Customer Reviews for

Star Wars I, Jedi

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stackpoles best work

This book is probably the best book Stackpolle has written yet. A must read for all Star Wars fans.

posted by Anonymous on May 6, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

MADE NO SENSE!! Boring, Too-Perfect Hero, Unbelievable

If you want this book to make the slightest bit of sense, read the 'Jedi Academy Trilogy' by Kevin Anderson FIRST. I stopped in the middle of 'I, Jedi' because the storyline confused me. Once I read Mr Anderson's three books, this was easier to follow. I think the on...
If you want this book to make the slightest bit of sense, read the 'Jedi Academy Trilogy' by Kevin Anderson FIRST. I stopped in the middle of 'I, Jedi' because the storyline confused me. Once I read Mr Anderson's three books, this was easier to follow. I think the only reason it was written in First Person is copyright issues. To write in Third Person would be to risk plagiarizing the original story. Anyway, this particular story is about a Rogue Squadron pilot named Corran Horn, who happens to be heir to strong familial ties to Jedi Knights. When his wife disappears, he decides to search for her (duh). However, he must first go to the Jedi Academy on Yavin 4 to work on his Jedi skills. This is supposed to help him in his search. WHAT?!?!? This character was a Security Officer at CorSec. He knows how to investigate and seems to be a good detective. Yet, he decides to spend weeks at Yavin 4 instead of looking for his wife. Doesn't exactly qualify him for Husband-Of-The-Year, does it? The biggest problem I had with this book is that it was a spin-off of the above trilogy. Corran Horn was not even mentioned in the original series. A lot of his activities were behind-the-scenes, or totally independent of the background story. In fact, while some of the major plotpoints from the trilogy were going on, Corran is away from the Academy doing something completely different. Yet, he turns out to be one of the strongest Jedi students present. Later, he is one of the FIRST to become a Master. WHAT?!?!? I would only recommend this book if someone HAS read the Academy Trilogy, likes first-person stories, and like over-the-top heroes. Personally, it is one of the more boring Star Wasrs books I've read (right next to 'Rogue Planet').

posted by Anonymous on June 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Another exciting story within the Star Wars universe.

    Extends deeper into the series so more is learned about the lead characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    F'ing Awesome

    This is by far my favorite Star Wars Novel of the 20 or so I've read. Its got a great new character who's perspective I really do enjoy. Its got the same formula that make all the star wars movies great, and Corran Horn's personality really shines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Very Detailed

    This book was hard to get into, I read it for 4 or 5 chapters and put it dow, it was slow. A friend of mine said that the book was worth reading and he was right. I loved the book, I read it any chance that I got. You learn to appreciate the detail that Mr. Stackpole goes into, I loved the space battles, withoutthe detail, I could no imagine it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    THANK U GOD!!

    this is what i always wanted to the star wars collection. it is so good. B U T it is terribly slow but good actions

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    do or dont

    i think that this book can capture any 12-15 year old. if you have had trouble getting in to a book try these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    A story about coming to terms with being a Jedi

    An incredible story of a man finding himself through the Force. Included past story reference from the Dark Empire series which tied in well. Corran Horn's character was very well established and allowed him to be very believable with his Correlian attitude showing his cocky side. The only thing I can really wish for related to this story is that they make a novel of the Dark Empire Series. That would be amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    Kind of good, but really slow.

    I had a few friends tell me that this was a great Star Wars book, so I read it. It had a good story, but overall it was really slow. What annoyed me was that there were a few times when something big would happen that Corran Horn did not take part in, and because of that he would mention it in one short sentence, and not go in to any detail about how it happened. For example, Mara Jade rescues him from Exar Kun who was messing with Horn's mind and beating the snot out of him. One page later, 'The Jedi's have defeated Exar Kun, and Luke Skywalker has awaken from his deep sleep!' How Kun was defeated, I don't know. What really annoyed me was how freaking long it took Corran to attempt to rescue his wife, Mirax, whom he loves so much, and he even knew who it was that kidnapped her. I don't remember exactly how long it took for him to rescue her, but it was at least three months. It would have been much quicker for Corran to have Luke and the Rebel fleet help him chase down Admiral Tavira's fleet, and rescue Mirax. This book could have been more exciting if Corran would not have said so much when talking to the reader, because most of the things he tells you is not that important. I kept thinking, 'Shut up and go rescue Mirax, stupid!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    The Most Awesome Book Ever!!!

