aspect because it gives you a better idea of how the Empire worked from within, rather than just via massive space vessels and constant laser fire. I disagree with the statement about the Hutt's plan to dominate the galaxy being unrealistic (not that Star Wars is actually realistic). The author made it a point to state that Durga would use the Darksaber as a tool to extort 'protection' money from whole planetary systems, just as many organized criminal groups do today. He didn't want to be the Emperor, he wanted to be a 'Don!'

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    THE HERO'S DEATH OF GENERAL KRIX NADINE

    As in all star wars novels we have the leia, han, and of course luke. In this book the hutts are in collaboration with remnants of the empire to build a super weapon. Luke, han, chewy and leia must find a way to stop them as is expected. What i liked best in this book is the reintroduction of one of the characters from return of the jedi. In rotj we only see general krix nadine for the briefest seconds. In this book we find out about his background and how he came to be with the rebellion. Best of all we a privileged to witness his immense courage and undying commitment to the cause of freedom. Read as he, along with two of his fellow agents infiltrate and sabotage durga the hutt's gigantic super laser codenamed 'darksaber.' named thus because of it's uncanny resemblance to a jedi light saber it is the size of a superstar destroyer. When finished the hutts plan to use it to force the galaxy to pay for protection. In this way they will become true galactic gangsters. General nadine it captured and tortured in an attempt to find out what the rebellion knows. He endures the pain and suffering knowing he will die within minutes as will all onboard the super weapon when it explodes. Unknown to the general han solo, luke skywalker and chewbacca are on their way to save him if they can? in 'the fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.' nuff said!!!! read it or miss out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After reading the first couple of chapters I thought this was go

    After reading the first couple of chapters I thought this was going to be a really good book. Unfortunately the rest of the book was pretty bad. My suggestion is to spend your money on one of the hundreds of other Star Wars books that are so much better than this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Very bad

    The story was okay till the end and then it just got stupid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An exciting and dramatic ending

    This story had a remarkable build up and an ending that had one exciting thing happen after another. The locations will remind the reader of the movies, but that is not a bad thing. It was really worth reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Good!

    I really liked this book, but I think that there are better Star Wars Books out there. Read The Thrawn Trilogy By Timothy Zhan first, then the story line of this book makes a little more sense, and I happen to like Zhan's writing style better than Anderson's, but I would sill whole-heartedly recomend this book, it is a must-read for Star Wars fans everywhere

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2006

    Action packed!!!!!!

    If you like star wars or any si-fi and looking for something good, here it is!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    Well worth the price of admission

    Years have passed since Luke Skywalker turned Darth Vader back from the Force's dark side. The Rebel Alliance has recaptured Coruscant, where Leia Organa Solo (now married to Han, and mother of three small children) leads a sometimes weary life as chief of state. Luke spends most of his time on Yavin 4, training a new generation of Jedi knights in the ways of the Force. Yet as DARKSABER opens, Master Skywalker leaves his 'Jedi Academy' for a return to Tatooine, the desert planet of his boyhood. He wants to contact his dead mentor, Obi-Wan 'Ben' Kenobi, one more time and he's desperate enough to attempt this despite Ben's warning that it cannot happen again. His motivation? Callista, the woman he loves. This former Jedi knight from the old era now inhabits a new body, but somehow transferring into it from the computer core of the dreadnaught Eye of Palpatine robbed her of her powers. Luke hopes that Obi-Wan may know how those powers can be restored, because until that happens he and Callista cannot share their lives fully. What follows is a galaxy-spanning romp, with the narrative's viewpoint switching from character to character in frequent (but never disconcerting) transitions. Sometimes we're looking through the eyes of Bevel Lemelisk, designer of both the Death Star and a new, under-construction superweapon called Darksaber. Sometimes we're inside the head of Admiral Daala, Empire loyalist commander. Sometimes we're with Luke, sometimes with Leia, sometimes with cloned Jedi knight Dorsk 81. While there were a few awkward moments for me, since I only dip into the Star Wars novels occasionally and this book is a sequel to its author's earlier Jedi Academy Trilogy, I nevertheless enjoyed the adventure. The characters that were new to me, introduced in earlier Star Wars novels but not present in the films, fit into the established universe quite seamlessly and the characters I already knew stayed true to their personalities. My one real criticism is finding some passages a bit 'over the top' in the sadism department. That's a matter of taste, but - in my mind, at least - it does mean this isn't a suitable book for younger Star Wars readers. The author does have some interesting things to say, with all the subtlety I expect from really well written science fiction, about the nature of mortality and the doubtful benefits of transcending its limits. Overall? Well worth the price of admission.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Darksaber is a masterpiece!

