Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    good book

    ok this is basicly about a mission maul has to do that he thinks is too easy but ends up more difficult than he thouht. its very good and action packed. and if any one could help me out this the third starwars book i read and i need some help to find some more good ones. the other two were the bane books. i need so action packed starwars books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THERE IS THE FORCE

    A few days before the events of Episode I, the Neimoidians in the employment of Darth Sidious come to a terrifying realization - one of their members has disappeared. There was a fourth member of the Neimoidians scheming with Darth Sidious - Hath Monchar, a deputy viceroy who loses his nerve and heads to Coruscant looking to sell the whole sordid tale of Sidious's plans to rule the galaxy (starting with invading Naboo) to the highest bidder.

    Needless to say, Sidious sends the ultimate hitman to take Hath out before he squeals - Darth Maul. But it won't be as easy as it sounds. For one thing, Jedi Master Anoon Bondara and his Padawan Darsha Assant are cleaning up from Maul's decimation of Black Sun months ago and have stumbled onto his new hunt. Lorn Pavan, a Corellian information broker with a grudge against the Jedi, and his acerbic droid I-Five have also gotten into the mix. It's a cat and mouse game, and Maul is one very hungry cat. The chase takes them through the horrifying depths of Coruscant as well as the seemingly safe upper levels.

    f you like Darth Maul, then you'll probably like this book. He's in all out action here and we get to see him in top form. One of the cool things about this story is that it introduces a ton of new and interesting characters. There's a smart-mouthed, free thinking droid named I-Five that packs a few interesting features. Then there's Lorn Pavan who has a very good (and interesting) reason for hating the Jedi. I won't spoil it here, but it's a topic I've always wondered about. Then there's the Jedi Padawan Darsha Assant who fails miserably on her first mission. Most of the Jedi we see are heroes who either win the battle or die heroically. This was an interesting twist to see one completely botch a mission and the fear the consequences. And since these aren't core characters, they're totally fair game for being in serious jeopardy or killed. That raises the stakes quite a bit when they face Darth Maul.

    As much as I loved the new characters in the book, I would have liked to have seen more of Darth Maul. There are often large gaps between his appearances. However, I realize it could be difficult to have him around all the time and keep it interesting. Maul can be a rather flat character if not used sparingly.

    "THERE IS NO EMOTION
    THERE IS PEACE
    THERE IS NO IGNORANCE
    THE IS KNOWLEDGE
    THERE IS NO PASSION
    THERE IS SERENITY
    THERE NO DEATH
    THERE IS THE FORCE.....
    *THAT IS THE JEDI CODE*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    A must read for any Star Wars fan!

    I'm just now getting into reading books from the expanded universe and this was my first full length Star Wars Novel, (I'd read a few of the Jedi Apprentice Books and they intrigued me to read this). The intense sensations that go through you as you read this are amazing. Every time it the author changes character views, you are already rooting for this person, even though a few seconds ago you may have hated them. An outstanding job that sheds a great deal of light onto the personality of Darth Maul and his complete and utter submission to his lord Sidious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2004

    a reviewer

    Darth Maul Shadow Hunter is one of the best Star Wars books yet! After books and books focusing on the heros of the saga, the dark side finally makes its appearence. It has somewhat of a complicated plot, but easy enough to follow. The action scenes are some of the best, outranking even the movies in some parts. It may not have a particularly 'happy' outcome, but this book is just what SW fans need

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    This book nailed the feel of the movies perfectly. From the intr

    This book nailed the feel of the movies perfectly. From the introduction featuring a gigantic spaceship to the twist ending.
    Reaves did a phenomenal job with dialogue and with his style, which was reverent when describing Jedi action and gritty when dealing with the Star Wars galaxy's underbelly.
    The character of I5YQ is probably his biggest coup.
    The only downfall I could find was a lack of physical description of the characters that we don't already know.
    Otherwise, this blows the others I have read to smithereens!
    Way to go Mike Reaves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Sith Bios

    Post here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    I read this one some time ago, and I remember it being very acti

    I read this one some time ago, and I remember it being very action packed, but I can't recall much about the story. It must not have left too much of an impression on me. If you've read Darth Plagueis then you will come across a point in the book where Darth Maul goes on a mission to destroy Black Sun. This is the complete story of that mission. Very action packed and a was probably a very good tie in novel at the time Episode I came out to give people more Darth Maul. Now years later it doesn't add too much to the Star Wars mythos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Darth Deceptious

    Name: Darth Deceptious <br> Age: Thirteen <br> Gender: Female <br> Personality: She doesn't like to be in the light, and would rather stick to the shadows, he needs every detail to be perfect if she is doing something, has little regard for other people's feelings, isn't scared off by foes bigger, tougher, or faster than her, yet has an intense fear of spiders of any kind, and she has a strange fondness for plants and animals. <br> Appearance: she has brown hair with blonde highlights and black streaks in it that reaches her waist, observant sky-blue eyes, and she likes to wear long black pants with a matching shirt. She is five feet and six inches tall. <br> Other: Ask <br> If i forgot anything, just ask. <p> ~Deceptious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Darth Venicious

    Age: I have found a way to slow my aging, yes, I'm that awesome.<br>True Name: I shall reveal it to you once you earn the title of Darth.<br>Weapons: My lightsaber is double-bladed, the hilt made of chiseled bone. Obviously, it's red. I have a "Sith-sword," which is like a lightsaber, but is instead a katana hilt. The blades come out both sides, and I don't know how it is made. I found it in an underground cavern on Korriban.<br>Species: Beneath my featureless grey mask, I'm a Zaabrak-Human hybrid with shoulder-long brown hair and grey eyes. (I forget how to spell "Zaabrak." Dx) I have horns, but my hair cover them. Sometimes it pays off being ho<3>rny. xD<br>Homeworld: Coruscant.<br>History: My pastery is a mystery. Heh. Rhyme.<br>Personality: You'll find out. x)<br>The rest, you either don't need to know or will find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    this book rocks it blows smeyers books outta the water you shoul

    this book rocks it blows smeyers books outta the water you should check out the darth bane trilogy its the best trilogy since both star wars trilogys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Darth Maul

    I LOVE STAR WARS. Period. Darth Maul and Qui-Gon Jinn are my fav. Characters. (Yes, i'm a girl) So i accidentaly hit the purchase button. Oh wel, this book was awesome. I would have bought this book weither or not. Darth Maul's an over looked character. He 's got, what, three lines? I was happy to see him have an epic come back when episode one came out in 3D. Now i can actually apreciate being a fan of a minor character. The author does a fantadtic job on this exciting story. Thunbs up! Five stars !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Star wars

    This book did not have great story mode in the book. It did have great death maul story in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    One of the best starwars books

    One of the best star warsbooks on maul

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Awesome

    One of the best star wars books i have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story, Great Action!

    I loved this book, it definitely gives you more Maul, since not much is really brought up about him in The Phantom Menace. Great Read for Prequel fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Good

    Great book it has nothing to do with the book but ihave a book call the wrath of darth maul and in the acknoledgement the talk about books and only one is on nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    do not read this

    slow slow slow all i could think about what how much i was looking forword to being done with it for some that has star wars name on it was nothing like a star war story not fun i bad ending a pace that like a snail i do recamend this crapy even if they give for free i would still not recamend this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    By sam *****

    Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Excellent

    Satisfying ending too haha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Epic!

    Epic!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5