Customer Reviews for

Star Wars I, Jedi

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stackpoles best work

This book is probably the best book Stackpolle has written yet. A must read for all Star Wars fans.

posted by Anonymous on May 6, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

MADE NO SENSE!! Boring, Too-Perfect Hero, Unbelievable

If you want this book to make the slightest bit of sense, read the 'Jedi Academy Trilogy' by Kevin Anderson FIRST. I stopped in the middle of 'I, Jedi' because the storyline confused me. Once I read Mr Anderson's three books, this was easier to follow. I think the on...
If you want this book to make the slightest bit of sense, read the 'Jedi Academy Trilogy' by Kevin Anderson FIRST. I stopped in the middle of 'I, Jedi' because the storyline confused me. Once I read Mr Anderson's three books, this was easier to follow. I think the only reason it was written in First Person is copyright issues. To write in Third Person would be to risk plagiarizing the original story. Anyway, this particular story is about a Rogue Squadron pilot named Corran Horn, who happens to be heir to strong familial ties to Jedi Knights. When his wife disappears, he decides to search for her (duh). However, he must first go to the Jedi Academy on Yavin 4 to work on his Jedi skills. This is supposed to help him in his search. WHAT?!?!? This character was a Security Officer at CorSec. He knows how to investigate and seems to be a good detective. Yet, he decides to spend weeks at Yavin 4 instead of looking for his wife. Doesn't exactly qualify him for Husband-Of-The-Year, does it? The biggest problem I had with this book is that it was a spin-off of the above trilogy. Corran Horn was not even mentioned in the original series. A lot of his activities were behind-the-scenes, or totally independent of the background story. In fact, while some of the major plotpoints from the trilogy were going on, Corran is away from the Academy doing something completely different. Yet, he turns out to be one of the strongest Jedi students present. Later, he is one of the FIRST to become a Master. WHAT?!?!? I would only recommend this book if someone HAS read the Academy Trilogy, likes first-person stories, and like over-the-top heroes. Personally, it is one of the more boring Star Wasrs books I've read (right next to 'Rogue Planet').

posted by Anonymous on June 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2001

    If only there was 6 stars....

    This is quite possibly the best Star Wars book yet written. First off, it is the only Star Wars book written first-person. Second, it focuses on one of the coolest characters not in the movies, Corran Horn. It deals with intense issues, including just what Corran will do to get Mirax back. It also covers much of the events that occured in the Jedi Academy trilogy (by Kevin Anderson). I can't say any more, just go buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    One of the BEST STAR WARS books written!

    This book starts off with a 'bang,' litterally, it starts with a battle. It is basically about one of rouge squadron's best pilots, Corran Horn(in the book he's also referred to a Keirian Halcyon)and his struggle to find his wife Mirax. The book gives a side to two other STAR WARS books(STAR WARS:Dark Apprentice and STAR WARS:Champions of the Force) that you've never seen before. I, Jedi is,however, kind of long for some people,(not me) so I advise you to read it at a time when you don't have much else to do, or else the suspense will kill you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2000

    Awsome book!!

    Grrrrreat book!Many things in it are unknown but useless to know('cept for braggin')Definitly a good book to get your self into (for a long time this is a 500 some odd page book!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2000

    Stackpole at his best

    Stackpole did an amazing job. Corran Horn has to be my all time favorite character created in a Star Wars Novel. The first person point of view is refreshing and having Luke, Leia, and Han as minor characters was great. If you love Star Wars books you'll love this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2000

    One of the greatest post-trilogy books written.

    This book is science-fiction at it's best. Written by a master author, I, Jedi is a wonderful book following Corran Horn, a Rogue Squadron lieutenant and up-and-coming Jedi Knight. It shows the devotion of the New Republic, and the action is written in great detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    another one of Corran Horn's smash hits

    This is the best book ever. You encounter every thing from an imperial star destroyer, to the most powerful Sith Lord. This is so well written im suprised it hasn't won book of the century. The book is so good its indesribeable. this is a book that will forever be popular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    Best Staw Wars book

    I think this has to be the bet Staw Wars Book made. Instead of three stories in a book it has one. The main Star Wars heroes Luke, Lei, Han, etc. are only Minor characters in the book. Its written in a third person, and you really get a fel of whats happening, htis book set a new standerd for Star Wars books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    excitement

    This is the best book I have read so far, the excitement is high as Corran takes his risk of being discovered as the the hunted Jedi with a huge bounty on his head. I recommend this to people who like suspense without all the killing put into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    No one comes close!!!!!

