Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Darth Bane #3: Dynasty of Evil

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The third Darth Bane Old Republic saga continues the escapades of those who traverse the dark side of the Force

    The Jedi Order believes the Sith are gone, but whenever they hear of the discovery one of their artifacts they quickly confiscate them. However the truth is that two Sith survived, Darth Bane and his apprentice Zannah. The loyal acolyte must kill her Master in order to become the next Sith Lord with her own apprentice. Bane concludes Zannah is not worthy to one day succeed him because she has failed to challenge him; the key step to becoming the Sith Lord.---------

    His body is failing from years of using the Dark Side of the Force, but takes heart in learning of a dead Sith Lord Darth Andeddu who transferred his essence into another body living for centuries. Bane sends Zannah to Doan where a Jedi was assassinated looking for Sith artifacts while he goes to Prakith to find the information so that he too can transfer his essence into another body. Zannah meets and defeats dark Jedi Set Herth making him her apprentice. They learn that Princess Serra of Doan kidnapped Bane with plans to torture him for what he did to her and her father over twenty years ago. However, Bane's abduction forces Zannah to mount a rescue because she must kill him as she is ready to do now to become Dark Lord of the Sith. ---------------

    The third Darth Bane Old Republic saga continues the escapades of those who traverse the dark side of the Force. There are several subplots that move forward the overarching theme from the previous books in this arc, Path of Destruction and Rule of Two; especially the latter. The cast driven of strong personalities embrace the dark side for differing motives. Darth Bane has no redeeming qualities while ambitious Zannah waits for the right moment to strike against her mentor. Set is ironically a dark version of Solo while Serra lives for one thing: vengeance. Drew Karpyshyn provides a fascinating look at the dark side during the Old Republic era.--------

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Nonstop action and suspence

    This was one of the best Star Wars novels yet. Darth Bane was true to character and very well written. I would like ti have seen more about Zannah's personality and feelings, but her character was well done as well. New characters added were very well conceived and may factor into future story lines, if they survived this novel. It was interesting to see how the Jedi and Sith evolved to where they were at the time of the original trilogy. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    The Legend of the Sith Moves On... And Hopefully So Does Karpyshyn!

    Drew Karpyshyn's trilogy about Darth Bane's rise and fall as the founder of the Rule of Two is spectacular. Dynasty of Evil is a fitting conclusion to an amazing trilogy presenting the perspective that is often invisible to most readers. Hopefully Karpyshyn will pick up with the story of Darth Zannah and her apprentice, Darth Cognus, in another trilogy or cycle soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Truly Wondrful.

    An epic end to a wonderful trilogy. A wonderful read to any star wars fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    Darth Bane is NOT Cad Bane!!!!!

    Darth Bane is NOT Cad Bane!Reason1:Darth Bane lived like 1,000 years before Cad Bane.Reason2:Cad Bane is a Sith lord and Cad Bane is nothing but a bounty hunter.Reason3:Cad Bane is a Duros but Darth Bane is human.Reason4:Darth Bane has awesome force powers and a lightsaber but Cad Bane has nothing but a hat and a couple of blasters.By the way this book was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Amazing

    The while series was truly wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    i would usually say go bad guys. But in this the jedi are bad.

    SITH LORDS AND PLIANSWALKERS FO LIFE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Loved this!!

    I loved the whole series :) i want there to be more. This adventure was one heck of a wild ride that left me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Epic Final Volume Of An Excellent Star Wars Trilogy!!!!!!!!

    The Epic Final Volume Of An Excellent Star Wars Trilogy!!!!!!!!

    Star Wars Darth Bane Dynasty Of Evil is the final book in the Darth Bane trilogy and a great conclusion to the series. Of course Bane returns, and with his apprentice in tow, sets out on another grand adventure. I feel that this book did take just a little longer then the previous two to get started, but once it gets going it's captivating. This is one of the very few Star Wars tales that has you rooting for the bad guy.

    All in all this novel doesn't disappoint. The final chapter is a worthy conclusion and the whole tale is woven beautifully together. It's a wonderful peek into the times of the Old Republic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Great read and overall awesome story

    Book 3 was an awesome read and a great way to end this story. All three books where awesome and one of the best stories in the star wars world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Q

    Awesomness in its purest form

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Good

    Spoiler alert:Bane dies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    FLlen

    she nods.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Did bane die?

