Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Fate of the Jedi #1: Outcast

Average Rating 4.5
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Destiny of a Galaxy, the Fate of the Jedi Order...

It is approximately three to four years following the death of Darth Caedus, formerly known as the Jedi Jacen Solo, at the hands of his sister, Jaina Solo. While Jacen's parents, Han and Leia, struggle to maintain stability and restore their ravaged senses by raising J...
It is approximately three to four years following the death of Darth Caedus, formerly known as the Jedi Jacen Solo, at the hands of his sister, Jaina Solo. While Jacen's parents, Han and Leia, struggle to maintain stability and restore their ravaged senses by raising Jacen's young daughter, Allana, who has already brushed against the dark side of the Force, as a normal child, the Galactic Alliance is anything but stable.

A part of the agreement which ended the Second Galactic Civil War installed Admiral Dalaa, a former Imperial, as Chief of State, and mandated that the Mandalorians be made her elite guards, replacing the Red Guards and effectively condoning their negative actions. Dalaa is notoriously prejudiced against the Jedi, and has ordered the arrest of Luke Skywalker for extreme negligance in permitting Jacen Solo to turn to the dark side and instigate his reign of terror upon the galaxy. Luke, realizing that the galaxy is already in dangerously volatile from civil war and the Yuuzhan Vong Invasion, turns himself in to the GA governmental powers. Dalaa declares that Skywalker, Grand Master of the Jedi Order, must place himself involuntary exile, or the Jedi Order as a whole will be disbanded. Luke agrees, and he and his son, Ben Skywalker, now a Jedi Knight, set forth on an expedition to discover what led Jacen Solo, once a kind-hearted, tree-hugging young boy, to enslave himself to the dark side of the Force.

Their search leads them to the Baron Do initiates, a group of Force-sensitive Kel Dors with unusual Force capabilities. Simultaneously, Seff Hellin and Valin Horn, son of Corran Horn, both young Jedi Knights, have inexplicably come under the influence of a dark power which the servants of the light have never seen before.

Fate of the Jedi promises to be an extraordinary adventure which leaves me panting for March '09 and the release of Exile. Exile will be followed by Omen and Abyss later in 2009. You know, traditionally, in Star Wars, "fate" is essentially a bad word. "Fate" means a whole bunch of grief then a stunning, shocking, somewhat unfair but kind of fitting conclusion. "Destiny," on the other hand, means a long ordeal with lots of close calls but nothing terrible really occurring, and a haphazard ending that leaves you hungering for more.

But after the blatant cliffhanger at the end of the Legacy of the Force series, I am starving for the next installment in the Star Wars saga. May the Force be with you!

posted by Qui-GonReborn on November 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Bad to Terrible

Ive been a star wars buff since I saw the first movie when i was in my 20s. This book is, by far, terrible, boring, and the opposite of a page turner. In fact, if there is a bright spot in the galaxy, this book is the furthest point from it. A total waste of money. B...
Ive been a star wars buff since I saw the first movie when i was in my 20s. This book is, by far, terrible, boring, and the opposite of a page turner. In fact, if there is a bright spot in the galaxy, this book is the furthest point from it. A total waste of money. Boring and predictable plot, uninspiring characters, and meaningless. I actually found myself fast forwarding through pages, especially the Han Leia stuff at Lando's Kessel mining company. Dont waste ur time or money. Just wait to see what they come with next.

posted by Dapper505 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is Going to Be Good Series

    I really liked Outcast. I cannot wait for the next book to come out. I know this will be a good series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Destiny of a Galaxy, the Fate of the Jedi Order...

