Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Jedi Apprentice #2: The Dark Rival

Average Rating 5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2001

    It Brings Out Their Personalities

    In The Dark Rival you are really in tuned with the characters.You can really see were they are coming from, how they are feeling, and what they are thinking.Imagin being in Qui-Gon's shoes.Here you are with a boy which you want nothing to do with.And you ask yourself why.What about the boy strikes fear in you.Or mabey your fear isn't about him its about youself.What if you arn't capable of having a Padawan.You have already failed with Xanatos.You were blined to the Darkness and anger that lie inside of him.So you push Obi-Wan away.If you just end what ever the relationship that is forming between the both of you then no one can get hurt.But how wrong you were Qui-Gon.You were also blined to how mutch Obi-Wan thought of you, how much he wanted to be like you and learn from you.Now put yourself in Obi-Wan's shoes.What about him did Qui-Gon resent?You can't understand it.You have tride so hard to prove yourself to him.But all your efferts don't seem to be paying off.And you wonder is this the end.All the years at the Jedi Temple for nothing.But somehow you seem to find hope that its not the end that Qui-Gon will change his mind.And that little hope is what keeps you going. I'm sorry I kind of got carried away.Anyway the way Jude puts the word and the thoughts of the characters really bring out their Personalities and make you feel close to them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    It's become a classic in my home library. Simple writing, so it's easy for all ages, but there's really a serious message behind the story. Jude Watson does well in building a more understandable past for Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan, Xanatos being one of the key characters who shapes them both. It's too bad we just can't see more & more of him! Definitely a must-read for Star Wars fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    THE BEST!!!

    I love this book because it has detail. Jude Watson writes awsome books so you should read them!!! but this one, this one, it says it all!! ok.. Obi-Wan has a differant mission then Qui-Qon. but they meet up. Ironic right? Then Xantoos is back and wants to KILL Qui-Qon. so find out what happens in.... Star Wars Jedi Apprentice #2 The Dark Rival.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    Wow Awesome! Totally Cool!

    Hi this is Alexa Reaves: This book was awesome so totally cool, Obi-Wan was neat in it and Qui-Gon was so distracted all the time it was funny! And Obi-Wan still wanted Qui-Gon to be his master and it was like how many hoops do I have to jump through before I get what I really want. And Xanatos made like a really good bad guy, but some times the way the story was written you could almost see there might be some good left in him or at least at one time he'd been a careing young man. I love this book, if you haven't read it you should, because it Rocked! Like if you think it is like a baby book, because it only has 18 chapters, you should really cheeck it out. I've read it eight times, in eight days! Your friend and reader Alexa Reaves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2002

    Really Really Really Really Really Really Really Really Really Really Really Really Really Really Really Good!

    The title should tell you what I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2001

    WORTH THE WAIT!!!!!!!!

    Imagine how I felt having to wait exactly 4 YEARS before I could read this book!!!! It was worth the wait though. I was so into this book that I was able to read it in 1 DAY and give it back to my friend the next day. I liked the way it was written, nice and simple, but still suspending. My compliments to Jude. If you haven't read this book yet, GO BUY IT NOW!!!! I'm not a STAR WARS fan, but i still loved this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    DIFFERENT AUTHOR?

    I actually found this book more intresting than the first. I don' know why but I belive it may be that there was maybe, I don't know, a better relationship between the two Jedi, or perhaps that Jude is now writting. What's up with that any way? Well as long as the series is enjoyable I don't care how Jude writes. Keep it up Jude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    Krista-lynn Jinn (Jedi Master)

    The best book ever I've read.I must have read it a thousand times and still love to read it!! Jude Watson dose an excelent job on the caricters and the plot. I may be over the recomended age but who cares These are the best Book. Keep them coming Jude!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Read this Book!

