Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Fate of the Jedi #1: Outcast

Average Rating 4.5
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Destiny of a Galaxy, the Fate of the Jedi Order...

It is approximately three to four years following the death of Darth Caedus, formerly known as the Jedi Jacen Solo, at the hands of his sister, Jaina Solo. While Jacen's parents, Han and Leia, struggle to maintain stability and restore their ravaged senses by raising J...
It is approximately three to four years following the death of Darth Caedus, formerly known as the Jedi Jacen Solo, at the hands of his sister, Jaina Solo. While Jacen's parents, Han and Leia, struggle to maintain stability and restore their ravaged senses by raising Jacen's young daughter, Allana, who has already brushed against the dark side of the Force, as a normal child, the Galactic Alliance is anything but stable.

A part of the agreement which ended the Second Galactic Civil War installed Admiral Dalaa, a former Imperial, as Chief of State, and mandated that the Mandalorians be made her elite guards, replacing the Red Guards and effectively condoning their negative actions. Dalaa is notoriously prejudiced against the Jedi, and has ordered the arrest of Luke Skywalker for extreme negligance in permitting Jacen Solo to turn to the dark side and instigate his reign of terror upon the galaxy. Luke, realizing that the galaxy is already in dangerously volatile from civil war and the Yuuzhan Vong Invasion, turns himself in to the GA governmental powers. Dalaa declares that Skywalker, Grand Master of the Jedi Order, must place himself involuntary exile, or the Jedi Order as a whole will be disbanded. Luke agrees, and he and his son, Ben Skywalker, now a Jedi Knight, set forth on an expedition to discover what led Jacen Solo, once a kind-hearted, tree-hugging young boy, to enslave himself to the dark side of the Force.

Their search leads them to the Baron Do initiates, a group of Force-sensitive Kel Dors with unusual Force capabilities. Simultaneously, Seff Hellin and Valin Horn, son of Corran Horn, both young Jedi Knights, have inexplicably come under the influence of a dark power which the servants of the light have never seen before.

Fate of the Jedi promises to be an extraordinary adventure which leaves me panting for March '09 and the release of Exile. Exile will be followed by Omen and Abyss later in 2009. You know, traditionally, in Star Wars, "fate" is essentially a bad word. "Fate" means a whole bunch of grief then a stunning, shocking, somewhat unfair but kind of fitting conclusion. "Destiny," on the other hand, means a long ordeal with lots of close calls but nothing terrible really occurring, and a haphazard ending that leaves you hungering for more.

But after the blatant cliffhanger at the end of the Legacy of the Force series, I am starving for the next installment in the Star Wars saga. May the Force be with you!

posted by Qui-GonReborn on November 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Bad to Terrible

Ive been a star wars buff since I saw the first movie when i was in my 20s. This book is, by far, terrible, boring, and the opposite of a page turner. In fact, if there is a bright spot in the galaxy, this book is the furthest point from it. A total waste of money. B...
Ive been a star wars buff since I saw the first movie when i was in my 20s. This book is, by far, terrible, boring, and the opposite of a page turner. In fact, if there is a bright spot in the galaxy, this book is the furthest point from it. A total waste of money. Boring and predictable plot, uninspiring characters, and meaningless. I actually found myself fast forwarding through pages, especially the Han Leia stuff at Lando's Kessel mining company. Dont waste ur time or money. Just wait to see what they come with next.

posted by Dapper505 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Yes yes and more yes

    The story is great. The way the struggle of the Jedi is potrayed is flawless and reminded me of the problems religions have in our world. Even the minor characters like Kyle Katarn and Dahlla realy add depth to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Great read

    Ok in this review I want to say some things I really wish I knew before reading this book. First: before reading, read the legacy of the force series FIRST. The storyline is a little confusing if you have not read legacy of the force. Second: this book is not long. Roughly 300 pages. Also to the reviewer who said there was too much politics in this book, not true! There was a bit in the beginning but phantom menace had more. Third: this book rocks!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Speechless...

