Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved This Book!!!!

I have always liked this story in movie form, but reading it in book form was very enjoyable too--maybe even more so. Anakin has grown up from the small nine-year-old boy on Tatooine. He is arrogant and humorous, and loves the senator, Padmé Amidala. This book talk...
I have always liked this story in movie form, but reading it in book form was very enjoyable too--maybe even more so. Anakin has grown up from the small nine-year-old boy on Tatooine. He is arrogant and humorous, and loves the senator, Padmé Amidala. This book talks more about things that didn't happen in the movie, and the tragic, forbidden love story of Anakin and Padmé is explored more. This book was well-written, and I know it is one I will reread in the future. I especially liked the concluding sentence of the book.

posted by 2620968 on January 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Asome

The best

posted by Anonymous on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Loved This Book!!!!

    I have always liked this story in movie form, but reading it in book form was very enjoyable too--maybe even more so. Anakin has grown up from the small nine-year-old boy on Tatooine. He is arrogant and humorous, and loves the senator, Padmé Amidala. This book talks more about things that didn't happen in the movie, and the tragic, forbidden love story of Anakin and Padmé is explored more. This book was well-written, and I know it is one I will reread in the future. I especially liked the concluding sentence of the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Wicked

    This was a very good book.Read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    An exceptional book, it offers more details than the movie. I highly recommend this book as it is very well written from a very good writer. Thank you for reading this review. I hope it was helpful. Short74656

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    Good BOOK!!!!

    This book has realy openend my eyes. after i read the book i totaly understood the movie better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    A really great book!

    I just read this book not too long ago and I like it a lot. I like the fact that the author added parts that were not in the movie. Episode II isn't the best Star Wars book I've read, but it's good to know the parts that aren't in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    great detail

    This book is very detailed and leaves no question. Except for the fact if the senate is being ruled by the sith or not. But that shouldn't be answered. It will in the third.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Read the book, saw the movie, met the Author

    The book helped me to understand the movie. The Author helped me understand why the book ended so poorly. Seems that George Lucas kept changing the script then the author had to change the book. When deadline for the book arrived Salvatore had to let Lucas finish the ending. No wonder the ending sounded like it had been written by the editor! Salvatore is a great writer and his part of the book (Tuskan War, Lars Family) deserves 5 stars, but the ending gets a -1. Don't rate the author on this book, HOWEVER the book is a great compliment to the movie. Answers many questions about the Lars family and does them far more justice than the film did. You see that Shmi was loved and not 'owned.' Anakin's emotional quagmire is more developed and he seems less whiney, and the love relationship between Anakin and Padame is more believable in the book (when viewing of the film, the audience laughed during some of the 'love scenes'). I believe that the reason the book was released weeks ahead of the movie was so that fans could get the information necessary to make the film more enjoyable. The special fx are fantastic, but the story is flat without the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    good book

    I have seen the movie and read the book and as always the book is better, not to say that I didn¿t love the movie. (Great special effects) Salvator did an excellent job picking up where Lucas left off. The characters are well developed and believable. I recommend you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Much better than Episode I

    Now that I have seen the movie and read the book, I think it is safe to say, yet again the books are far better than movies. This story is much better than episode I but it was not without its faults. None the less a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    Good Work!

    I've always liked the Star Wars universe. Reading this book makes me even more eager for the movie! Knowing the outcome won't disappoint me at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Can't Wait for the Movie

    Enjoyed the book - couldn't put it down! It was an easy read and flowed nicely. Since Episode I, I've tried to predict the story line to Episode 4,5,&6 - I wasn't disappointed! Episode III should be a thrill as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Hmm...

    Hmm... Maybe recommend an English dictionary for the reviewer above?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    The Best Jedi Battle of All Time

    This book is just what we've come to love from George Lucas, a sweeping, compelling and mythic epic tale. The plot moves swiftly through most of the book and Salvatore does a great job of adding detail to the screen play. And the battle sequence at the end will prove a visual treat unlike anything seen yet! However, the made-for-the-screen feel of this story can be seen though the lack of details in the book. Bascially, the story unfolds as Obi-Wan trying to solve the mystery of who is trying to kill Senator Amidalla and raising many intriguing questions about the plot. However, they are all to simply answered in a conversation that Obi-Wan over hears toward the end of the book. This lack of explaining the driving points of the plot reminds me alot of 'The Bargain' that the Nemoidians made with Darth Sidious in the first episode, did that ever make much sense? Speaking only for myself, as I read intensely seeking these answers to the mystery, I was disappointed by the lack of explaination of the entire device that is driving the plot of the book (I'm being general here as to not give anything away to people who have not read the book). At the end of Timothy Zahn's books, all of the lose ends had been tied up nicely and I miss that in ep I & II. Perhaps at the end of the third episode the entire panorama of the story and plot line will manifest itself better than it has in the first two - and perhaps that's the way it was meant to. And at the end of the day, it's all fiction so one can fill in the gaps in the storyline however one likes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    Can't wait to see the movie!!!!

    Loved the story, I thought that there could have been better descriptions, but I guess that Lucus wants that left to the movie. That has got to be the worst COVER I have ever seen, Natalie Portman is a beautiful woman, but this cover makes her look awful. Use the movie poster as the cover next time. Anyway I can't wait for the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    AMAZING!!!

    I awaited this book for sometime now, and it didn't let down. I thought the romance was well paced, the action was thrilling, and character were as enjoyable in EPII as they are in any SW movie. To read Obi-Wan's feeling about the Clones, both as a military threat and a moral dilema, are so interesting to read. I can't wait for the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    Lucas redeems himself....

    My, my, my... if the AOTC movie generates as much excitement as this book did - Mr.Lucas has redeemed himself. After the lacklustre & disappointment of TPM, I believe this new chapter in the Star Wars universe will outshine them all. It's got the right mix of drama, action & humour (which was sorely lacking in TPM). I can't wait for Episode III !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2