BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Fate of the Jedi #3: Abyss

Average Rating 4.5
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will relish the strong latest entry in the Fate of the Jedi.

    Tensions are rising to a dangerous feverish pitch on the planet Coruscant where the seat of power of the Galactic Alliance and the Jedi Temple are located. Increasingly at an epidemic rate Jedi Knights are falling prey to a strange illness that lead them into believing people they have known for years are actually doppelgangers. The Galactic Alliance Chief of State Natasi Daala wants the Jedi Order subservient to her government and Princess Leia and her husband Han Solo try to thwart her ambition.

    Still seeking the cause of Jacen Solo's downfall into the dark side of the force, Luke Skywalker and his son Ben head to Maw Cluster, a mysterious dangerous sector where the Force is very potent. They come upon a space station populated by the dead and the dying. The strongest of the living the Mind Walkers show the father and son team how to leave their bodies and travel to an orb strong with the Force to fond some of the answers they seek.. They know Jacen was in this sector and visited that orb before he became Darth Cadeouss, dictator of the Imperial Empire who killed millions in the civil war. The Skywalkers also fight a lost tribe of Sith who want them dead as a step towards regaining what they feel is their right to rule the galaxy.

    The third novel (see OMEN and OUTCAST) in this nine book Star Wars saga is an exciting tale as the story line moves forward on both major plots. The Maw segue is the more fascinating of the two as the worlds and people inside this sector provide a fresh element to the Luke Skywalker legend with readers wondering if he and his son will fall into an abyss that will lead them to the dark side of the Force. The Solo-Leia entry is also enjoyable though somewhat similar to past tales; as the pair and their daughter battle the ambitious ruler. Fans will relish the strong latest entry in the Fate of the Jedi.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I've fallen in love with this series. After I read Outcast I haven't been able to wait to get my hands on the next one. Abyss is a great read and it was very exciting and entertaining. Great way to keep the series going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    They really need to come out with these books a lot faster! Can't wait!

    Awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    thie is the best book of Fate of the Jedi so far Troy Denning is at the top of his game

    Abyss is beyond awesome. I think there is a war brewing between Daala and Jag Fel. I can see Galactic Civil War 3 coming, except this time the Galactic Alliance are the bad guys and the Galactic Empire are the good guys as weird as that sounds. The only question is whose side are the New Jedi Order going to be on? I really want to see Jaina Solo form the Imperial Knights from Star Wars Legacy, and it looks like this series is pushing her towards that which would be extremely cool in my opinion. It was nice to see Han and Leia Solo doing something useful in this series for the first time. I thought their part in Outcast and Omen was weak and a waste of time. That is not the case here and hopefully they continue to be important in the future. The Lost Sith Tribe is great and the new villainess that is introduced in this book is creepy and weird. Luke and Ben Skywalker seem to take a trip into the Twilight Zone in this book and along the way they meet a few dead relatives which is a very cool part of the book. There are some really well done battle scenes, with the highlight being a battle between the Skywalker family and some members of the Lost Sith Tribe. I was not a big fan of Vestara Kahi back in Omen, because she reminded me too much of Mara Jade Skywalker and being the Mara fan that I am. I did not like Vestara at all in Omen, but it was hard not to like her in Abyss. Vestara is awesome in Abyss and the girl can fight. I was impressed by her here. Luke Skywalker was awesome as always, and displays once again why he is the best Jedi in the galaxy. I also like what he has planed for his son Ben which is cool and fitting I think. I just can't wait for Backlash. I wish it was coming out sooner because Abyss left me begging for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    I missed you, Anakin!

    My favorite part by far was when Luke and Ben were talking to Anakin, Mara, and Jacen in the Lake of Apparations. It was awesome when Jacen said he forgave Jaina and Ben just lost it. Go, Ben! You tell that nerf-brain!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Nar Shaddaa - Exchange Headquarters

    The exchange is a group of bounty hunters. You can come here and post a bounty on someone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Dragonpaw

    * She screeched to a halt as she reached the rushing stream. While she hastily lapped up the water with her rough pink tounge she heard a rustling noise. It wasn't Honeyleaf coming to scold her, it was prey running in the distance. A wind ruffled her soft grey fur. Maybe, if she hurried she could catch it. That would impress master Berrypaw and the other kittens. She had two choices, go back to camp and not get scolded again or go off and have an adventure. Another wind blew and off she went to find that prey. As she dashed across the forest however she wasn't paying attentention to where she was going, she was thinking how proud her mother would be when she came home with a plump rat in her teeth. They would celabrate and have that rat for supper. Oh,and how proud her father and her... Crash! She went tumbling down the hill and into a ditch. And that little plump rat went scurrying past. Zoom! She dashed toward it and , Clench! She had it tightly gripped in her jaw. When she got home all muddy but proud, she had been right they did have that rat for supper.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    A good read

    I liked the book,I think they protreyed the characters in the right way; Jag and Jaina's relationship was okay, Mr Denning did a good job with Anakin Solo's character; showing Anakin at the ale means he can not be brought back which makes me sad Good father-son bonding between Lukeand Ben Skywalker the book is a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Interesting direction

    This series is taking the Jedi into a very interesting direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    '

    ,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Buy the other copy

    This one has missing letters as it was obviously scanned in from the book and the OCR did a poor job with many words and names. There are at least 3 errors on the first page alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    If you

    If you're smart, you'll buy the cheaper one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A good continuation of a great series

    Troy Denning does a good job of continuing an already outstanding series. While Abyss was not as good as Outcast or Omen, it is still a very srong entry, with, once again, more secrets revealed and more mysteries introduced. The Coruscant storyline was a bit dull, but the continuation of Luke and Ben's quest, the new dynamic of the realm known as "beyond shadows", and the thrilling climax of the novel more than makes up for it. All in all, a solid continuation of a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    The best one so far

    I wish all if the Star Wars books were written this good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Simply the best SW book i have read

    the developing relationship between Luke and ben has got to be every Fans dream and it is done masterfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Abyss Is On The Wishlist

    I haven't bought Abyss yet but it seems like a good book. The overveiw is cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful read

    this book was a constant page turner i haven't read a star wars novel since high school and it brought back the excitement for adventure reading for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    It keeps getting better........

    I'll be quick about this book. Its great! Cool fighting scenes. Waiting for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Job by Denning

    This was a great job by Troy Denning. The folks producing the Fate of the Jedi audiobook productions again provided an entertaining, and even thrilling addition to the series. I was pleasantly surprised by this chapter in the Fate of the Jedi, and recommend it to anyone following Star Wars Legacy Era events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Whats with the crazy jedi

    I love star wars, but i don't understand the crazy jedi theme. That being said, this is the first book in the series that was pretty good because it has less jedi going crazy and more Sith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11