Customer Reviews for

Star Wars I, Jedi

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stackpoles best work

This book is probably the best book Stackpolle has written yet. A must read for all Star Wars fans.

posted by Anonymous on May 6, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

MADE NO SENSE!! Boring, Too-Perfect Hero, Unbelievable

If you want this book to make the slightest bit of sense, read the 'Jedi Academy Trilogy' by Kevin Anderson FIRST. I stopped in the middle of 'I, Jedi' because the storyline confused me. Once I read Mr Anderson's three books, this was easier to follow. I think the on...
If you want this book to make the slightest bit of sense, read the 'Jedi Academy Trilogy' by Kevin Anderson FIRST. I stopped in the middle of 'I, Jedi' because the storyline confused me. Once I read Mr Anderson's three books, this was easier to follow. I think the only reason it was written in First Person is copyright issues. To write in Third Person would be to risk plagiarizing the original story. Anyway, this particular story is about a Rogue Squadron pilot named Corran Horn, who happens to be heir to strong familial ties to Jedi Knights. When his wife disappears, he decides to search for her (duh). However, he must first go to the Jedi Academy on Yavin 4 to work on his Jedi skills. This is supposed to help him in his search. WHAT?!?!? This character was a Security Officer at CorSec. He knows how to investigate and seems to be a good detective. Yet, he decides to spend weeks at Yavin 4 instead of looking for his wife. Doesn't exactly qualify him for Husband-Of-The-Year, does it? The biggest problem I had with this book is that it was a spin-off of the above trilogy. Corran Horn was not even mentioned in the original series. A lot of his activities were behind-the-scenes, or totally independent of the background story. In fact, while some of the major plotpoints from the trilogy were going on, Corran is away from the Academy doing something completely different. Yet, he turns out to be one of the strongest Jedi students present. Later, he is one of the FIRST to become a Master. WHAT?!?!? I would only recommend this book if someone HAS read the Academy Trilogy, likes first-person stories, and like over-the-top heroes. Personally, it is one of the more boring Star Wasrs books I've read (right next to 'Rogue Planet').

posted by Anonymous on June 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    MADE NO SENSE!! Boring, Too-Perfect Hero, Unbelievable

    If you want this book to make the slightest bit of sense, read the 'Jedi Academy Trilogy' by Kevin Anderson FIRST. I stopped in the middle of 'I, Jedi' because the storyline confused me. Once I read Mr Anderson's three books, this was easier to follow. I think the only reason it was written in First Person is copyright issues. To write in Third Person would be to risk plagiarizing the original story. Anyway, this particular story is about a Rogue Squadron pilot named Corran Horn, who happens to be heir to strong familial ties to Jedi Knights. When his wife disappears, he decides to search for her (duh). However, he must first go to the Jedi Academy on Yavin 4 to work on his Jedi skills. This is supposed to help him in his search. WHAT?!?!? This character was a Security Officer at CorSec. He knows how to investigate and seems to be a good detective. Yet, he decides to spend weeks at Yavin 4 instead of looking for his wife. Doesn't exactly qualify him for Husband-Of-The-Year, does it? The biggest problem I had with this book is that it was a spin-off of the above trilogy. Corran Horn was not even mentioned in the original series. A lot of his activities were behind-the-scenes, or totally independent of the background story. In fact, while some of the major plotpoints from the trilogy were going on, Corran is away from the Academy doing something completely different. Yet, he turns out to be one of the strongest Jedi students present. Later, he is one of the FIRST to become a Master. WHAT?!?!? I would only recommend this book if someone HAS read the Academy Trilogy, likes first-person stories, and like over-the-top heroes. Personally, it is one of the more boring Star Wasrs books I've read (right next to 'Rogue Planet').

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    Stackpoles best work

    This book is probably the best book Stackpolle has written yet. A must read for all Star Wars fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    Great Twist on a familiar tale!

    Spoiler Alert!!!

    I will try not to give anything away, but the thing that I found so enjoyable about this story is that a large part of it is a retelling of the story from the book previous to it (at least in the timeline), but the twist is that it is from the point of view completely of a character you did not know was involved in the previous book. Very well done. At first I was skeptical, but by the end I believed he was a part of the other book. Very fun if you have read the other title.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overrated

    I finally picked up this book after reading several lists compiled by othe Star Wars fans that detailed the greatest Star Wars novels of all time. Fans usually know what's best for other fans -- hey, who else would know better, right?! -- so I trusted their judgement. Now I'm very disappointed.

    Although Mike Stackpole remains a very talented author and one of the founding fathers of the EU, let's get down to the nitty-gritty...He commmitted the cardinal sin of any author writing in a multi-author and multi-faceted literary section of any franchise. He became too possessive of his patron character, Corran Horn, who he created in the Rogue Squadron series, and tried to convert him from a hero to The Hero. Obviously, if every author who came along and wrote a Star Wars book did that, it would mess with the continuity big-time, not to mention the fact that every read would be predictable and grate on the literary palate.

    In his effort to make Corran into The Hero, Stackpole takes him through a series of events that really make no sense. He learns his wife has disappeared and, Corran Horn, top CorSec operative, Rogue Squadron ace, Rebel solider, and Galactic Alliance officer, goes to the Jedi Academy instead of rescuing her. Now, I love the Jedi more than anything, and I'd be in a hurry to go to the Academy, too, but it doesn't make any kind of sense for Corran to be there when his wife is languishing somewhere in the hands of a terrible bad guy.

    Then, after receiving a good amount of training from a sloppily-written and wimpy-sounding Luke Skywalker, (Who all of a sudden doesn't know what he's doing after single-handedly re-establishing the Jedi Order? Puh-leez.) Corran decides he wants to be running the Order. After Luke lets him push the Grand Master around for a while, Corran gets mad for no apparent or logical reason and leaves the Order.

