Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Death Star

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Exciting and explains a lot!

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Average Novel

This book offers some insights to the other side of the Death Star story but the improbable escape of the lead characters seemed forced. I did like the perspective of TIE pilot and I wish a book about a TIE squadron was written.

posted by 7532048 on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Excellent

    Exciting and explains a lot!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    One of the best Star Wars book ever!!!

    I love this book. It tells alot of things you dont know about Star Wars. I am a living archieve and even I didn't know it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Great info book

    Got this book a while ago and loved it my friends still wonder how i know so much. A must read for the starwars fanatic

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    One of the better ones

    I have to admit that most of the (ongoing, ever expanding) Star Wars novels are... well, bland and uninspired, to me. If I read them, it's once, maybe twice and they get boxed up, traded or exchanged. A few, like Zahn's series, stay on my bookshelf to be read many times over and enjpyed over the years.

    While not at the top of my list, this one turned into a keeper. Worth the purchase, and quite enjoyable - especially to someone like me, who likes seeing the backstories and fleshing out of worlds. (I lile LOTR, but love the Silmarillion more, for instance.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Average Novel

    This book offers some insights to the other side of the Death Star story but the improbable escape of the lead characters seemed forced. I did like the perspective of TIE pilot and I wish a book about a TIE squadron was written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The bookm is a little slow at times but stay with it as the author needs ti interject detail so you can visualize the story as it is happening. It gives details to put together a more concise story along with the movie.

    I would definately reccomend this book to anyone who has grown up or is new to the Star Wars universe. It fills in all of the gaps from the movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Fill In

    It was a quick but interesting read, filled in some of the blanks when you decide to refer to the entire Star Wars pantheon, (i.e. Darth Vader's thoughts). Not as comprehensive as Tales from the Mose Isely Cantina, but enough to whet your appetite on a rainy day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Great read, full of so much interesting background to the 1st death star and the lives of all associated with it, both good and evil.

    Great read, full of so much interesting background to the 1st death star and the lives of all associated with it, both good and evil. Not everyone on board the death star was evil. We see great stories of good people, intertwined with all our favorite Star Wars characters of A New Hope, both good and evil.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Many fans of the Star Wars Books have questioned much since the 2nd trilogy. For example: It took nearly 20 years to complete the first Death Star, only a few to get the 2nd operational. Also the books clearly say Tarkin presented the Death Star plans to the Emporer. Yet Attack of the Clones shows Aliens developing it for Dooku. The Death Star prototype also wasn't acknowledge in Revenge of the Sith. In this book Tarkin thinks of all these and more. This book brings these things together and explains them all. This book is a must read for Star Wars Fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    GREAT GREAT book

    Awsome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Great

    It was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Cool

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Good

    This book was great. While not a must have it certinly is intersting to see the formation of the Death Star. However my favorite part is the thoughts or imteractions of Grand Moff Tarkin and Darth Vader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    Good story of Death Star construction

    It's a good way to find out where the Death Star was constructed, and what it took to complete it. Also it gives a good point of view from the Empire, and shows that not all the soldiers are bad guys, or clones, or droids. It also reveals the rivalry between Grand Moff Tarkin and Darth Vader, which most people didn't know if they just watched the movie. It also gives a good rough view of how the Death Star gets the power to blow a planet. Its a good story and great addition to the Star Wars universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Star Wars Death Star

    This book is so awesome! Its shows a new perspective in the original star wars trilogy. The detail envolved in putting the story line together with the star wars saga is seamless. It kinda makes me wish this story was added to the big screen movies george lucas had directed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    A great read for all Star Wars fans

    Nice alternate version of the events from episode IV taken from the imperial view point. Fills in some of the gaps from the movie, as well as a new light on the events that happened. This book fits in very well with the rest of the Star Wars genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Star Wars Death Star gives a good history of the life and death of this battle station.

    The authors give a good story of the construction of the Death Star right up to the point a proton torpedo causes its end.
    The story is written from the Imperial side but not all characters are military. Conscripted slave labor and civilian contractors are included. There is some tie in to A New Hope with scenes from the Imperial side included but not from the Rebel side.

    Overall I enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    Who is really in charge here

    The book was a very good read. The first part of the book was a liitle slow to develop, but I guess when you have that many characters you need some time to work them in. The second half of the book attempted to fill in blanks from the movie series. But I think the authors missed some connections. I never thought Grand Moff Tarkin and Darth Vador were competing against one another in the movie. So why try to portray that in the book. Also I am not used to those working for the empire to have such strong morals, in any of the books I have read. If you can get past that the book is quite compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Death Star

    If you are a fan of the book series, you'll enjoy how the authors tie in new characters with the actual movie script. There is also a character from another Star Wars title, but you don't have to have read that book to enjoy this one.

    If you are only a fan of the movies, then this is the "crossover" book for you--more than a novel version of the movie script, yet enough familiarity of scenes, sets, and characters from the movies to help you enter into our "galaxy, far, far away. . ." The

    The novel is well paced with enough background to help flesh out the characters into interesting beings. The only thing I have a hard time with is--and it's no fault of these authors--that anyone, even a ladder-climbing, ambitious woman like Admiral Daala--would want to sleep with Grand Moff Tarkin. Come on! ! Did you see him in the original movie?

    You know the ending--it blows up. But you will be wondering as to who, if any, get off before the final explosion. This book works seamlessly into the existing movie/book structure of the Star Wars world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3