Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Darth Bane #1: Path of Destruction

Average Rating 4.5
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Eye Opening

Having read all the young readers up through the adult novel Coruscant Nights I, I was reluctant to go back in time and read this novel. It grabbed me right from page one. I enjoyed learning of this "Darth Bane" and how he came to be. The follow up "Rule of Two" was v...
Having read all the young readers up through the adult novel Coruscant Nights I, I was reluctant to go back in time and read this novel. It grabbed me right from page one. I enjoyed learning of this "Darth Bane" and how he came to be. The follow up "Rule of Two" was very good as well. I can't wait to read more from this period of Star Wars lore.

posted by mr1906 on December 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Wat is the age level

Wat age should i be before reading this. I just turned 12 am i old enough.

posted by 10643392 on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eye Opening

    Having read all the young readers up through the adult novel Coruscant Nights I, I was reluctant to go back in time and read this novel. It grabbed me right from page one. I enjoyed learning of this "Darth Bane" and how he came to be. The follow up "Rule of Two" was very good as well. I can't wait to read more from this period of Star Wars lore.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    PROs : Lots of action. A very detailed look at how a Force user

    PROs : Lots of action. A very detailed look at how a Force user is trained in the dark arts. Very well written. Interesting characters. Although the ending was somewhat predictable, there were a few surprises there as well.

    CONs : Starts off a bit slow, but picks up after chapter two. Some of the names the author chose for characters seemed odd. Kaan, Des, Hoth, Kopecz; all seemed strange to me. Why use the name of a planet (Hoth) when naming a character?

    CONCLUSION : Stick with it, because it really picks up the pace starting with chapter three. This book kind of reminded me of Harry Potter 1, abused kid learns he has a mystical power and enrolls in an academy to learn to master these magical skills. However, the difference is that Harry makes all the light side choices, but Bane makes all the dark side choices. This book would definitely be in the top 20 of all the Star Wars books I've read over the years. I look forward to getting to the next installment of the trilogy. Four stars. 01/15/13

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    The Power of Words

    'I am not a man of words...but I respect the power of words...' Darth Bane: Path of Destruction is the true manefestation of the power of words. Not merely is this the first true novel of the Sith Era, and provides fascinating enlightenment to the creation and/or destruction of the Old Republic, it is crafted from the perceptions of the anti-hero, divulging compelling insight into Sith philosophy. And as for us 'arm-chair Jedi' out there who think we've read it all and played it all and have our own Jedi philosophy down to the hilt of our lightsabers, this novel truly causes some changes in thought. In addition, the book was written by the same author who crafted the masterful lines for the award-winning RPG game Knights of the Old Republic, and the plot is worthy of his vast imagination.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Wat is the age level

    Wat age should i be before reading this. I just turned 12 am i old enough.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Want more....

    What an anti-hero!! I mean wow, Darth Bane is not just a Sith but the Sith. While the story takes a bit to get started every one needs a back/origin story. This is where the sith transform from a bunch of back stabbing lords out for power and become the evil duo we all fear and hate. It's well written and full of action a good read overall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For the first novel of the Star Wars series it will be hard to beat.

    This book was the first book I've read of the Star Wars novels and it had all the elements for a great and fast read. The character development, plot, and writing style were excellent. Like several other Star Wars novels this book reads very quickly and was difficult to put down. Although there are several authors of Star Wars novels, Drew Karpyshyn is a fantastic writer and is on par with some of the authors who may be better known; James Luceno, Michael Reaves, and Timothy Zahn.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Darth Bane path of destruction

    One if the best starwars books ive read. Its addicting once you start reading you never wanna stop. Very good book i perfer it for every Star Wars fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Read it in 3 days!!!

    I thought this book was terrific! I couldn't put it down! I still need to read the 2 follow up books, but this is definitely a must read for any Star Wars fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good SW Lore

    This is very interesting from a lore perspective and better written than many novels of its kind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book seriously is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Beginning of a True Terror

    STAR WARS Darth Bane: Path of Destruction by Drew Karpyshyn was truly an engaging and fascinating novel. I highly recommend it for anyone who has even a basic knowledge of the STAR WARS movies and is interested in learning about the Sith. Not only does this novel introduce the origins of the Sith, but also a history of the STAR WARS Galaxy, which should prove interesting to any STAR WARS fan. I found myself lost in the pages of the book during times that are usually set aside for listening to the professor (aka class) or studying. This was an excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Action Packed

    The Bane series had me hooked. Well writen, action packed, and plenty of twists. Karpyshyn brought a little of KOTOR to the table when writing this book. He's a great Game Dev and an awesome writer. Highly recommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    Nice

    Karpyshyn spins a nice yarn. It's not a great literary masterpiece, but it adds a nice slant on the Star Wars universe. This is the beginning of what will now be a (well at least a) trilogy of novelized tales about Bane and his vision for the legacy of the Sith. I think Karpyshyn does an excellent job of telling the story and I look forward to the third installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Excellent Book

    This book is phenomenal. It is a guys book that illustrates how Bane's damaging upbringing transforms his destiny. The purest form of the dark side presents itself and Bane knows how to use it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    Great star wars book...

    I own over 20 star wars titles and i love them all but Darth Bane is the most interesting charecter ive incountered in the entire star wars series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Best book i have read in a good while!

    Darth Bane: Path of Destruction is truley great novel focusing on the events 1020 years before A New Hope. Darth Bane is a great anti-hero worthy of standing next to Darth Vader. The story is told from the dark side of the Force as it follows a young man's journey from working the mines of Apatros to becoming a Dark Lord of the Sith. Lots of action as the Sith and Jedi battle it out to see which side will prevail and rule the galaxy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Darce

    She runs her fingers through his hair as she rocks back and forth with the pleasure washing over her. "I think I'm gonna...." she pants hard. She gasps as he touches an especially sensitive spot. "Oh, Kevin!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Training Area

    POST

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Awesome

    Love Star Wars and this book is brilliant. I would get the entire trilogy becausr you will want to know Banes entire story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10