    This book is the best yet! It is a story about a person trying to find out who he really is. This book is so awesome. It's funny too! It has alot of twists and turns to keep you turning the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2002

    Terrific

    I, Jedi is one of the best books not only from a Star Wars lover's perspective, but from book lover's. You can't go wrong with a Star Wars book written by Michael Stackpole!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2001

    Best Star wars novel

    This book has it all. Wrote in first person makes the book great. It is a most have for any star wars fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2001

    Stackpole is amazing!

    The only reason I gave this book 5 stars was because I couldn't give it 6. The story was excellently written and I just couldn't put the book down. One thing I thought was cool was how the story took place at the same time as the Jedi Academy Trilogy. The book gave me a completely different insight of Jedi Knight Corran Horn. I highly recommend this book to any Star Wars fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2001

    Best Star Wars book yet

    Corran Horn is probably the best character in the Star Wars universe. He, unlike most Star Wars characters, has problems as any normal person would, he just has to use more than one way to get rid of them. A Rogue, ex-member of CorSec, a Jedi; all are things he needs to be to save his wife and himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2001

    If only there was 6 stars....

    This is quite possibly the best Star Wars book yet written. First off, it is the only Star Wars book written first-person. Second, it focuses on one of the coolest characters not in the movies, Corran Horn. It deals with intense issues, including just what Corran will do to get Mirax back. It also covers much of the events that occured in the Jedi Academy trilogy (by Kevin Anderson). I can't say any more, just go buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    One of the BEST STAR WARS books written!

    This book starts off with a 'bang,' litterally, it starts with a battle. It is basically about one of rouge squadron's best pilots, Corran Horn(in the book he's also referred to a Keirian Halcyon)and his struggle to find his wife Mirax. The book gives a side to two other STAR WARS books(STAR WARS:Dark Apprentice and STAR WARS:Champions of the Force) that you've never seen before. I, Jedi is,however, kind of long for some people,(not me) so I advise you to read it at a time when you don't have much else to do, or else the suspense will kill you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2000

    Awsome book!!

    Grrrrreat book!Many things in it are unknown but useless to know('cept for braggin')Definitly a good book to get your self into (for a long time this is a 500 some odd page book!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2000

    Stackpole at his best

    Stackpole did an amazing job. Corran Horn has to be my all time favorite character created in a Star Wars Novel. The first person point of view is refreshing and having Luke, Leia, and Han as minor characters was great. If you love Star Wars books you'll love this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2000

    One of the greatest post-trilogy books written.

    This book is science-fiction at it's best. Written by a master author, I, Jedi is a wonderful book following Corran Horn, a Rogue Squadron lieutenant and up-and-coming Jedi Knight. It shows the devotion of the New Republic, and the action is written in great detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    another one of Corran Horn's smash hits

    This is the best book ever. You encounter every thing from an imperial star destroyer, to the most powerful Sith Lord. This is so well written im suprised it hasn't won book of the century. The book is so good its indesribeable. this is a book that will forever be popular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    Best Staw Wars book

    I think this has to be the bet Staw Wars Book made. Instead of three stories in a book it has one. The main Star Wars heroes Luke, Lei, Han, etc. are only Minor characters in the book. Its written in a third person, and you really get a fel of whats happening, htis book set a new standerd for Star Wars books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    excitement

    This is the best book I have read so far, the excitement is high as Corran takes his risk of being discovered as the the hunted Jedi with a huge bounty on his head. I recommend this to people who like suspense without all the killing put into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5