BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Darth Bane #3: Dynasty of Evil

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent end to the trilogy.... or is it?!

    I liked this installment as much as I did the first two. It brings to a close the saga of Darth Bane and Darth Zannah but leads into the possibility of future novels to build off of this series.
    If another installment was put in print I would mostdefinitely preorder it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Excellent book

    This was easily one of the best books I've ever read, and after having read Ender's Game recently, thats saying something. Only once throughout the entire novel was there a paragraph that i felt to be a waste of ink, and that was one that made Master Obba appear to be overly boastful when he practically named off every reason that the Council of First Knowledge was extremely important. Other than that, however, it was an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    I think the author had a hard time wrapping up this series. Tha

    I think the author had a hard time wrapping up this series. That said it's not a bad read by any means. It's good in itself, and a must if you've read the first two books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    I loved this book. It was the most epic of all the Darth Bane no

    I loved this book. It was the most epic of all the Darth Bane novels. The ending is somewhat ambiguous, and I like it that way. A great ending to a great trilogy. Hopefully someday they will continue the story of Bane's apprentice. The story of the first generation of Banite Sith was so good that I would love to see the next chapter in the story at some point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Love to root for the villian

    Read all three books in a week could not put them down that said there were a few paragraphs that were cut and paste fromthe previous novels but over all a good read. Hoping for an other trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Smoke 101

    I may have not read the book yet, but I have a question to the author, what the fudge happened to the Lend Me books? They costed less!!! What happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Shadow

    Cool crap i gotta go bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Simply evil

    Karpyshyn has given us a detailed story of the Sith beginnings and does not disappoint with this book. It is a great read with lots of action and twists. Truly worthy of Sith lore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    A little rushed, but a good conclusion.

    I felt it was a little rushed at the end, but that may be because I thought there was a hundred more pages to go. All in all it I felt it was a good ending to the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    A fitting end to a very solid trilogy

    The author does a great job of balancing background, detail, action, and story-telling creating few moments that won't hold your interest. My only gripe was the inclusion of the seemingly worthless character who spent a brief period with Zannah. He didn't serve much purpose to the story, but I have to admit I did chuckle aloud at his batman style room entrance! I can't help but picture this guy looking somewhat like Dave Chappelle's version of Prince with the ruffled blouse and flamboyant style holding a lightsaber. Back on topic, Drew manages to finish off this trilogy very strong after a terribly hurried sequel (It was great with the time he had available to write it, but still weak). For me, Darth Bane is now my favorite villain. I'm looking forward to reading anything HE WRITES picking up where this leaves off. Bravo Mr. Karpyshyn.

    -Edited to remove spoiler-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    Very few books keep me hooked from beginning to end. This one I have waited so long for and it was worth it. I'm curious to know where they plan on taking the storyline to. The twist at the end was shocking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This series ends as all battles amongst the Sith end Master vs. Apprentice as it was always meant to be.

    This trilogy has neen some of the best Star Wars books I have read in a long time. The Darth Bane series has been fun. Bane himself is one of those rare villains that I could not help but cheer for. Drew Karpyshyn is one of the few writers that can make Sith characters sympathetic figures and it shines in this book, as it did in Path of Destruction and Rule of Two before it, and while Path of Destruction is still by far my favorite book in this trilogy. This book does a nice job of wrapping up all the louse ends in the series, and sets up the final confrontation between Bane and his apprentice Zannah quite nicely. I was both looking forward to and dreading the confirmation, but I knew it was enviable and I am pleased to say it is the best part of this book and a fitting way to end this series. Besides Bane and Zannah there are two great new characters introduced into this book. A Force Sensitive assassin known simply as the Huntress, who can see into the past present and future and a wise cracking Dark Jedi named Set Harth. These two characters are great new additions to the Star Wars EU, and I would love to see them both appear in later books. Fans who have loved this series up to this point will continue to love it. Dynasty of Evil is a fitting end to a great series focused around the Sith Order and the Dark Side of the Force

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Decent Warp-up to the Trilogy

    I like the author's writing style (having followed him through the KOTOR games and the first two Bane books), but this book is not quite the slam-bang ended you would hope for in the series. Many familiar themes are replayed here, but as for ground-breaking revelations and new ideas you will not really find them (with the exception of a couple new characters who are both very interesting). Overall this is a good read, but not in the pantheon of great Star Wars Novels. See if the ending fools you (it did me). The real interpretation can be found on the author's website after finishing the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great book I would recomend to star wars fans and people who like suspense and action.

    This book is a very great book. A good ending for the darth Bane series. This book has alot of suspense and action. Although the begaining seems a little slow it really picks up around the middle section. The charecters are so well played out they seem very real. They have emotions, feelings, doubts, worries, and fears. I give this book a 4.5 out of 5. And the plot is outstanding well put together; it has a great storyline. The sory makes you think you know whats going to happen then just turns your prediction upside down with the twists and turns.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    End of a trilogy, beginning of a dynasty

    A good ending to an incredible trilogy of books. Drew Karpyshyn ends his bestselling series on the infamous Sith Lord with a bang. From the moment Darth Bane took Zannah as his apprentice, you knew that they would fight for the right of one of them to become, or remain, the master. And the end battle not only does not fail to disappoint, but will also keep you guessing right up to the very last sentence (unless you cheat, like I did, and flip to the back of the book and use wookiepedia to clear things up). Karpyshyn has also shown, in this book, how to bring multiple plot lines together in one final, climatic moment. Figures from Bane's past make an appearance and both help and hinder him on his way to the end. Karpyshyn also leaves the fate of one interesting character up in the air, which makes me believe it won't be long before this character turns up in another SW novel way down the timeline soon. In fact, I hope he does because I would be very interested to know the fate of Set Harth. However, it does seem like Karpyshyn rushed through a lot of things that he could have taken more time on. In fact, though this novel is nearly 300 pages, I wouldn't be surprised if this was the shortest of the three Darth Bane novels based on word count. But, the tension he builds leading up to the final battle makes up for this somewhat. In the end, this is a very satisfying conclusion to a rather unique series of SW novels and I hope more novels are written soon about the Sith and Jedi of the Old Republic prior to the prequel era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2