Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Star Wars novel for the bad guys- great idea

    Finally... A Star Wars novel devoted to a villain. It takes the mysterious character of Darth Maul and gives him a little more depth. It is a story of Darth Maul's pursuit of a group of easily forgetable characters, but it was still exciting. It is a good prequel to the Phantom Menace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    Good read

    Very well written. Good background into Darth Maul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    good

    Great,easy to read,action packed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Good, light summer reading for Star Wars fans.

    A Jedi Padawan on her first solo assignment. A man who's lost everything that mattered to him, who hopes to escape his current life - or excuse for one - in Coruscant's underworld. Assorted monsters, rogues, and droids. And, cutting a swathe through them (sometimes literally!) - Darth Maul, on a mission for his mysterious master. From those ingredients, author Reaves creates a fast-paced and sometimes intriguing adventure set in a part of the Stars Wars Empire's glittering capital that we never saw in the films. He does an excellent job of blending familiar Lucas-conceived elements with his own original ones, and introduces original characters who fit into the Star Wars universe as if they'd been there all along. He even manages to use Darth Maul ('The Phantom Menace') as his main character without robbing the evil Sith apprentice of all mystery. Good, light summer reading for Star Wars fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    Great read for any SW fan!!

    I am a big SW fan, have been reading alot of the books and by far this is one of the best. Right before Episode I, this tale of Maul hunting down Jedi and scum is a must read. Full of action and suspense, this is a book for any SW fan!! Read it, read Cloak of Deception, and watch the movie...and so on...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Excellent stand-alone Star Wars book

    I'm just starting to read some of the Star Wars books. This is by far the best so far. In fact, its excellent and is of stand-alone quality. The plot is well developed as are the characters. Maul is one-dimensional, but he's interesting. I particularly like the passages describing his martial arts training and exercises with his droid weapons, to which he gives names like Rapier and Cudgel. The heroes, two humans (one a young female Jedi padawan) and a droid, have the kind of chemistry that is reminiscent of the original trilogy. The droid, I-Five, is as memorable a character as any. Obi-Wan makes a cameo appearance as this story takes place just before the events depicted in THE PHANTOM MENACE. This story is worthy of a cinematic adaptation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    Recommended

    Good, but I'm getting kind of sick of Star Wars, and have found Logan Robert Bingham's 'HUnter Rising' very refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2003

    A Great Escapist Book

    Shadow Hunter is one giant chase scene with each sequence more ridiculous and ludicrous than the last. The plot, such as it is, is perfunctory at best, giving way to an amazing tour through the bowels of Coruscant (am I the only one who never thought to wonder where ther oceans went?) In short, this is exactly what the Star Wars universe needed- a light and thoroughly entertaining read. Now if only they'd thought of this during the New Jedi Order...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Very entertaining

    I had not read a Star Wars book since Splinter of the Mind's Eye first came out. This was probably over 20 years ago. This was a very entertaining book. I enjoyed it very much. I had the book for almost a year before starting it. I just read it over a few very enjoyable days. I came here to look for another book to continue the experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2001

    A Breath of Fresh Air

    I definitely was surprised by the ending. I mean, how often does the bad guy win? Of course he obviously dies later, but it's sort of fun if you forget that part. I like books where the bad guy gives every one a real run for their money! Of course killing off all the key characters was a little extreme!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    Good book for Sith Fans

    I myself am a major fan of Darth Vader and Exar Kun. Even though Maul is weak as hell the book still shows more about the dark side of the Force. I liked it only because its about a sith going around blowing stuff up and killing people. Bottom Line: If your a sith Fan read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1