    I, Jedi is the best Corran Horn story I have ever read. This book is one of the (if not THE BEST) books Michael A. Stackpole ever written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    STAR WARS PERFECTION

    I, Jedi is plain and simply one of my favorite books. Of all Michael A. Stackpole books I've read--Once a Hero, all of his X-Wing books, and a few B-Tech books--this one takes the nacho grande meal. Corran Horn was always my favorite Rogue Squadron character, and what did Stackpole do? He made him so he could use the Force. Talk about awesome! I think about 40 or so less pages could've dealt with Exan Kun, but it was great! I'm not going to go into the story, but I will say two things: Read it, and like it. That's how it is for everyone. I mean, the average rating for this book speaks for itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2000

    I, Jedi is second to none!

    I am a Star Wars fan who enjoys every aspect of the Star Wars universe. The Space Battles, the Jedi Knights, the weird alien creatures, and the distant exotic planets all capture my imagination. I am here to tell you that weather you are looking for one or two or all of these things, this book has them all. The hero, Corran Horn, is a well rounded character who finds himself not only piloting X-wings and battling imperial TIE squadrons, but wielding a lightsaber and using the force to battle evil villians who range in size and shape from a Hutt crime lord to the powerful ghost of an ancient evil Sith Lord. The story is full of interresting Star Wars facts, interresting plot twists, and never ending action. Michael A. Stackpoles skill in writing is terrific and the first person view of the story brings readers closer to the Star Wars universe than ever before. My advice to you... Buy it. Read it. Enjoy it. You will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    A Great Read for Star Wars Fans

    The fact that this is in the first person is a refreshing change. It helps you feel closer to Corran as a character, since you feel and experience what he does. The review of events from the Academy Trilogy was a good memory tester. All in all, it's great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    The Horn Sounds Awfully Good

    Much has been made of the use of first person in this novel. It does not prove to be a problem for this book since most of it reads like third person anyway. Only a few sentences per page are needed to remind us that Horn is telling the story. Stackpole also deftly avoids the pitfall of having his narrator knowing too much to sound believable. Horn's biases and vulnerabilities are evident in his observations. I am glad the action is split between the Academy and the pirates so this book is more than a Jedi Academy appendix. Fine reading, even if you haven't yet read the Academy books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    Stackpole and Horn rules.

    You want to read a great Star Wars novel? This is yours best option. The first person style gives it a refreshing point of view and takes you to a galaxy far, far away. What is so special about this book? Corran Horn is the best character created for the S.W. novels. He is a smart, funny guy who has a great heritage: The Force. And you have the writer who best knows him: his creator Michael Stackpole. So you have a great character in his best performance and a really good story.What else do you want? Give it a try. You won't be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    Great Book!

    This is one of the best..great descriptions, much more in depth descriptions of activities at the academy and Exar Kun than Anderson...and the second half of the story, not discussed in Anderson's Jedi Academy Trilogy is plain awesome...Corran Horn is great! Luke is also appearing after Academy times, and Han, Lando, and Wedge all have some role! Another great part-Mara Jade has a few scenes, and not unlike some Star Wars authors, Stackpole describes her almost as good as Zahn does!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    The Force as You've Never Seen It Before!!!!!

    I think this is the best Star Wars Book EVER!!! I have read every SW book and must admit that this one is my favorite. We are given an insight to the Force and how a Jedi uses it, that is very unique. I don't think any other SW book has given the reader a way to see into the mind of a Jedi. When I read the first book in the X-Wing series I knew Corran would be a wonderful Jedi, if it turned out that his hunches were indeed the misterious prodding of the force. I liked the way the character develops in this story...Corran Horn is by no means one of those incredibly talented Jedi (like Luke and Obi-Wan) this makes him more understandable and easier to relate to. His sense of rightness, discipline and honor (the Corsec officer turned Jedi) come straight at you through the first person narrative. Also, his lightsaber fights are awesome. I think Stackpole is brilliant, his X-Wing books are the best in the series by far...I would definitely like to see more stories from him, specially if they have Corran Horn in them...Keep them Coming!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3