Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Fate of the Jedi #6: Vortex

Average Rating 4
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend this book

I truly can't wait for these books to come out. I am enjoying the quality and the energy in this series of stories. Thank you to the wonderful writers that really understand these characters, the world they are in and for the enjoyment they bring as we get to share more...
I truly can't wait for these books to come out. I am enjoying the quality and the energy in this series of stories. Thank you to the wonderful writers that really understand these characters, the world they are in and for the enjoyment they bring as we get to share more time with "Old Friends". I read this book in 2 days, couldn't put it down on my shiny new NOOK.

posted by alwaysreadingJV on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Too Expensive

eBooks should be at MINIMUM what a paperback would cost. Sorry, but this stinks. Does Amazon have a deal w/ the publisher to get a proper price? Why can't you?

Update: Just noticed on Amazon, on a different book they have "This price was set by the publisher". You sh...
eBooks should be at MINIMUM what a paperback would cost. Sorry, but this stinks. Does Amazon have a deal w/ the publisher to get a proper price? Why can't you?

Update: Just noticed on Amazon, on a different book they have "This price was set by the publisher". You should start using that if this isn't your fault B&N.

posted by dukeofcrydee on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 328 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    You're being robbed!!! The cover isn't even justified in the storyline!

    The story spiral leaves me wondering how insane I must be to keep buying short story chapter books with the impression that they are anything more. While the series is entertaining, I find myself asking why is this trio of authors continues to nickel and dime their way through a transparent storyline. Those of us foolish enough to pay $15 for short stories inevitably paying 9X the value of the story, are just as culpable for this literary tragedy. If I were a bit less OCD, I would drop this nonsense rather than reinforce this near criminal exploitation of great characters and storyline in the pursuit of our hard earned $$$.
    Simply put if you read the previous books in the series, you already know what happens in this short blip. You also know that exactly how this series will, without exception, progress. Save yourself $30 and read the finale. You will have missed nothing! Perhaps with enough criticism, they will hire a writer to actually pen a complete novel rather than a two year long short story! Then again how could they justify charging @ $90 for a single story the way they have with FOTJ!?!

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Too Expensive

    eBooks should be at MINIMUM what a paperback would cost. Sorry, but this stinks. Does Amazon have a deal w/ the publisher to get a proper price? Why can't you?

    Update: Just noticed on Amazon, on a different book they have "This price was set by the publisher". You should start using that if this isn't your fault B&N.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Vortex is an action packed and fun ride from begining to end

    I loved Vortex. This is easily the best book in the series with Troy's last book Abyss being a close second. The Skywalker family/Lost Sith Tribe storyline is still the main storyline here but the Coruscant storyline finally picks up in this book. I am not the biggest fan of the Jedi Council but it is nice to see them do something for once and I actually enjoyed their part of the book for once. Saba Sabatyne plays a huge role in this book and I wonder where this will lead as we come up on the home stretch of this series. I was not happy with what happened with Jaina Solo last book, and I am still wondering what is going to happen with her, which kind of sucks because, I was a big fan of her during the New Jedi Order series. Unlike her cousin Ben Skywalker who has been developing into a great character in his own right. Jaina Solo is still stuck where she has been since the Unifying Force, which is a shame. I loved seeing Booster Terrik return for the first time since Legacy of the Force Exile. He is awesome in this book. Tahri Velia's part of the book does not change too much so those who liked it in Allies will like it here too. Daala finally shows herself to be the villain I remember from the Jedi Academy Trilogy and it was nice to finally see her true colors come out. Jagged Fel plays a small but important role in this book and I can't wait to see where the Empires part of this story goes in the last three books. The slave storyline that was started in Allies is actually handled much better in this book, and I actually liked what Troy did with it in Vortex. Han Solo was cool to and his fan base should love him in this book. Troy writes a great Luke Skywalker and that does not change in Vortex. The alliance between the Skywalker family and the Lost Sith Tribe is appropriately tense, and I actually felt like the Sith were more paranoid then the Skywalkers which is ironic since the Sith have the numbers in this alliance. I loved how Luke treated the Sith it was great stuff. The mystery surrounding the creature known as Abeloth is very creepy and interesting. I both loved and hated the Ben/Vestara storyline from the last book. I felt like it was shoved down my throat. I am pleased to say that this particular storyline like the slave storyline is much better in this book, though I did get an Heir to the Empire vibe from this book, when reading Ben and Vestara's part of the book, especially when reading one of their early scenes but their part was still very fun to read. Ben Skywalker's personality mirrors his mother's but I was also reminded that Luke is very much in there too. Ben shows some of his father's traits in this book. Troy's take on Vestara Khai is my favorite of the three authors so far. Vestara is a fun character even if she does remind me of another member of the Skywalker family that I know all too well. Vestara is still fun to read about and she makes some choices in this book that I found surprising, and I am looking forward to seeing what happens with her next. Vortex is great when it comes to action the Lighsabers come out early and often in this book, matter of fact I would say this book has more Lightsaber duels then I can remember in any other Star Wars book in recent memory. This book easily has a lot more action then Allies did, and I loved all the battles and there were some very memorable moments in this book. This is a great read and it should not be missed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Highly Recommend this book