    Thr book hints that zannah lived but then that bane lived who survived?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    I dont get it good book pplz read this and answer my question

    Does the essance transfer work because the twiching hand because Darth Bane had a twitching hand not Zannah. Other wise a fabulous book for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    BEST STAR WARS BOOK EVER

    Epic. Sith. No more need be said. Nothing in this book gave me cause to criticize.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nice read for the continued saga

    Love this novel for it's continued tale to the great saga that is Star Wars. It answers a lot of questions to the ever expanding unvierse. Plenty of action, well woven story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    This trilogy was excellent! I highly recommend these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Darkbramble

    :I No. Checkerfern: Yes. *glares at Logan* Darkbramble: I was kidding! Geez! And I still do not understand. Checkerfern: I just wanted the old Bloodcrush back! He was my friend! That's why I hesitated to love either of them because I loved both of them! They were sweet and cute! I just miss when both of them were my friends... I miss everything before the blocking happened, the F.M. battle, the Dynasty! Maybe even before the Autumny crew joined! I just want everything to start over so maybe I could have made sure he didn't become a monster! He's my friend. He'll always be my friend, I just wished he were still the innocent apprentice I first became friends with... but. I can forget things. I'll make myself forget him if I have to. I just wanted my friend back. I'm sorry for causing issues... I'll leave. But I'll keep hoping Bloodcrush(not King Bloodcrush who is a whole different person) will come back to RC someday. I love Savageheart now for sure and 100%. I should have made that decision when we were apprentices so it wouldn't have been too late to keep Bloodcrush as a friend. Crescentwing: ..... Petalflight: Don't cry, Mi! :*( Now I'm going to cry! Ugh, Bloodcrush never should have liked her in the first place! She never deserved this! She is innocent and she had a pick-and-choose thrown on her! She never did anything wrong to deserve that kind of pressure and loss. Checkerfern: It's not his fault I started posting... Darkbramble: You guys are so emotional. I never went thru this with Goldendust. Gawd. You guys need to calm down. Checkerfern: That's because she probably thought you'd annoy her and call her hot and s e x y for the rest of her life! Darkbramble: Well we all know that, but the point is YOU ARE BASICALLY MADE OUT OF DRAMA! Checkerfern: So what are you made of? Petalflight: C r a p. Darkbramble: I'm made out of hotness and s e x y n e s s! BOOM! I win! Hehehe! Calmwater: Just no brain. Darkbramble: I have a puny brain okay! So you can't say I'm brainless because I have some brain! Idk where it is but I have it somewhere!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Crescentwing

    >:I she won't wake up. Oh wait... she just said 'shut op I'm tired' I'll go kick her... Darkbramble: HAHA! She's sleeping on the floor! Petalflight: *wacks Logan's stupid head* Where else would she be sleeping?! ITS A CLOSET YOU R E T A R D! Darkbramble: Well, I'm not smart! Gawd. Checkerfern: Wha...? Good morning... Crescentwing: Bloodcrush doesn't love you. Checkerfern: I know, you told me twenty times yesterday and today. Its still dark, can I go sleep? Darkbramble: I'm sooooo lost..? Checkerfern: I... I'll tell you later. Is Bloodcrush good yet??? Ugh I'm sleeeepy... Petalflight: No. He is not. Never will be. :I Checkerfern: I know :( Well, I tried. :I Good night. Crescentwing: I'm confused. Checkerfern: Uggggg*sighs* Where's Savageheart??? Crescentwing: Right there. Checkerfern: Where? Petalflight: *rolls eyes* check your phone. Checkerfern: Oh! Hi, Savagy! I'm so tired... can I have some pickles? Crescentwing: Will you be nice? Checkerfern: No. Not until Bloodcrush promises to be evil forever or promises to come back and stay good forever. If he promises to be evil, then I can come back. :( I just wanted all of us to be friends again. Whatever. His loss :I Petalflight: Huh??? Checkerfern: *leans on Savageheart* I'm tired can I go back to sleep? Crescentwing: No! You explain! Checkerfern: But I'm HUNGRY! And TIRED! And I need a shower! Bleeeggggg to you smell me??? I smell HORRI- Darkbramble: Oh gross! Checkerfern: *yawns* Fine. Ask away. But first Bloodcrush needs to promise one of those things.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5