Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Darth Bane #2: Rule of Two

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better, but still good enough for the trilogy.

Does much to further the plot of the trilogy and make connections in the Star Wars Universe. However, I was left wanting more in specific areas (such as Zannah's training), and given that the book is much shorter than the first one (possibly even the 3rd) it could have ...
Does much to further the plot of the trilogy and make connections in the Star Wars Universe. However, I was left wanting more in specific areas (such as Zannah's training), and given that the book is much shorter than the first one (possibly even the 3rd) it could have used a little more.

posted by Taikura on March 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Weak, Episodic Plot Hurts An Otherwise Enjoyable Narrative

Like many others, I'm a big fan of Star Wars history, and generally I enjoy almost every book set in the "pre-Return of the Jedi" universe. Darth Bane: Path of Destruction was definitely one of those books. The Rule of Two, unfortunately, doesn't quite live up to its ...
Like many others, I'm a big fan of Star Wars history, and generally I enjoy almost every book set in the "pre-Return of the Jedi" universe. Darth Bane: Path of Destruction was definitely one of those books. The Rule of Two, unfortunately, doesn't quite live up to its predecessor, as it lacks the coherence and forward momentum that made the first one so fun to read. The plot is scattered and there are very few threads that hold the novel together as a whole. Yes, at its core it's about Darth Bane and his new apprentice, but the obstacles and challenges they face are almost always short-lived, and are resolved almost as quickly as they are introduced. I found myself constantly wondering why certain characters or situations were brought up when they seemed to be dropped and never explored further. The only real constant goal throughout the tale is Bane's desire to create a Sith Holocron--an endeavor which I ultimately found to be anti-climatic.
The most interesting character of this novel was easily Darth Zannah, and seeing her grow into her role as the Sith apprentice is truly the highlight of the novel. Darth Bane, unfortunately, has very little to do in for most of the story besides brood and growl over his failed attempts at learning how to make a holocron. A major part of what fractures the novel is the inclusion and frequent following of the young Jedi Johun Othone--easily the dumbest, most ineffectual Jedi Knight I have ever read about. While early chapters of his story are interesting, in particular how the Republic was first reorganized and a brief incident with early Separatists, Johun somehow manages to grow more stupid and less capable as time progresses. While we are lead to believe early in the novel that he will make it his quest to prove the Sith still exist, he soon abandons this quest in favor of building a shameless, unwanted monument of his dead master, inspite of the Jedi constantly reminding him of how un-Jedi this is. I don't want to give away the end, but by the end you may find yourself just as annoyed with the guy as I was.
The other element I enjoyed in the book was some great action scenes. These were well crafted and exciting, and having an entire chapter dedicated to a major lightsaber duel was certainly a treat, especially one reminiscent of the best duels of the Star Wars films.
I suppose what disappointed me most about the novel was that, for all its potential, we didn't learn much of anything new about the Sith. Path of Destruction did a great job in mapping out how the Sith went from a brotherhood to the rule of two we see in the prequels. It felt like very relevant piece of Star Wars history. Meanwhile, in The Rule of Two, Darth Bane and Zannah seem to be constantly plagued by mysteries they can't solve, and of a much smaller scale. By the end of the novel, you will know how Sith Holocrons are made. That's basically it.
If you enjoyed the first novel, you will probably like this one, but may also be a bit disappointed. I hate to use the cliche, but this novel does in fact have "sequel" written all over it. Hopefully it will lead to a stronger entry in the near future.

posted by Netharos on July 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Could have been better, but still good enough for the trilogy.

    Does much to further the plot of the trilogy and make connections in the Star Wars Universe. However, I was left wanting more in specific areas (such as Zannah's training), and given that the book is much shorter than the first one (possibly even the 3rd) it could have used a little more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    Weak, Episodic Plot Hurts An Otherwise Enjoyable Narrative