    I truly can't wait for these books to come out. I am enjoying the quality and the energy in this series of stories. Thank you to the wonderful writers that really understand these characters, the world they are in and for the enjoyment they bring as we get to share more time with "Old Friends". I read this book in 2 days, couldn't put it down on my shiny new NOOK.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pricing :(

    I am eagerly awaiting this volume - I think this series has several storylines that can be salvaged. The Luke/Ben quest has been a real winner, and as contrived as the reemergence of the Sith following Jacen's downfall has been - I have enjoyed the interplay between the Jedi/Sith.

    ...BUT... I will not buy for $14.85. Assuming it costs a couple of bucks to print/distribute the hardcover, the eBook should be at MOST $12. And even then, for a series like this that seems expensive. (Amazon has a Kindle edition for $6.29)

    I've been impressed thus far with B&N's price-matching with Amazon - B&N seems to watch Amazon's prices (and vice versa) - so the price of eBooks rarely differ by much (especially bestseller novels) between the two. Would love is someone could unlock the Android potential of Nook and create a Kindle reader application for Nook. That would be KILLER.

    That having been said - I have faith that the price of this eBook will fall to ~$7 by the end of the week. Competition! Come on, B&N - don;t make me regret choosing Nook over Kindle.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Great sci fi and some of the better Star Wars action

    I have grown to love the characters in Fate of the Jedi. This is among the best book in the series so far. It is always nice to see what the jedi can do when their backs are against the wall. Luke and Ben find a foe that is a real challenge with some very good action that keeps you reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    SW Vortex

    I am really enjoying this whole series. Love all the old and new characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    bah hum bug

    i just finished this book recently and thus far it really seems to be going in a different path than previous books. i am finding it difficult to actually gain an understanding of just what kind of 'ancient being' this abeloth character is and how this persona is affecting the mental state of so many young jedin knights. although i have enjoyed reading several other books in this series i am beginning to contemplate the idea that once the last book has been published and i have read it this may be last series that i read. these 3 particular authors just don't seem to bring enough excitement to the characters any more and it affects the whole enjoyment of reading these books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The newest entry in the nine-book saga "Fate of the Jedi" is a pivotal tale

    In a remote planet in the Maw Cluster, the Sith believe they have trapped the father and son Jedi Knights Luke and Ben Skywalker. However, before the final confrontation, both sides find a greater threat from a third party. The Abeloth forces the enemies into an unholy alliance between the Skywalker pair and the Sith to survive the menace; not knowing if they survive something even more beastly awaits them on the moon of Pydyr, home to the brutal Fallamassi.

    Meanwhile on Coruscant, Han and Leia Solo are in the middle of the growing divisiveness between the Jedi Order and the brutal leader of the Galactic Alliance. Civil war seems increasingly inevitable as the Solo couple tries to negotiate a more peaceful solution.

    The newest entry in the nine-book saga "Fate of the Jedi" is a pivotal tale as the overarching story line takes a fresh, exciting and unexpected twist as new developments lead to strange surviving bedfellows and convoluted complications. Fast-paced, both enjoyable subplots continue the woes of the Skywalker duo and the Solo clan with terrific revolutionary spins that will delight Star War fans.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    cool!!!!

    lots of cool new charicters

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The pace picks up in this one

    All of the storylines in this novel take interesting and exciting turns. There is Jedi-infighting, the trial has some great twists, Luke has to not only outfight his enemies- he has to outwit them as well. This is the most exciting novel in the Fate of the Jedi series so far. I can't wait to see how it all ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Great Read

    Vortex is a great continuation of the series. Highly recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Vortex: On The List

    I've read the overveiw and Vortex seems okay. And by okay I mean SUPER.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Dxun - Ancient Ruins

    These ruins are the home of the Mandalorian clan Ordo. Among the compound are weapon shops, armor shops, a fight pit, a training ground, and Mandalore's command center. This area is generally safe from external forces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Kate

    I cry on the couch!!:***(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Vortex

    Follow her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    dumbledore dies at the end

    dumbledore dies at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Critique of the FORMAT, not the BOOK!

    Do not be fooled into buying this cheaper edition. The formatting is horrible to the point of distraction. If you really want it, spend the extra bucks for the other Nook edition. You've been warned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    recommended...

    Well written. Holds you attention. Has a lot going on all @ the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Mostly good.

    It was good overall, but why does the explanation of what Abeloth is have to be so VAGUE? I would like to get a little more specific than 'she is some kind of THING'. Ben and Vestara? Interesting twist, but I kind of saw it coming the moment she popped up in Omen. Should be interesting to see how it turns out (as if we didn't already know). Oh, and those of you who claim Troy Denning is a lousy writer? You should try actually reading the books, because you apparently haven't if you think they are bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 328 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17