Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Fate of the Jedi #5: Allies

Average Rating 4.5
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

an exciting Star Wars entry

Jedi Grand Master Luke Skywalker and his son Jedi Knight Ben are on a mission to find out what turned Jacen Solo to the dark side of the Force. Accompanying them is Sith Apprentice Vestara Khai from the unknown Sith tribe on the planet Kesh. Luke and Ben are surrounded...
Jedi Grand Master Luke Skywalker and his son Jedi Knight Ben are on a mission to find out what turned Jacen Solo to the dark side of the Force. Accompanying them is Sith Apprentice Vestara Khai from the unknown Sith tribe on the planet Kesh. Luke and Ben are surrounded in space by a Sith armada that include Vestara's father. Shockingly, instead of killing the Skywalker pair and their crew, the Sith offers a temporary alliance. They want to go with Luke and company when they enter the Maw, an area of black holes and hostile space. They agree to a joint mission.

The Jedi who spent their childhood during the war at Shelter are going insane. The dark creature who lives in a black cluster in the Maw, Abeloth, is thought to somehow influence those losing their minds. The Sith have reasons of their own to find her. As they enter the Maw, back at Coruscant, the capital of the Galactic Alliance, Chief of State Natasi Daala continues her assault on the Jedi Order trying to turn them into outlaws or obedient to her governmental rule.

This is the middle book in a nine saga arc, but it remains an exciting Star Wars entry with a stunning twist as well as moving forward on the two overarching themes. Filled with the trademark action expected of a Star Wars thriller, Allies also contains an intriguing alliance between enemy combatants and an even more fascinating theme of slavery complete with rebels, underground railroads with conductors and a quasi organization located on planets where slavery is legal. Leia and Han are in minor but critical roles finding ways to break Daala's siege while also bringing needed humor to lighten the dark forces moving across the galaxy.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed the development of the story in this book, and the cre

I enjoyed the development of the story in this book, and the creativity she used, but there were a few errors that I just couldn't get over. For example: confusing the Chevs and Chevins for nearly 4 pages and interchanging the two species over and over. I found that I h...
I enjoyed the development of the story in this book, and the creativity she used, but there were a few errors that I just couldn't get over. For example: confusing the Chevs and Chevins for nearly 4 pages and interchanging the two species over and over. I found that I had trouble keeping track of which species was enslaved and which was the slave holders, due to her constantly switching it around. Also, she continuously misspelled Kyp Durron's name as Kyp Durran and Dyon Stadd as Dyon Stad. I was left wondering where the editing in this book went.

posted by 16047648 on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting Star Wars entry

    Jedi Grand Master Luke Skywalker and his son Jedi Knight Ben are on a mission to find out what turned Jacen Solo to the dark side of the Force. Accompanying them is Sith Apprentice Vestara Khai from the unknown Sith tribe on the planet Kesh. Luke and Ben are surrounded in space by a Sith armada that include Vestara's father. Shockingly, instead of killing the Skywalker pair and their crew, the Sith offers a temporary alliance. They want to go with Luke and company when they enter the Maw, an area of black holes and hostile space. They agree to a joint mission.

    The Jedi who spent their childhood during the war at Shelter are going insane. The dark creature who lives in a black cluster in the Maw, Abeloth, is thought to somehow influence those losing their minds. The Sith have reasons of their own to find her. As they enter the Maw, back at Coruscant, the capital of the Galactic Alliance, Chief of State Natasi Daala continues her assault on the Jedi Order trying to turn them into outlaws or obedient to her governmental rule.

    This is the middle book in a nine saga arc, but it remains an exciting Star Wars entry with a stunning twist as well as moving forward on the two overarching themes. Filled with the trademark action expected of a Star Wars thriller, Allies also contains an intriguing alliance between enemy combatants and an even more fascinating theme of slavery complete with rebels, underground railroads with conductors and a quasi organization located on planets where slavery is legal. Leia and Han are in minor but critical roles finding ways to break Daala's siege while also bringing needed humor to lighten the dark forces moving across the galaxy.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    I enjoyed the development of the story in this book, and the cre

    I enjoyed the development of the story in this book, and the creativity she used, but there were a few errors that I just couldn't get over. For example: confusing the Chevs and Chevins for nearly 4 pages and interchanging the two species over and over. I found that I had trouble keeping track of which species was enslaved and which was the slave holders, due to her constantly switching it around. Also, she continuously misspelled Kyp Durron's name as Kyp Durran and Dyon Stadd as Dyon Stad. I was left wondering where the editing in this book went.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Darth Azula

    This is my fave place in StarWars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Rose

    Sits outside the cantina.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Mandalore

    *Approaches the cantina.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good book

    Realy good book but a lot of spelling mistakes. For example, Bwua'tu was spelled three difrent ways on the same page, Bwua'tu, Bwa'tu, and Bwau'tu. Seems like that would be noticed. Also another thing i realy didn't like was all the swearing. There shouldn't be swearing in starwars! Other than that great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Dapplekit

    <_>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Fresh kill pile

    Phoenixstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    By far my faverit!!!!!!