    Like many others, I'm a big fan of Star Wars history, and generally I enjoy almost every book set in the "pre-Return of the Jedi" universe. Darth Bane: Path of Destruction was definitely one of those books. The Rule of Two, unfortunately, doesn't quite live up to its predecessor, as it lacks the coherence and forward momentum that made the first one so fun to read. The plot is scattered and there are very few threads that hold the novel together as a whole. Yes, at its core it's about Darth Bane and his new apprentice, but the obstacles and challenges they face are almost always short-lived, and are resolved almost as quickly as they are introduced. I found myself constantly wondering why certain characters or situations were brought up when they seemed to be dropped and never explored further. The only real constant goal throughout the tale is Bane's desire to create a Sith Holocron--an endeavor which I ultimately found to be anti-climatic.
    The most interesting character of this novel was easily Darth Zannah, and seeing her grow into her role as the Sith apprentice is truly the highlight of the novel. Darth Bane, unfortunately, has very little to do in for most of the story besides brood and growl over his failed attempts at learning how to make a holocron. A major part of what fractures the novel is the inclusion and frequent following of the young Jedi Johun Othone--easily the dumbest, most ineffectual Jedi Knight I have ever read about. While early chapters of his story are interesting, in particular how the Republic was first reorganized and a brief incident with early Separatists, Johun somehow manages to grow more stupid and less capable as time progresses. While we are lead to believe early in the novel that he will make it his quest to prove the Sith still exist, he soon abandons this quest in favor of building a shameless, unwanted monument of his dead master, inspite of the Jedi constantly reminding him of how un-Jedi this is. I don't want to give away the end, but by the end you may find yourself just as annoyed with the guy as I was.
    The other element I enjoyed in the book was some great action scenes. These were well crafted and exciting, and having an entire chapter dedicated to a major lightsaber duel was certainly a treat, especially one reminiscent of the best duels of the Star Wars films.
    I suppose what disappointed me most about the novel was that, for all its potential, we didn't learn much of anything new about the Sith. Path of Destruction did a great job in mapping out how the Sith went from a brotherhood to the rule of two we see in the prequels. It felt like very relevant piece of Star Wars history. Meanwhile, in The Rule of Two, Darth Bane and Zannah seem to be constantly plagued by mysteries they can't solve, and of a much smaller scale. By the end of the novel, you will know how Sith Holocrons are made. That's basically it.
    If you enjoyed the first novel, you will probably like this one, but may also be a bit disappointed. I hate to use the cliche, but this novel does in fact have "sequel" written all over it. Hopefully it will lead to a stronger entry in the near future.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a tribute to the Darth Bane Legacy(warning spoilers!)

    I personally think that this instalment in the Darth Bane legacy is worthy of the title of Bane. His new apprentice, although just a youngling, was the perfect choice to continue the legacy of the sith. The only thing that I was disappointed about was near the end Bane sounds kind of wussieesq when he is in calebs hut recouperating. That aside though i think that my favorite part was the Orbalisks. So to recap it all, if you liked ¿Path of Destruction¿ then you'll love "Rule of Two" as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    A Worthy Successor To Path of Destruction And Arguably Better!

    A Worthy Successor To Path of Destruction And Arguably Better!

    Star Wars Darth Bane Rule of two delves further into the origins of the coming about of the rule of two which Yoda makes reference to in Star Wars 1: The Phantom Menace. The book picks up almost right where the first left off and has the same feel as it's predecessor. Darth Bane continues on his quest for more power and control while his apprentice, Zannah also grows in her knowledge of the dark side. More great characters are introduced. More great battles take place. More action, adventure, epic story telling and the origins of Darth Bane are woven into this highly entertaining tale. It's a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    The title for this sequel would have been obvious. It's the tale

    The title for this sequel would have been obvious. It's the tale of how Bane created and implemented the Rule of Two. And it is amazing. The interaction between Bane and Zannah is very entertaining, especially towards the end. The climax is great, and just begs for the completion of this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    This rocks

    In light of the disney takeover of lucasfilm with lucas as a consultant i would totally love o see this series made into movies all agreed post below

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Dart bane

    Cant be bet he unbeatable and un touchable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Bane FTW

    Shorter than the first one, but containing a similar amount of win. There is some filler about Jedi which is pretty good but the crazy Sith lore is where this one shines. You can get a lot of insight into Sith ways through Bane and his apprentice. A good read for SW fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great series

    I've been in the series for a while and I love it! The series is a great reading experience and sometimes I feel like I'm in the book like the audience for sitcoms....... like the ones that laugh and cheer and gasp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    Awesome second entry to this series. Darth Bane and Darth Zannah both feel truly evil and Drew does a great job portraying them. While this book wasn't as engrossing as the first one for me, I still coult not put it down and read it in a couple of days of casual reading due to Drews' writing style. Can't wait to start on the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Darth Bane Rules

