Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Fate of the Jedi #1: Outcast

Average Rating 4.5
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is Going to Be Good Series

I really liked Outcast. I cannot wait for the next book to come out. I know this will be a good series.

posted by Maitrakh on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Bad to Terrible

Ive been a star wars buff since I saw the first movie when i was in my 20s. This book is, by far, terrible, boring, and the opposite of a page turner. In fact, if there is a bright spot in the galaxy, this book is the furthest point from it. A total waste of money. B...
Ive been a star wars buff since I saw the first movie when i was in my 20s. This book is, by far, terrible, boring, and the opposite of a page turner. In fact, if there is a bright spot in the galaxy, this book is the furthest point from it. A total waste of money. Boring and predictable plot, uninspiring characters, and meaningless. I actually found myself fast forwarding through pages, especially the Han Leia stuff at Lando's Kessel mining company. Dont waste ur time or money. Just wait to see what they come with next.

posted by Dapper505 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    Great series opener.

    Another great opening book to a series. It was awesome to see old and new characters. It begins fast paced and slows down a little, but remember there is a long way to go. Can not wait. In the mean time, try "Millenium Falcon" to find out about the character Seff, who is also in this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    YAY

    As an avid star wars fan, i was very disapointed with the Millenium Falcon (the book before this one) so i was very excited when i finished this one. As usual, Aaron Allston did a great job continuing the star wars legacy. it can be hard to find new plots for a series with over a hundred books, but he managed so good job

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    A further step into the Legacy of the Jedi

    Quick-paced and highly entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    GOod story

    I enjoy the story it was a good read I read it within a day it was so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Loooooooong

    This book is a very long book but so far its a rocket

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    This has been a very entertaining read, but I don't think I would have bought it at full price. If it's going to cost more than the physical book, I may as well just buy that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting opening for new series

    After reading all of the legacy of the force series I had expected a sharper and more well written opening and was dissapointed but in the end the book became a good read. Allston must of had a few off days writing but in the end it turned out ok. B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Familiar characters, a different direction...

    It's good to see a star wars novel that isn't focused on galactic warfare or civil war for a change. Outcast focuses on the aftermath of the previous civil war with Jacen Solo as a sith lord in command of the new republic. Luke Skywalker and his son must find Jacen's path that led him to his destiny as a sith lord while the rest of the jedi order deals with a galactic republic that is quickly turning against them. What I liked the most about this book was that the legal and political posturing between the jedi and the new republic leadership that could have been taken from our headlines today, which makes it easier to relate with the jedi. The sub plot with Han and Leia on Kessel was a bit corny and, I thought, unnecessary since it isn't clear now what relevance it has with the larger story, but otherwise it was a great book that read well with good visuals and action through out. As the father of a teenager I enjoyed the banter between Luke and his son through out the book. I can't wait to see what the sequel "Omen" has in store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A very adequately written, thrilling knvel that explores the journey of Jacen Solo into the Lord of the Sith, Darth Caedus!

    This book was written by aaron Alston who is very good at writing well plot driven novels, though ones without real space action, or very well developed lightsaber duels, however he makes up for this, by writing a very thrilling novel which involves the Exile of Luke Skywalker from Coruscant. He gave us a glimpse into the Judical System of the Galactic Alliance, allowing us to peer into what the government makeup of the GA really is.

    As Luke Skywalker is exiled, and the famed Jedi Grand Master leaves with his son to the farthest of stars, they will begin a renown, epicquest to uncover the truth of Jacen Solo, and desperately seek where the former Jedi Knight began his dark ascention to the title of Sith, and claim the throne as the new Dark Lord of the Sith.

    Along this journey, Luke and Ben will discover peril, uncover secrets, and complete the very firstleg of their journey, where they will be tested against a Dark Side cult known as The Hidden Ones. However, on Coruscant, peril is far from lost, as the Jedi Order compromises with the GA CHeif of State Daala, and begins its first step in compromising it's princpals and freedom. As each chapter unfolds, as each page is turned, and as each word is read, the Jedi Order will face alienation from the very people that they are trying to protect.

    As all of this transpires, two Jedi Knights begin their journey toinsanity, as they become the victim of a mental meltdown, one is captured, the other headed to Coruscant to free his Jedi brother.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    another great book in the star wars series

    if you like star wars this is another adventure in the lives of our favorite chractures!! i was glued to it til the last word and it left me waiting for the next book in the series.. a keeper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Star Wars Series Begins

    If you've been along for the wild rides of The New Jedi Order and Legacy of the Jedi, then you recognize the recent trends in Star Wars books towards large, multi-book storylines involving a central theme. When these series are written by many authors (like The New Jedi Order), there can be some very tangible stylistic differences. When a series is kept to only a few authors working closely together (like Legacy of the Force), then the storyline is much tighter, the characters more consistent, and the over-all reading experience is a bit more pleasant. Outcast sets the stage for the latter, being written by an alumnus of the last major series (ad those wonderfully fun X-Wings books). The characterizations of Luke, Ben, and the Solo's are right on. For those without advanced degrees of continuity knowledge, I still believe this would be an enjoyable read. Buy this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Setting the stage.

    A really good introduction into what is coming. I found myself really enjoying the Ben and Luke sections and kinda dreading the Han, Leia, Allana, Lando etc sections. I always have liked reading about Ben (I swear he is going to be a master by 25) and so was not dissapointed by what I found in this book. In alot of cases Luke just sat back and let Ben take the reins. As I said though the other half of the book was kind of dissapointing. The collection of characters promised more excitment than was delivered. But again this is just the introduction, what happened for these characters may be boring now but the continuation of it in the next couple books is sure to be exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The beginning of a great ride (?)

    This book is the beginning of a new series of Star Wars books set 43 years after Episode IV: A New Hope (the original 1977 movie). It starts off slow, with the intergalactic government known as the Galactic Alliance forcing Jedi Grand Master Luke Skywalker into exile. Blaming Luke for failing to prevent Jacen Solo's slide into the dark side and into the role of Darth Caedus before his death in the last Star Wars series. Unlike the starting book in the previous series, there are no large, set piece space battles or epic lightsaber duels. What Allston (and his two colleagues who will write other books in the series) seems to be doing is slowly building up the tension towards a dramatic conclusion at the end of the series. The authors also seem to be laying out all the arguments that others (like author Karen Traviss) have for not trusting the Jedi with such a great deal of authority in the galaxy. Hopefully they will be able to put to rest, once and for all, the argument that the Jedi shouldn't be trusted. Though it's a great start for a series, I feel like more could have been done. At the very least, Allston could have gone farther with the Kessel storyline or the Jedi Sef Hellin plot. Ultimately, I don't know where this is going, but it looks like the authors are going to take us for a great ride.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5