    My fave just because it is by far the funniest and it is not as sad as the others such as the last on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great read

    Awesome!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    I think.....

    Its a great book....but i think some people wright bad reviews just cause they dont like star wars or one part of the book. So stop with the bad reviews people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Good but not quite great.

    Allies is a good Star Wars book that does a good job of advancing the plot for Fate of the Jedi. And while it does move from plot point to plot point pretty well it is lacking in the action area for a typical Star Wars book in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Star wars fate odf the jedi

    The star wars universe is by far the best fantasy universe ive ever read in to and with this series it gets better and better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Just gets better and better...

    THIS IS ONE OF THE BETTER IN THE STAR WARS SERIES?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Good, But finishes too much for a mid-series book

    The first thing I can say about this fifth book is that it's a reassuring size. The last one by Golden was a bit thinner than the rest of the series, but this one isn't. As for the story, it's much better than the first three in the series.

    As I often do, I'll start by discussing the characters, and in particular with my favourite character - Vestara. Vestara is a Sith apprentice, a bad guy by definition, but I find that I can't help but like her, can't help but want her plans to succeed. As in the previous book, we don't see an awful lot of scenes from her point of view, but if anything this makes her character more interesting, and the rare chapter that is from her perspective an exciting glimpse into her life.

    And one of the ways we get to explore Vestara is through Ben, and his interactions with her, which are both interesting and amusing. I must admit to really enjoying their scenes together. However, some of his moods and ideas about things switch rapidly and are often unexplained. However, this is much more true of Luke - quite a major character. He just seemed a bit too vague a character. One minute he hated the Sith, the next he was agreeing with them - even with strange ideas that I don't see why anyone would agree with. So it's a little strange that I found the other Sith in general to be quite good characters. None of them were as major characters as Luke, Ben or Vestara, but I felt that they were done really well - particularly the High Lord and Vestara's Father.

    This whole paragraph is a spoiler, so look away now if you don't want to know anything. Daala gets the Mandalorians to siege the Jedi Temple. As a political move, this is pretty silly. People kind of like the Jedi, and kind of dislike the Mandalorians. I can see why she want to do it for her own pet hate of the Jedi, but I always thought of her as more level headed than that.

    I'm not really liking the character that Daala is becoming, and the whole thing about the trials of Tahiri and Niathal are kind of tedious. it was interesting at first, and Tahiri's lawyer is an interesting character, but it just seems that it's going on for an awful long time. I don't mind reading it, it's not that bad, but I don't look forwards to those sections. I had been hoping it would have been cleared up by the end of this book, but it hasn't. In fact, it seems to be one of the few things that weren't.

    The ending seemed a bit strange to me. It all happened quite fast, but it felt like the story was pretty much over. There was still the trial as mentioned a moment ago, and a brief scene with two people pretending to be jedi which made no difference to the story but suggests another, but the main story arcs seem to have vanished. Except the characters disagree. I'm not really sure where the story can go from here.

    It was an improvement on the first three books, but not as good as the fourth. The main body of the book was good, and I really liked Vestara, but the ending was a bit too final. There's another four books to go, but not an awful lot of story to go with them. But it's made the series as a whole that little bit better, and it was fun to read - so if you don't mind a slow start, this series is looking better all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Skip this

    This author is no novice to be certain. She clearly has a writing style that I, for one, am not a fan of. I don't need to read 4 paragraphs on the details of a characters surroundings, what they smell, etc. TOO MUCH FILLER. The book is maybe 1/5 really about luke/ben and their allies. The sudden end of the book is akin to someone turning the lights off in the room you are reading in. I've heard the next book in the series is decent, but after this book, I am done with the series. A regretful purchase, to be sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    You were saying?

    Why are people calling Christie Golden a lousy writer? I fail to see what about this book makes it even remotely bad. Whoever is underrating Golden's writing abilities is obviously no literary critic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    asome!!

    i could't stop reading it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the best so far, but pretty good

    This novel was a good mix of epic science fiction battles, mystical discovery, and courtroom drama. However, there were some slow moments in the story so I can not give it my full endorsement. Eventhough this was not her best work, Christie Golden has done a terrific job in all of her outtings as a Star Wars writer and I hope she gets another chance to steer this story to a fitting conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    Mediocre at best...

    Story and plot were fine, but originality and writing style were not good. For the price of a hardcover book, they should have spent more time proofreading this story. Several terms were completely overused (Sword of the Jedi). Story was decent enough for me, but I wish we didn't have to wait almost 6 months for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14