    This is so epic! Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Loooooooong

    This book is a very long book but so far its a rocket

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Star wars

    This was a ok read it did not have much of a story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    THE KICKOFF OF YHE BEST SERIES EVER THIS BOOK RULE BETTER THAN OMEN EVEN AND FULL OF ACTION !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    a great way to start a new book series

    awesome from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is going to be amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    a great way to start a new book series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Very good book

    They should make 21 movies on the yuzahn vong !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    This has been a very entertaining read, but I don't think I would have bought it at full price. If it's going to cost more than the physical book, I may as well just buy that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Star Wars: Fate of the jedi: Outcast

    Splendid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Well written and Interesting

    I've been a Star Wars fan forever (well Ok since I first saw the tv spots in '76) and have read most of the books written since then. While I'm relucant to say anything negative about Star Wars, there have been instances where you just have to say "What were they thinking?" ie Jar Jar Binks. As for this book, I don't have this problem. Although I'm still working my way through the middle portion of the book (I'm reading it on my lunch break so I don't get very far per day), I've found it interesting and well written. I won't reveal any spoilers but I enjoy the different perspective to things (at least in my mind) while retaining that "Star Wars" feel to it. I can't wait to get into other books to see what other surprises await Luke and the Jedi Order! 2 thumbs way up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    An e-book at twenty dollars is profiteering

    plain and simple.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    Here we go on another adventure.........

    I couldn't wait for this new book to come out! I have thoroughly enjoyed it and am excited for the other books to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting opening for new series

    After reading all of the legacy of the force series I had expected a sharper and more well written opening and was dissapointed but in the end the book became a good read. Allston must of had a few off days writing but in the end it turned out ok. B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to the series

    I found this book used at our local book store and decided to pick it up. After I read the first 50 pages I couldn't put it down. It's an amazing book and recommended for any Star Wars fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    Plot was pretty good

    For us older Star War's fans the characters were a plus. It's nice having the familiar characters but adding new ones to keep the book interesting. The book flowed and read well. It kept my interest, but not like the New Jedi Order books. Those were the most thrilling of all I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Familiar characters, a different direction...

    It's good to see a star wars novel that isn't focused on galactic warfare or civil war for a change. Outcast focuses on the aftermath of the previous civil war with Jacen Solo as a sith lord in command of the new republic. Luke Skywalker and his son must find Jacen's path that led him to his destiny as a sith lord while the rest of the jedi order deals with a galactic republic that is quickly turning against them. What I liked the most about this book was that the legal and political posturing between the jedi and the new republic leadership that could have been taken from our headlines today, which makes it easier to relate with the jedi. The sub plot with Han and Leia on Kessel was a bit corny and, I thought, unnecessary since it isn't clear now what relevance it has with the larger story, but otherwise it was a great book that read well with good visuals and action through out. As the father of a teenager I enjoyed the banter between Luke and his son through out the book. I can't wait to see what the sequel "Omen" has in store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A very adequately written, thrilling knvel that explores the journey of Jacen Solo into the Lord of the Sith, Darth Caedus!

    This book was written by aaron Alston who is very good at writing well plot driven novels, though ones without real space action, or very well developed lightsaber duels, however he makes up for this, by writing a very thrilling novel which involves the Exile of Luke Skywalker from Coruscant. He gave us a glimpse into the Judical System of the Galactic Alliance, allowing us to peer into what the government makeup of the GA really is.

    As Luke Skywalker is exiled, and the famed Jedi Grand Master leaves with his son to the farthest of stars, they will begin a renown, epicquest to uncover the truth of Jacen Solo, and desperately seek where the former Jedi Knight began his dark ascention to the title of Sith, and claim the throne as the new Dark Lord of the Sith.

    Along this journey, Luke and Ben will discover peril, uncover secrets, and complete the very firstleg of their journey, where they will be tested against a Dark Side cult known as The Hidden Ones. However, on Coruscant, peril is far from lost, as the Jedi Order compromises with the GA CHeif of State Daala, and begins its first step in compromising it's princpals and freedom. As each chapter unfolds, as each page is turned, and as each word is read, the Jedi Order will face alienation from the very people that they are trying to protect.

    As all of this transpires, two Jedi Knights begin their journey toinsanity, as they become the victim of a mental meltdown, one is captured, the other headed to Coruscant to free his Jedi brother.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Book Review

    Great reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14