Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Death Troopers

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This is a must read!!!

Fast Pace, Thrilling, Intense, True to Star Wars, True to the Horror and a all around fun read I couldn't put down till I finished it :)

posted by MoidSki on October 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

It should have been subtitled Han Solo vs the Zombies.

This is the worse Star Wars novel I have ever read, and I have read most of them. There is no real plot, badly written with no regard to the personalities of the characters as they have been set out in previously published novels. Do not buy this book!!!

posted by diana92350 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    This is a must read!!!

    Fast Pace, Thrilling, Intense, True to Star Wars, True to the Horror and a all around fun read I couldn't put down till I finished it :)

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Zombies in Star War space seems out of place yet it works as an entertaining thriller

    The Imperial prison barge Purge is in a remote sector transporting five hundred of the most ruthless criminals ever known to their new home when the vessel breaks down. Nearby is a drifting Star Destroyer. The crew goes on board hoping to salvage parts needed to repair the thrusters on the Purge.

    Not all return from the derelict ship, but those who manage to return are very sick bringing back a host of nasty symptoms that rapidly spread throughout the Purge even in the maximum confinement cells isolated from everyone and everything. The ship's chief medical officer Dr. Zahara Cody tries but fails to contain the disease. In incredibly short order, what was once thousands of people on board had dwindled to six survivors. Cody, Captain of the Guard Sartoris, the teenage Longo sibling prisoners completing their father's prison sentence because he died during a torture interrogation and two other inmates held in the utmost maximum confinement cell. This six are not allies as Cody and the siblings have an axe to grind with Sartoris while the other two have been kept away from people for either lethal or political reasons. The living sextet better unite because the dead crew and prisoners have reanimated and are coming for fresh meat.

    Zombies in Star War space seems out of place yet it works as an entertaining thriller with connections to the original film trilogy. The story line is fast-paced and filled with tons of action even before the dead come back to life. Unique and refreshing in terms of Star Wars (zombies have become an "overkilled" species lately), fans will enjoy Joe Schreiber's horror science fiction thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    one of the best zombie novels

    Do you love zombies, gore, and Star Wars? Suspense or scary books? Books that keep you on edge all the time? If so you will love Death Troopers by Joe Schreiber.
    Trig Longo is an inmate aboard The Purge, an imperial prison barge. The Purge breaks down in the most unknown part of the outer rim. The crew sees a broke down star destroyer. They organized two search teams and aboard. One of the search teams never came back. After the other search team came back aboard The Purge. People stared dying starting with the search team. The scientist where dumb founded at this.
    I love this awesome book because it keeps me on edge wondering what is going to happen. It was action packed you can put it down. I liked because it put two of my favorite things in one. Zombies and Star Wars. It¿s gory, suspenseful, and action packed. I give this book five stars and two undead thumbs up. It is just awesome. People who like Star Wars, zombies, and suspense that are older than eleven will love this book.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Mondaynight:November28by:chris go

    The cover is great.I mmight not be done..........i would say its cool.do i have to say more?If so READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!+!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!+!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!+!!!!!!+!!!!!+!!!!!+!!!!!!!+++++!!!!!!!!++!!)

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Awesome book

    You have to get this book!!! It is purely amazing!!!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is amazing just amazing

    this book seriously is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Best book evr created

    Loved it from beggining to end

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Average Zombie Novel

    A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...
    Predictable opening I guess but I just had to go there.
    Even though I love the Star Wars movies I had never crossed paths with a Star Wars novel before. I had been meaning to for a long, long time but there was always something else that took preference. Well, I finally shoved all other books aside and made time for Death Troopers.
    Do you like zombies? Do you like Star Wars? Then, in theory at least, you would love Death Troopers as it's essentially a Star Wars zombie novel.
    I liked the cover of the book as it was selling me on a more adult orientated novel. I didn't like that the cover of the book, when taken off and opened up showing the inside, doubled as a poster. I find it almost sacrilegious that someone even came up with the idea of making a poster out of a book cover. Book covers are meant to cover books and not be pinned to a wall.
    So what about the story? Well, it's pretty much standard fare with a starship full of convicts contracting a virus, dying then coming back to life craving human flesh. I've never really understood why those who come back from the dead as zombies always crave human flesh? Why not carrots? Why not peanut butter? Always human flesh.
    Anyhow, a few people happen to be immune one of which just happens to be a doctor who then goes on to make an anti-virus. That anti-virus is given to Han Solo and Chewbacca who don't actually appear in this novel until ninety-seven pages in. The novel itself is only 234 pages in length. The plot then revolves around Han, Chewie and a few other characters trying to make their escape and not being eaten by the zombies.
    I'm sure my Star Wars novel virginity could have been given away to a more deserving read; one that would not leave me feeling unsatisfied and craving another novel to take to bed with me in order to satiate my literary desires. It's not that this book is terrible, it's just all very cliche and run of the mill. It started off well and the characters of Trig and Kale were promising. Unfortunately that promise was never fulfilled and I found myself not caring whether they lived or died. Of course, being a Star Wars novel there was never any doubt Han Solo and Chewbacca would survive so the supporting cast needed to be stronger.
    If you're a big Star Wars fan then there's probably enough in this novel to keep you happy. If you're a zombie fan you will have read books like this countless times before. If you're a neutral then I wouldn't really recommend this novel at all.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    It should have been subtitled Han Solo vs the Zombies.

    This is the worse Star Wars novel I have ever read, and I have read most of them. There is no real plot, badly written with no regard to the personalities of the characters as they have been set out in previously published novels. Do not buy this book!!!

    5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Cllick on this to see my reveiw!

    Before i read this book i did not like readingbooks at all. My friends kept saying it was a really awesome book and that i should read it. I finally got a nook 2 (it's awesome by the way) and i downloaded this book and so far i have loved every second of it. I huess my friends were right.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Scary but good

    Even though the cover is creepy its good

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    ZOMBIE+STAR WARS: awsome

    It took like 14 chapters for there to be Zombie Troopers to actually attack. But its zombies are bettr than Black Op's they got guns! :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Awesome,!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I read it i loved it but red harvest thats a whole nother bad story

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Best Book Ever.

    You can't find a better book. Very suspenseful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    A great read of ZOMBIES in the Star Wars Universe!!

    Pleasant read, enjoyed a lot. Even better is checking out the Lego adaptaions on YouTube. Enjoy.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Zombies + Star Wars = Win?

    Can you blame Star Wars for wanting in on the zombie trend that's taken over the nation? I hardly can. But don't let that turn you off the novel. It's well written, explanation is given for what happens, with good characterizations, and enough original twists and turns to keep your anxiety level up and 'this has been done already' to a minimum. If you're not too shortsighted about "they got zombies on my star wars", its an enjoyable and still original read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    a non-unique zombie story for small kids.

    UNoriginal, a big disappointment. will vampires and werewolves guest star in the Star Wars universe next? So-so writing, weak rational and realism (even for a fictional universe) made me regret tainting Star Wars with this novel.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i reccommand this book to people new to star wars

    amazing book by one amazing author this book blows stephenie meyer outta the water!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the twilight saga is the worst book series ever made the host is just as terrible as her debut novel if not worser

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    Must read

    I am not a fan of zombie movies, nor will you ever catch me playing any zombie games. But I loved this book. I was immediately sucked in by the story. I didn't want to put the book down. I finished reading it in 3 days.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this seriously amazing book han solo and chewbecca rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10