BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Jedi Academy Trilogy: Jedi Search / Dark Apprentice / Champions of the Force

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Could not put these books down!

    I'm the kind of reader that usually takes forever to get through a book. However, I picked up the first book of the trilogy, Jedi Search, and after about five pages, I was hooked! I spent the entire rest of the week obsessively reading the rest of the trilogy and was not disappointed! There is never a dull moment! I would highly recommend these books to any Star Wars Fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Love the original 'Star Wars?' Then you will love Jedi Academy

    As a huge 'Star Wars' fan, I would rate this trilogy a 5, but looking at it without the fan glasses on, I still give it a 4 with a strong recommendation. Kevin J. Anderson does a fabulous job connecting this trilogy with the films. Anderson captures the magic and appeal of the beloved characters- Luke, Leia, Han, C-3P0, R2-D2, Lando, and even minor characters Admiral Ackbar 'from 'Return of the Jedi'' and Mon Mothma ''Revenge of the Sith' and Return of the Jedi''. In addition, he introduces a lot of other fun characters like Kyp Durron and Leia's three children, twin babies, that have obviously catapulted dozens of other books set farther after the timeline of the movies. The characters must face a monstrous threat from a remnant of the Empire, which contains additional super-weapons that came from the same mind that created the conceptual ideas for the Death Star- a connection to the original trilogy plot that makes these three novels so strong. Add in Anderson's ability to focus and actually add on to the beloved main characters, while seamlessly introducing new ones, and you have a very compelling trilogy that is better than the Thrawn trilogy and far and away better than the New Jedi Order series. By the way- could Kirani Ti, member of the New Jedi Order, be a descendant of Shaak Ti, a Jedi Knight from the prequel trilogy? Hmmm...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Well worth reading. . .

    Champions of the Force is a testament not only to the creative galaxy of George Lucas but to the literary talents of Kevin J. Anderson. Anderson not only honors the tradition of Luke, Han, Leia and even Lando, but he puts these characters in perilous situations that will leave you on edge. From Han Solo's escape from the spice mines of Kessel only to flee into a cluster of Black Holes, to Luke and Lando's daring rescue mission. Don't forget about the political intrigue surrounding Leia and the New Republic as they struggle to bring a rogue planet still loyal to the Empire into their ranks. A must read of anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    This ruled

    Lots of enjoyment. addictive in 5 page. Whole trilligy addictive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    Great books

    The rebuilding of the Jedi Academy is great, Kyp Durron has become one of my favorite star wars characters. I am also looking forward to reading more about the solo children as they come into thier own as young jedi. Best scene in the book has to be when young Jacen stands over his uncles comatose body to defend his life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    A Remarkable Trilogy!!!

    There is so much to write about these books! The scenes with Han, Chewie and Kyp on Kessel were tremendous, the battles in the Maw were great and the confrontations with Exar Kun were spellbinding! The Sun Crusher could have been used more effectively, but Han's maneuver in the first book was terrific! The intrigue surrounding Ackbar was enthralling, and Kyp Durron takes you through the whole gammet of emotions from 'love him' to 'hate him' and back! Admiral Daala is a recurring tragedy, suffering one viscious defeat after another despite her best efforts. The scene that 'tickled' me the most was imagining a two-year old Jacen Solo wielding a lightsaber like a Jedi Master! The only part that I was able to predict was Mon Mothma's wasting disease being a result of poisoning and the role that Cilghal eventually played in it. Other than that (and that wasn't even bad) the trilogy was brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    THE BEST STAR WARS BOOKS EVER!

    The Jedi Acadamy Trilogy were the first Star Wars books I read and they probably are the best! My favorites were Kyp, Kirana Ti, and Tionne. I wish I were Kyp! (besides the whole dark side thing.) For people who are new to the Star Wars novels, read the Jedi Acadamy trilogy becasue it's a good story and you don't need to read the other Star Wars books first! It's a real page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Completely Awesome

    This book is so exciteing because these three books cover the begining of the new order of Jedi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    Loved it a Lot!!

    I only read the last two because of a stupid library that didn't have Jedi Search. But It the last two were outstanding! I loved them a lot. I loved how Kyp struggled with the dark side but in the end he became a great powerful jedi knight! Ackbar was a favorite too! I hope him and Winter marry or something. This book gets you turning the page!! READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2004

    Intersting

    I enjoyed this trilogy. The Jedi Academy was interesting and offers a great deal of future possibilies to Star Wars writers. Kyp Durron was an excellent character. I look forward to seeing him in future Star Wars books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    One of the best trilogies ever!

    This book is really great! It's cool to know what happens after Episode VI. I like the fact that new characters are introduced. My favorite characters would have to be Luke, Leia, Han, Mara, Jacen, Jaina, C-3PO, and R2-D2. It's cool to read about Luke having his own Jedi academy and training his own aprentices. If you want to know what happens after the Episode VI, this is definately the book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    FANTABULOS BOOK!

    I liked this story & how ackbar came back 2 the new republic & that she(guess!) didnt die. kyp was a good addition to the sw crew. I liked luke leia & han. i was glad that han got the millennium falcon back. overall great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    read the last two

    i read champions and dark apprentice at a stupid little library that only had 4 star wars books! thats awful! champions was beyond awesome...there is a few wonderful little scenes...im a huge star wars maniac, and my 15 year old girl's room shows it. i am a fan of han and leia predominately and this book satisfied me. im usually the one slamming the book down saying get these stupid yuuzan vongs and kyp people out of my book! i just want to read a sappy little story for crying out loud. i liked luke's character too. i do like action adventure, but only when it fully involves my favorite characters, not some minor characters never in the original trilogy...star wars remains only a trilogy in my heart. some han and leia fanfic is good...some luke is good...the books get to into minor characters for the most part...sorry. empire strikes back is the best star wars movie...nothing beats "why you stuck up half witted scruffy looking nerf herder" and nothing has the same sting as "id rather kiss a wookiee"...and that Millennium Falcon kiss that goldenrod had to interrupt...yummy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2