    It is approximately three to four years following the death of Darth Caedus, formerly known as the Jedi Jacen Solo, at the hands of his sister, Jaina Solo. While Jacen's parents, Han and Leia, struggle to maintain stability and restore their ravaged senses by raising Jacen's young daughter, Allana, who has already brushed against the dark side of the Force, as a normal child, the Galactic Alliance is anything but stable.<BR/><BR/>A part of the agreement which ended the Second Galactic Civil War installed Admiral Dalaa, a former Imperial, as Chief of State, and mandated that the Mandalorians be made her elite guards, replacing the Red Guards and effectively condoning their negative actions. Dalaa is notoriously prejudiced against the Jedi, and has ordered the arrest of Luke Skywalker for extreme negligance in permitting Jacen Solo to turn to the dark side and instigate his reign of terror upon the galaxy. Luke, realizing that the galaxy is already in dangerously volatile from civil war and the Yuuzhan Vong Invasion, turns himself in to the GA governmental powers. Dalaa declares that Skywalker, Grand Master of the Jedi Order, must place himself involuntary exile, or the Jedi Order as a whole will be disbanded. Luke agrees, and he and his son, Ben Skywalker, now a Jedi Knight, set forth on an expedition to discover what led Jacen Solo, once a kind-hearted, tree-hugging young boy, to enslave himself to the dark side of the Force.<BR/><BR/>Their search leads them to the Baron Do initiates, a group of Force-sensitive Kel Dors with unusual Force capabilities. Simultaneously, Seff Hellin and Valin Horn, son of Corran Horn, both young Jedi Knights, have inexplicably come under the influence of a dark power which the servants of the light have never seen before.<BR/><BR/>Fate of the Jedi promises to be an extraordinary adventure which leaves me panting for March '09 and the release of Exile. Exile will be followed by Omen and Abyss later in 2009. You know, traditionally, in Star Wars, "fate" is essentially a bad word. "Fate" means a whole bunch of grief then a stunning, shocking, somewhat unfair but kind of fitting conclusion. "Destiny," on the other hand, means a long ordeal with lots of close calls but nothing terrible really occurring, and a haphazard ending that leaves you hungering for more.<BR/><BR/>But after the blatant cliffhanger at the end of the Legacy of the Force series, I am starving for the next installment in the Star Wars saga. May the Force be with you!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bad to Terrible

    Ive been a star wars buff since I saw the first movie when i was in my 20s. This book is, by far, terrible, boring, and the opposite of a page turner. In fact, if there is a bright spot in the galaxy, this book is the furthest point from it. A total waste of money. Boring and predictable plot, uninspiring characters, and meaningless. I actually found myself fast forwarding through pages, especially the Han Leia stuff at Lando's Kessel mining company. Dont waste ur time or money. Just wait to see what they come with next.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    one of the better Star War entries

    The politicians are meeting in a summit on the planet Coruscant to discuss bringing the Imperial Remnant into the Galactic Alliance. Luke Skywalker is arrested at the instigation of Chief of Sate Natasi Dalaa for dereliction of duties. His protégé Jacen Solo turned to the dark side of the force and caused the Second Galactic Civil War when he became Darth Caedus. Dalaa wants to prosecute Luke for his failure to recognize Jacen¿s turn to the dark because he believes Luke is accountable for the deaths caused by the war.<BR/><BR/>Luke pleads guilty because he knows the charges are true; he is excommunicated from every Jedi Temple and Coruscant for ten years. He will be pardoned if he can learn what turned Jacen. Jedi Knight Valin Horn has a psychic break that makes him believe everyone he knows is an imposter. The media captures his rampage and the public turns against the Jedi Order leading to restrictions on them. Han Solo, his wife Leia and their granddaughter go to the dying planet Kessel to find out why earthquakes are out of control; they find an underground tunnel complex filled with machines and energy forces that could destroy the orb. Luke and his son Jedi Knight Ben go to Dorin where Jacen studied the native use of the Force hoping to find a clue.<BR/><BR/>This is the opening act of a nine book saga in which the Jedi have fallen into disgrace as the government and the public believe they are not held accountable for their actions. There is plenty of action and the known characters stay true to their film personalities. Perhaps the only negative is eight books to go in this arc, but if they are anything like the first this will be one of the better Star War entries.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    Great series opener.

    Another great opening book to a series. It was awesome to see old and new characters. It begins fast paced and slows down a little, but remember there is a long way to go. Can not wait. In the mean time, try "Millenium Falcon" to find out about the character Seff, who is also in this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    AWESOME

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It doesn't have the normal action known to Star Wars. Luke and Ben are great and develop a great bond between father and son. Han and Leia don't do anything important but very comical. Overall a great book eith a very intersting storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Listen

    This was my first adventure into Star Wars audiobook listening and was pleasantly surprised. First, the book was unabridged and read by an excellent narrator who provided the necessary level of characterization. Second, the producers took the time to add Star Wars sound effects, lending to the audiobook's entertainment. Third, the price was close to right. I spend a tremendous amount of time on the road and agonize over which books are worth the expenditure (audiobooks are not cheap, and it is hard to find good rents). This book was reasonably priced at Barnes and Noble Online, especially when coupled with the bi-weekly member's discount. Overall, this was a very good deal for me. I will likely continue with the series because it has an interesting storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    YAY

    As an avid star wars fan, i was very disapointed with the Millenium Falcon (the book before this one) so i was very excited when i finished this one. As usual, Aaron Allston did a great job continuing the star wars legacy. it can be hard to find new plots for a series with over a hundred books, but he managed so good job

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    A further step into the Legacy of the Jedi

    Quick-paced and highly entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    A Yawn A Minute!