    One of the earlier books in the Star Wars universe, Darth Bane Rule of Two continuously keeps you guessing as to what's next. Picking up from the conclusion of the first book of the series, Darth Bane reverts to the old ways of the Sith, one Master and one Apprentice. One to have the power, and another to crave it. On the war torn world of Ruusan, Darth Bane stumbles across an young Force-sensitive girl whom he feels has the potential to surpass his powers one day. Taking her on as his one apprentice, Darth Bane teaches her in the ways of the Dark side and puts her through a series of tests to help train her. The thing is, this young apprentice is unsure of her path choice at times and questions her decision to become Sith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    How I like the book

    An exellent read for all Star Wars fans. Most recommened, enjoyed both parts of the Darth Bane series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Another Great Book

    WOW! this was an excellent book. its full of action and info that helps understand the old school sith lords. the only disapointment was that the book didnt go on forever, too bad! but hey, cant wait for the next one! if you havent even read a starwars book b4 read darth bane path of destruction, the read this. im tellin you people it doesnt disapoint!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just as good, if not better, than Path of Destruction.

    The book continues where Path of Destruction ends and is a perfect continuation of the previous novel. Again, Karpyshyn writes very well and gives an excellent story with good character development and thrilling events. There are references to Path of Destruction that serve as a good reminder of what happened previously and aside from that it's as if Path of Destruction didn't end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Good Sith book

    Very good follow up to the first Darth Bane book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    Cool and lots of action. A little dark, but still its a goo dbook so buy it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Good not great

    This book was very well written and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I thought the end was a tad ridiculous as all of the Jedi somehow fell for Darth Zannah's and Bane's ruse. That was a little far fetched. Everything else was excellent and I enjoyed the book. Darth Zannah is an excellent character and I look forward to having other books with them in it if possible in the future. I realize that the Jedi believed that the Sith were extinct, but it would be nice to have other books written about the SIth and their activities during the time before the prequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Best book I have ever read!

    Reading from the point of a villian has to be the greatest thing about this book, to really experience what the Sith are like. From other Star Wars books, I could never really grasp the idea of the Sith. In my head all they were, was just an enemy that the Jedi had to deal with occasionally. Now with the Rule of Two it becomes quite clear that the Sith are not just the headless monster that I thought them to be, but that they are powerful beings with a unique philsophy and ten times more cunning than the average person. I suppose thats why there are only two... Anyways, Drew Karpyshyn has created a interesting idea for the Star Wars universe, which once you start reading you will NOT be able to put your book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Darth Bane still rules in Rule of Two

    I will start by saying that I really enjoyed Darth Bane Path of Destruction. The story was compelling and Darth Bane was an anti-hero I could not help but cheer for. I was surprised to hear about this book because, I knew that Bane goes into hiding after the events of Path of Destruction, so I thought how can there be an interesting story if Bane is hiding? Enter Jedi Padawan Johun Othorne the former Jedi Apprentice to Jedi Lord Hoth, who remains unconvinced that all the Sith died in the last battle of the Russan Campaign, and he will not rest until he is certain the last of the Sith are destroyed forever. The story makes sense. One would have to think that there might be some survivors of the Thought Bomb. I am a pretty big fan of the Jedi and I must say I could not believe their arrogance and stupidity in this book. The story takes place roughly 1000 years before the prequel trilogy and yet even in this time period a reader can see the seeds of the Jedi Order's downfall in Revenge of the Sith. Most of the Jedi in this book generally refuse to believe the Sith Order still exists, and those who do are too over confident to stop Bane. I hope I never have read of this happening to Grand Master Luke Skywalker's New Jedi Order ever. Darth Bane's Sith Apprentice Darth Zannah is developed very nicely as a character in this book, much like Bane himself was back in Path of Destruction, it is fun to watch her question her decision to join the Sith Order and in many ways she is much worse then Bane. The action scenes in this book are the best I have seen in quite a while and are very exciting. Darth Bane Rule of Two is a fantastic read and a worthy sequel to Darth Bane Path of Destruction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7