    I absolutely love this book! Kevin J. Anderson has once again created another spectacular addition to his collection! If you are new to reading Star Wars books beyond Return of the Jedi, read this book IMMDEIATELY. I read this book for a book report for English class, and I finished my book before anyone else it was so good! The main plot throughout this book is that Durga the Hutt is building a reconstruction of the Death Star called Darksaber. Enjoy this time and time again! RECOMMENDED FOR ALL STAR WARS FANS!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    An average response for an average tail...

    Don't get me wrong I did enjoy the book. Yet I agree with the comment that there was too much 'goofiness' going on throughout the story. On the positive side though, I enjoyed reading about Bevel Lemelisk. It is interesting to read into some of the unseen characters behind such creations as the Death Star (like Qwi Xux), and reading the details of some of Bevel's executions at the hands of the Emperor was enjoyable. I like this aspect because it gives you a better idea of how the Empire worked from within, rather than just via massive space vessels and constant laser fire. I disagree with the statement about the Hutt's plan to dominate the galaxy being unrealistic (not that Star Wars is actually realistic). The author made it a point to state that Durga would use the Darksaber as a tool to extort 'protection' money from whole planetary systems, just as many organized criminal groups do today. He didn't want to be the Emperor, he wanted to be a 'Don!'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Read in 3 hours.

    This is the perfect example of why more Star Wars movies should be made. I read this when I was in 5th grade. I didn't speed read, and I really didn't like reading that much. But this book was too good. I read the thing in three hours. I literally did not take my eyes off of it. I don't think that there is another Star Wars that can top this book. EVERY STAR WARS FAN MUST MUST MUST READ THIS BOOK!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2001

    Another great SW book

    I loved this book! It seemed to have gone by so fast (even though it took me a while to read it) because I enjoyed it so much. I like it that it had a lot of things going on at once, which all met and became one in the end. I also liked the original ways which the jedi trainees defended their temple. I recomend this book to anyone who likes SW.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    very( x500) good book

    this is an excellent book. it tells how the hutts are building another death star

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    Great book!!!

    Details are amazing. Really awesome. Can't get much better than this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Good

    Read for laughs about funny hutts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Hutts are officaly declared stupid for trying to build a death star.

    Read for some laughs about a hutt who thought he was stronger than jedis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Please don't waste your money

    If you must, get from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Sort of good

    Luke rules the star wars galaxy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    The Hutts build a Death Star... really?

    First off let's begin by saying Kevin J Anderson is quite possible the worst Star Wars author ever and this book is a shinning example why such an argument can be made.

    Let's begin, the Hutts build a death star, they do it quicker than the empire did, but are so fat they struggle putting there finger into a blaster trigger guard and waste most of a page stuggling to put it on just so they can personally shot the guy who tried to blow up there death star rather then just have a guard do it. This is the logic that floats around thoughout this book. Oh and let's not forget Jedi students force pushing a super star destroyer across a solar system in a fraction of a second (that's right they broke the speed of light while doing it too) but don't worry though there was a consiquence for this, the super weak jedi died but all the others where fine due to his sacrific... I mean really how does that respect me as a reader and not just insult my intelligence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    A young man named Luke Skywalker roams the galaxy in desperate n

    A young man named Luke Skywalker roams the galaxy in desperate need of help. Luke contacts his old friend Han solo to help him arrive on the planet Tatooine. With the help of the fastest ship in the galaxy, “The Millennium Falcon” they arrive to the dunes of the desert planet to help Luke’s love Callista regain her Jedi power. 
    My favorite character is Luke Skywalker because he’s like the ladies man in the book the one who takes his girls side, “he smiled in a wistful sigh as he found his target. “All right,” he said and turned to Callista.” Looks like we’ll go to Dagobah first.”
    Honestly if you’re that type of person who loves romantic, sci-fi, action books this is a great book from beginning to end.
    The message the author is getting by is that no matter how far the journey you’ll make it as useless as you are powerful.
    It was a great book but in my opinion I would have lowered the level of adventure and heightened the love behind this story spiraling from Luke to Callista. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Another exciting story within the Star Wars universe.

    Extends deeper into the series so more is learned about the lead characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3