    This book is shamefully boring. There have been much better Star Wars books in the past, including by the same author. I don't get it? Did he just throw this together on the spur of the moment? It's just plain awful!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating opening book of the Fate of the Jedi series.

    Star Wars is a unique beast, it is also an amzing one. Star Wars is best descriped by Elaine Cunningham "It's an adventure story with a fantasy heart and a science fiction wardrobe". That is why I think it works so well and why it still enjoys major main stream success. The Star Wars books are a great example of franchise books done correctly, with love for the universe and the charcters that call it home. This first book of the Fate of the Jedi series is no different. It's the first part of a new nine book series and it draws upon the enourmous cast of characters that has been built up across all the narrative forms of the franchise; the films, books, comics and games and tells a really good tale. Outcast picks up two years after the conclusion of Legacy of the Force: Invincible and deals with the fallout for the Jedi Order after Jacen Solo's brief but devastating stint as a Sith Lord. It has great humor balanced with action plus a fascinating mystery plot. It hooked me from the first page and just like with the previous series Legacy of the Force I simply can not wait to read the next book. I highly recommend this book to fans of Star Wars books and those wanting a good adventure story in general.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Stars Wars - Return of the Tooth Fairy

    I decided to re-edit this review. It wasn't fair to the author who is a decent writer. He's only doing what he is paid to do. My problem is with Star Wars itself! This FANTASY in which characters with god-like powers who can not kill off their enemies by the use of the "force" from far remote distances or find traitors by mere feelings through thought has gotten a little more than far-fetched. This book is a chronicle about how they can defy their own so-called abilities. Either that or they're complete idiots by not doing this. Simply put, the story "can't hold water". It merely reads like a very bad soap opera or a nursery tale for children, which changes little from one book to the next.

    Wouldn't it make sense that weapontry and sensing devices be so exotic in this time period to render Jedi Knights comletely obsolete and useless? Or if Jedi Knights are so mentally and spiritually developed, why would they need any technical devices for assistance at all? And using a laser sword against a laser blaster is so dumb! If you don't think so, try using a samuri sword against opponent with an AK47. I like see how that turns out.


    Another thing, any form of laser by that time would be consider perhaps ancient equipment. Star Wars seems to be stuck technology wise, never changing. Think about it, how fast has technology increased from the flight of the Wright Brothers to now? If you can travel across the galaxcy, wouldn't you also have weapons so devasting (like using anti-matter or other exotic materials and delivery systems), where as a single fighter-type craft can destroy a complete solar system. And wouldn't any real evil enemy not hesitate to use this as well as highly trained assassins who are professionals in killing Jedi Knights and any other biolological being threat?


    I have had it with Star Wars and its stupidity! This book was the final straw. This is why I like Star Trek, Babylon 5, Dr Who, and their equals, because they reside in logic, rational thought, and challenge the mind in conceiving new a new tomorrow. With Star Wars, it's like believing in the tooth fairy! One would be better off memorizing Harry Potter spells than reading this crap.

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    In my opinion, this was the perfect start to what I'm sure will

    In my opinion, this was the perfect start to what I'm sure will e an amazing series! The writing style is extensive as you look from each characters perspective. You get to know new characters as well as enjoy the continuation of old but beloved characters as well! Wonderfully Written! Wonderfully enjoyable!! WOW!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Very good!

    I really enjoyed this book and the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Jedi Enclave - Courtyard

    A place where Jedi can train and meditate among the grasslands of Dantooine. They are is often swarmed by Kath Hounds, though. Be vigilant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Sssssssssssssssssseeeeeeeeeeeee yyyyyyyyyyyyaaaaaaaaaa

    NO STORY LINE WHATDOEVER, do not read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    You better read this book!!

    Its based aproximitley 40 years after episode 6

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    ............

    Awsome book! Can't wait to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Good book

    Im not throw the book yet but i think its a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    GOod story

    I enjoy the story it was a good read I read it within a day it was so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14