Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    John Williams Does It Again

    Continuing his long history of great themes in the movies, John Williams brings the galaxy far far away back to an intimate setting. The music allows you to go back to the specific scenes in the movie and relive the fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    John Williams has done it again!!

    I personally love Across The Stars. Ever since I've heard it in the movie I've been humming it all the time. I do think that all the other tracks are excellent, too. This music made the movie what it is. Now, I can listen to the music whenever I choose. Even if you're not so fond of Star Wars or soundtracks, you'll love this cd. It is one of my favorite soundtracks and it should be yours too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Force is with this one...like the others

    Well, Johnny Williams has done it again! "Ambush on Coruscant" is suitably moody and atmospheric. "Across the Stars" - easily the greatest love theme ever composed for a film. "Zam the Assasin & The Chase Through Coruscant": epic in length and in proportions, despite the surprising use of electric guitar and synthesizers. "Jango's Escape" is action backed. "Bounty Hunter's Pursuit" is bombastic and features a reprise of the Droid Army theme from the first film late on in the track. "Love Pledge & The Arena": briliant stuff. It's all in the title. And "Confrontation with Dooku & The Finale" the latter comprising a magnificent reprisal of the "Imperial March" theme, then cutting to a reprise of the love theme before cutting to the credits' music. All in all, quite cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Cool! Percussion!

    This is truly, yet another fascinating cd of the Star Wars music. My favourite tracks are: Zam the assassin..., Confrontation with Count Dooku, and the Love Theme. I like Mr. William's use of a more prominent percussion section in this tune. It reminds me of some band music I have heard, and the electric guitar solo adds a unique effect. The solo shows the modernity of Coruscant, where the chase occured. There are fascinating rhythms, and the puches the music gives is captivating. The use of slapstick and tom is new to Star Wars, and ads to the chaotic atmosphere of chasing Zam in large city's lower level. The other tunes are also quite lovely, the final track is a nice summation of the main melodies. I would reccomend this selection to anyone, even for those who don;t care for soundtracks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Scrumtrulescent

    This soundtrack was fantastic! I have never heard such great music! John Williams your my hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yes, a must have...

    For a faithful Star Wars fan, this soundtrack is! In making this blend of music, John Williams used a mixture of styles from other film score composers. The CD introduces new themes, also heard brieflyare other popular themes! A faithful Star Wars fan wouldn't turn this CD down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Amazing!!!

    Attack of the Clones is truly the best of the Star Wars Saga yet! John Williams's music is very inspiring, and you can practically see the movie in your head when you're listening to the soundtrack!This isn't like other classical music. It has action, romance, excitement,- everything you need in a Star Wars movie soundtrack! I've listened to the cd about 10 times since I've bought it. Other people who buy this soundtrack won't regret it, I swear! Chrissy-age 13,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely terrible...

    The quality of the soundtrack was terrible, terrible sound quality, I COULD NOT get it to play in any conventional CD player, I am very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful pieces!

    From what I've heard of the soundtrack, mostly ''Across the Stars'' and ''Jango Escapes'', these are the best songs that John Williams has ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWSOME!!

    ALL I CAN SAY IS... YODA ALL THE WAY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best soundtrack i have heard

    if you have not listened to this soundtrack you should listen to the 30 second samples. It has a beautiful love theme for anakin and padme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You guys, this is one of those soundtracks that people hum in their sleep, and it's back! John Williams has done it again, capturing us in this dazzling score. I highly reccomend this to those who can seriously listen to this music and hear the magic put into the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Williams is my composer (hey, if anyone knows me, email me after you see my review!)