    The first book in the series was great and this is no expection.The Plot when you first start to read the book seems really predictable, but as you read on it takes a dramatic change and then goes into another direction. The first book kinda of left you hanging but in this book all the loose threads are tied and everything comes together really nicely. Obi-wan may seem just like a little, pesky kid at first but then when it really counts he proves what a true Jedi that he really is. The chracter xanatos made for a very intresting plot, becuase you really found out about alot of Qui-gons histoey and why he may act the way he does and you can see that he is really not tot blame for the cold way he may treat obi-wan sometimes. Really worth picking up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2000

    Great Book!

    I really liked this book, even though it wasn't as good as the first. The main problem was that it was too short. Everything seemed to happen so fast, and I think that she could've written more on such an important subject (Xanatos). I really enjoyed it though and laughed at some points and I recomend it to anyone who has doubts about buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    this is one of the best JA books so far!

    i have all the JA books that have come out and this book is a gr-8 one! this book tells you how it all began(after The Rising Force, that is!) if you had questions 'bout how Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon get to be such an awesome team, this book'll tell you! i read this book about a year ago, but i keep re-reading it over and over! OF COURSE I RECOMEND IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2000

    Why won't Qui-Gon take Obi-Wan?

    Because he is haunted by his past, that's why.As much as he likes Obi-Wan, Qui-Gon is worried that Obi-Wan will wind up like his last apprentice, Xanatos.Then, where has Obi-Wan disappeared to? Can Qui-Gon figure it out? Is Xanatos trying to trap him?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    Bets book

    This is the series to read on your free time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    Meet Up

    Qui-Gon meet one of his deepest fears, seeing his ex-Padawan Xanatos. Qui-Gon keeps remembering things that happen with Xanatos. Obi-Wan is trying to help Qui-Gon but he won't allow it to happen. Qui-Gon finds out that Xanatos has taken Obi-Wan, but where did he take Obi-Wan to...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    Another Great Entry to the Jedi Apprentice Series

    Jude Watson did a great job with this sequel to the orignal book by Dave Wolverton. He did just as good. I am glad Si Treemba returned. It is great to see Obi-Wan become to Master the Force also. Whoever continues the series I'm sure I won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    WONDERFUL!!!!!

    This was another great book!! If you've just started this series, I would recommend starting with the first book. I think Jude Watson is such a great writer!! I hope she never ends this series!! My favorite character is, of course, Obi-Wan but Qui-Gon is pretty cool and Xanatos was a wicked bad guy!! I think this is a must read for everyone!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    A Heck of a good book!

    Peace over Anger. Honor over Hate. Strength over Fear. Qui-Gon Jinn has crushed Obi-Wan Kenobi's hopes of becoming a Jedi out of his soul. He can't take Obi-Wan as his Padawan Learner...He already lost Xanatos...Or can he? Well you'll find out as Obi-Wan And Qui-Gon land on Bandomeer and find Xanatos there. After A Rip-Roaring adventure Qui-Gon learns what he missed. I'm not going to tell you what it is or I'll give away the whole thing! Well anyway...read it! Rated: Not just for Star Wars fans. I mean I used to hate Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon. Now even I have changed as the characters have. I know the truth. Read it to figure out what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    STAR WARS FREAK!!!

    I've read every book in the Jedi Apprentice series like ten times. There the best. The Dark Rival tended to be my fave though. The cliff hangers are enough to drive a sane person insane! I love it! I can't wait for 'The Day of Reckoning' to be released. I can't help it. I like Xanatos. But like Obi-Wan, patience has never been my best subject! May the Force be with you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2000

    a Jedi Apprentice in Training

    This was the best book so far out off all the SW book I have ever read, even better then the movies.I'm one of those deep reading people and i find the book down right touching and very excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2000

    Excellent!!

    This book was, I think, the best out of all the Jedi Apprentice Books, although it was a bit too short. In this book Qui Gon has to face his past, and with Obi Wan with him he battles a great battle with his former syudent, Xanatos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2