    After all that, Corran finds his wife in the last 20 or so pages of the book and it's all happy and fun and joyous.

    It's a terrible shame, because Stackpole is a fantastic writer, and I know this book could have been so, so much better. Unfortunately, the author put himself before his readers, and it shows.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2000

    I, Jedi takes on first person and succeeds.

    Written from a first-person persepctive, this novel almost puts you into the main character's head. A compelling plot keeps you moving right along to this well written novel's end. Not the best of the stories but it is a worthy addition to any Star Wars collection. Read and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    A must buy!

    This book is an excellent choice. It is a mix of many parts of the Star wars whole, from parts fo Jedi, to a Pilot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Awesome Book

    Very exciting and descriptive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    J-134

    Hello im a bounty and uh wheres the weapon shop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Jedi Enclave - Inner Sanctum

    A place of initial safety from outside forces. This area includes weapon shops, droid shops, the jedi council meeting place, and a landing area for space ships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Fav starwars book.

    This book is one of my all time favorites and my favorite starwars book. Check out stackpoles other books there all good reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Terribly boring

    I read the sample & all it was was 86 pages of battle strategies, coversations with superiors & even when he finds out his wife disappeared hes just like, "oh my wife is gone." He dosent even freak or anything. It had absolutely no action whatsoever. I flipped through the whole sample just trying to find some action but there was none. I would not buy this book if my life depended upon it.(i know, theres a spoiler, but i could really care less as far as this book is concerned.) Overall, a very terrible sample. The author could have written it with a lot more action.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed the story and new characters.

    I enjoyed the first person writing of this book and how it tied in previous storylines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Audiobook (Cassette - Abridged)

    Audiobook (Cassette - Abridged)

    I've read this book and love it. This audio book is Abridged. Much of Corran's training, thoughts and the Jedi philosophies are cut out of the Audio version. I haven't a problem with AudioBooks, assuming Audio is still the book. This version was terrible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    The Force is with him always.

    The Force is with him always.

    This is the story of one of Luke Skywalker's first students, Corran Horn.

    The Story of how Corran seeks to become a Jedi to save his wife. The book shows how ordinary people would interpret Jedi Philosophy. How Corran goes from seeing the universe that way, to understanding the Light and Dark Sides, to being a guardian of life. From Egoic fighter pilot to formidable Jedi. In later books - Corran Horn becomes a revered member of Luke's New Jedi Order.

    The negative reviews call Corran the perfect hero. A trumped up character. These believe Corran over shadowed the others at the Jedi Academy. Arrogance, Aggression, Hate - The Dark Side is strong in these reviewers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Masterful Work, Well Worth the Reading

    I, Jedi by Michael A. Stackpole was written after the Jedi Search, and Dark Force Rising books. The way in which Michael was able to weave his story into the already established themes and event, without conflict was quite masterful. This story is a definite read. I had not read this book before, and had launched myself into the "Fate of the Jedi" series, when I came across this book. Having always wondered about Corran Horn, this book clears up much of the mystery which to me, seemed to enshroud this Jedi. The plot is well written, showing conflict and real emotions in a believable manner. I definitely recommend this book to you, the reader as an essential part of the Star Wars experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Stackpole needs to get over Corran Horn

    I absolutely cannot believe how good the reviews of this book are. It is rubbish and I wish I could give it 0 stars. It is a Mary Sue story, plain and simple. Stackpole created the perfect character who apparently did all the work in all the other EU stories and is better than everyone at everything no matter how little training he's had at it. This is by far the worst Star Wars novel ever written.

    I was iffy about reading this book in the first place since it wasn't about the original Star Wars characters, and I think those worries were justified. It really did get annoying having Corran pop up everywhere in the Jedi Academy plotline when he wasn't mentioned at all in the actual Jedi Academy books, especially how he seemed to assume leadership of the other students all the time. Stackpole's approach to the Corellian Jedi (giving them all kinds of special traits and weaknesses and so on that other Jedi don't have and that readers have never seen before) got annoying as well. Mr. Stackpole seems like some fanboy in this respect, and just wants to take this concept someone else made up (the Force) and change pretty much all of its rules for his specific character just to make it cooler.

    I have also read the New Jedi Order books by Mr. Stackpole, and I cringed when Corran popped up again as one of the primary characters in the storyline of the Dark Tide books. Stackpole just can't stay away from Corran. Corran is conveyed as the perfect hero, which drove me crazy. It seems to me as though Stackpole thinks Corran is the greatest thing to happen to Star Wars since lightsabers. Corran just isn't that great of a character, and Stackpole isn't that great of an author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wish it was an eBook

    This is my all-time favorite Star Wars novel. Unlike all other Star Wars books I've read so far, it is in the first person, which is refreshing. The whole purpose of me writing this review is in the hopes that someone can start a movement to make it an eBook. I really want to put it on my new nook, but that's proving difficult.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    another exciting story from the Star Wars galaxy

    For those who love Star Wars, it's always a pleasure to go back to that galaxy, meet old friends like Luke Skywalker, and encounter new ones, too. I love the way the Star Wars Expanded Universe has grown, how novels and characters are interconnected, even though the books are written by different authors. I also love the insights into charactors that good authors, such as Michael A. Stackpole, provide. I happened to have read another Star Wars novel recently and was delighted to realize how the main character in this book was connected to a character in the other novel. Star Wars stories are not just about action in space. A good one, like this, is about people, their motives, and their interactions with others, and you come to care about them. I was happy for another opportunity to read a good Star Wars story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this book rocks

    you should buy this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Another exciting story within the Star Wars universe.

    Extends deeper into the series so more is learned about the lead characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5