    Williams rocks the house in his own, unique classical pop music. Check out his newest track from the soon-to-be-a blockbuster ''Star Wars Episode: Attack of the Clones''. So maybe the title isn't so original, but hey, you can't always judge movie music by the titles! (I mean, what about the Forrest Gump Suite?!?!) Don't miss out on the new Star Wars soundtrack. I know I won't! B.R.G. PS. Oh, don't forget the cool covers that come with this soundtrack! (hehe, I like the one with Padme :-))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, but not as good as John Williams usually does

    Well, this sound track was good, but I have to admit I was kind of disappointed. The soindtrack of episode 1 was so intense, and this one is a little flat in comparrison. Maybe it will not seem so after I see the movie(tomorrow). I enjoyed it, and I really like the undertones in the love theme implying the tragic end that will befall Anakin and Padme. I like the imperial march motiff that pops up in the back ground since the beginning of both the fall of Anakin to the dark side and the rise of the empire are bound to be important aspects in the movie. Still, after dual of the fates, the sound track just seems good but kind of bland as well. It was a little too light-hearted at times, but that is apropriate since this movie is at least partially about love. I really didn't like the electric guitar part- it was really out of place, though it might blend in all right in a chase scene- it is just kind of grating/ strange to listen to without the movie. I wish this would have been a more complete soundtrack, but it's not bad. For those who just can't wait, it's worth the money- and for those who can, wait for the full soundtrack which will inevitably be released in the near future. The multiple cover designs is a little silly- who needs 4 of the same soundtrack just to get different covers?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Written in the Stars is Right!

    Williams is back again and better than ever. Embedded deeply in the background are the themes we've come to know and love, and many new masterpieces have joined the ranks. The episode II love theme is both heart-wrenching and inspiring and the energetic bounty hunter theme is some of his best work. The album is a must have for any Star Wars fan or John Williams fan. A league of talented artists bring this movie to life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    Great A++++++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A shining star

    I can't honestly give this soundtrack a full five stars after hearing the Lord of the Rings soundtrack, (which I bought only yesterday and adore) but Star Wars is still high on my ''Eventually Buy'' list. I don't think it really did as good a job at reflecting the mood of the movie as LOTR's soundtrack, but then, I'm VERY partial to Lord of the Rings. I have to say, though, that ''Meadow Picnic'' was gorgeous, and ''Across the Stars'' made my heart melt and my eyes tear up. That has to be one of the most romantic songs I've heard, besides Lord of the Rings's ''The Council of Elrond.'' I could listen to those two songs over and over and not get tired of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I agree with both reviews

    I agree that this strategy sux. However I'd like to focus on the music itself. Well, first of all it's innovative. Innovative in really positive way. And I guess that's what everyone wants. This part with guitar sounds very simmilar to a certain track from AI soundtrack and I like it as in colaboration with symphnic music it builds very odd climax (cyberpunk-like). Master Williams once again shown his talents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They Duped Us Again

    John Williams is one of the greatest composers alive, and the Star Wars is series one of his most loved works. Why then, are we fans continually plagued by substandard score releases? Last time, we bought the first Phantom Menace release, only to find that it was less than half of the music from the movie and omitted the motifs of main characters, and then had to shell out more for the ''special'' double CD release. Same thing with the original trilogy, only worse; it took them twenty years and three releases to get all the music out. And now we're going to have to suffer through this anemic 12 track excuse to get to the ''special collector's edition'' Episode 2 score doubtlessly slotted for release this winter. A double CD set is not just for collectors... no one weighs purchases in the music store thinking, ''nah, I only want some of the Star Wars music.'' It's for people who want the music they pay for. Don't buy this tripe... hold out for the real deal. The message we send may get them to do it right the first time on Episode 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Jedi Return......So does the love...And the hidden anger......

    Ok I am a jedi, and a very good one indeed. I have now thinking about what the others said to rate the soundtrack.....Hmmmmmmmmm... Ok well the good things about it is that is a soundtrack and a very unique and diffrent one indeed. The movie thanks to a special website, let me see the script to this movie and when I look at it and read the music I can tell that we are trying to build up chemistry to match the movie thats all. JW really seamed to outgrow his power over this movie. This a love story and we need romantic music....This is an action movie and we need action music. JW made each one so perfectional, that go perfectly along with each movement with the charector. I rate this a 5 star pointer cus someday....The world we be shocked on how good it matches to the movie and thats all we are trying to do.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2