Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Fate of the Jedi #6: Vortex

Average Rating 4
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Pricing :(

I am eagerly awaiting this volume - I think this series has several storylines that can be salvaged. The Luke/Ben quest has been a real winner, and as contrived as the reemergence of the Sith following Jacen's downfall has been - I have enjoyed the interplay between th...
I am eagerly awaiting this volume - I think this series has several storylines that can be salvaged. The Luke/Ben quest has been a real winner, and as contrived as the reemergence of the Sith following Jacen's downfall has been - I have enjoyed the interplay between the Jedi/Sith.

...BUT... I will not buy for $14.85. Assuming it costs a couple of bucks to print/distribute the hardcover, the eBook should be at MOST $12. And even then, for a series like this that seems expensive. (Amazon has a Kindle edition for $6.29)

I've been impressed thus far with B&N's price-matching with Amazon - B&N seems to watch Amazon's prices (and vice versa) - so the price of eBooks rarely differ by much (especially bestseller novels) between the two. Would love is someone could unlock the Android potential of Nook and create a Kindle reader application for Nook. That would be KILLER.

That having been said - I have faith that the price of this eBook will fall to ~$7 by the end of the week. Competition! Come on, B&N - don;t make me regret choosing Nook over Kindle.

posted by jediian7 on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Too Expensive

eBooks should be at MINIMUM what a paperback would cost. Sorry, but this stinks. Does Amazon have a deal w/ the publisher to get a proper price? Why can't you?

Update: Just noticed on Amazon, on a different book they have "This price was set by the publisher". You sh...
eBooks should be at MINIMUM what a paperback would cost. Sorry, but this stinks. Does Amazon have a deal w/ the publisher to get a proper price? Why can't you?

Update: Just noticed on Amazon, on a different book they have "This price was set by the publisher". You should start using that if this isn't your fault B&N.

posted by dukeofcrydee on November 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Vortex is an action packed and fun ride from begining to end

    I loved Vortex. This is easily the best book in the series with Troy's last book Abyss being a close second. The Skywalker family/Lost Sith Tribe storyline is still the main storyline here but the Coruscant storyline finally picks up in this book. I am not the biggest fan of the Jedi Council but it is nice to see them do something for once and I actually enjoyed their part of the book for once. Saba Sabatyne plays a huge role in this book and I wonder where this will lead as we come up on the home stretch of this series. I was not happy with what happened with Jaina Solo last book, and I am still wondering what is going to happen with her, which kind of sucks because, I was a big fan of her during the New Jedi Order series. Unlike her cousin Ben Skywalker who has been developing into a great character in his own right. Jaina Solo is still stuck where she has been since the Unifying Force, which is a shame. I loved seeing Booster Terrik return for the first time since Legacy of the Force Exile. He is awesome in this book. Tahri Velia's part of the book does not change too much so those who liked it in Allies will like it here too. Daala finally shows herself to be the villain I remember from the Jedi Academy Trilogy and it was nice to finally see her true colors come out. Jagged Fel plays a small but important role in this book and I can't wait to see where the Empires part of this story goes in the last three books. The slave storyline that was started in Allies is actually handled much better in this book, and I actually liked what Troy did with it in Vortex. Han Solo was cool to and his fan base should love him in this book. Troy writes a great Luke Skywalker and that does not change in Vortex. The alliance between the Skywalker family and the Lost Sith Tribe is appropriately tense, and I actually felt like the Sith were more paranoid then the Skywalkers which is ironic since the Sith have the numbers in this alliance. I loved how Luke treated the Sith it was great stuff. The mystery surrounding the creature known as Abeloth is very creepy and interesting. I both loved and hated the Ben/Vestara storyline from the last book. I felt like it was shoved down my throat. I am pleased to say that this particular storyline like the slave storyline is much better in this book, though I did get an Heir to the Empire vibe from this book, when reading Ben and Vestara's part of the book, especially when reading one of their early scenes but their part was still very fun to read. Ben Skywalker's personality mirrors his mother's but I was also reminded that Luke is very much in there too. Ben shows some of his father's traits in this book. Troy's take on Vestara Khai is my favorite of the three authors so far. Vestara is a fun character even if she does remind me of another member of the Skywalker family that I know all too well. Vestara is still fun to read about and she makes some choices in this book that I found surprising, and I am looking forward to seeing what happens with her next. Vortex is great when it comes to action the Lighsabers come out early and often in this book, matter of fact I would say this book has more Lightsaber duels then I can remember in any other Star Wars book in recent memory. This book easily has a lot more action then Allies did, and I loved all the battles and there were some very memorable moments in this book. This is a great read and it should not be missed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pricing :(

    I am eagerly awaiting this volume - I think this series has several storylines that can be salvaged. The Luke/Ben quest has been a real winner, and as contrived as the reemergence of the Sith following Jacen's downfall has been - I have enjoyed the interplay between the Jedi/Sith.

    ...BUT... I will not buy for $14.85. Assuming it costs a couple of bucks to print/distribute the hardcover, the eBook should be at MOST $12. And even then, for a series like this that seems expensive. (Amazon has a Kindle edition for $6.29)

    I've been impressed thus far with B&N's price-matching with Amazon - B&N seems to watch Amazon's prices (and vice versa) - so the price of eBooks rarely differ by much (especially bestseller novels) between the two. Would love is someone could unlock the Android potential of Nook and create a Kindle reader application for Nook. That would be KILLER.

    That having been said - I have faith that the price of this eBook will fall to ~$7 by the end of the week. Competition! Come on, B&N - don;t make me regret choosing Nook over Kindle.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    needs more suspense

    I am a big fan of most of the efforts that encompass the extendes universe of Star Wars. That being said I still think that Lucas needs to loosen his grip on the creative process a bit. As sad as I was to see Chewbacca and Anakin Solo die in the Vong war, those are still secondary characters that are expendable. How long is Luke, Han, and Leia going to live? With every battle or fight these characters get into, that sense of the unexpected is missing because your 99.9% positive that they will survive. We need to let the new generation of Jedi take the stage more prominently. Still a fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    A step up from "Allies!"

    While this series did start out rather slow, I decided to stick with it. This is very good and kept me guessing and nervous throughout the book. For 6 dollars on the Nook this is a bargain, for 400 pages of pure excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    Good book

    I thought the book was good. The attack with the sith was very slow though. And the title and cover of the next book give away what is going to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4