Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Legacy of the Force #2: Bloodlines

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

one awesome book by karen traviss

this book seriously is awesome its on par with the first book in this amazing book series long live the legacy of the force book series long live darth caedus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by TheReturnOfDeathTroopers on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

"He's taking a different path as a Jedi, that's all"

The second book in the Star Wars: Legacy of the Force series, Bloodlines is written by Karen Traviss and takes place 16 days after the raid on Center Point Station. I could actually feel the difference between Betrayal, written by Aaron Allston, and this episode into St...
The second book in the Star Wars: Legacy of the Force series, Bloodlines is written by Karen Traviss and takes place 16 days after the raid on Center Point Station. I could actually feel the difference between Betrayal, written by Aaron Allston, and this episode into Star Wars saga. I felt more emotion in this book, more connection to the characters, and can actually feel the pain that Jacen is feeling as he makes the decisions he must to learn all that he can of the Sith. There is still plenty of action and drama, but Karen has deepened the characters into 3 dimensional beings and added detail of activities that you don't find yourself wondering how you go there.
I think my greatest peeve against this plot line is how oblivious the Jedi Counsel is to Jacen's decent. They finally realize that something is going on when he becomes a military commander and takes 13 year old Ben Skywalker on raids to round up all of the Corellian on Corusant, whether they were breeding dissent or not; turns out that the Jedi Counsel is only concerned how it will look to have the Jedi Grand Master's son participating in these raids.
Only Luke really sees that Jacen is turning to the Dark Side. Does he confront Jacen? Does he take action to prove that Jacen is being swayed? Does he investigate what is going on? No, he whines to Mara Jade Skywalker, telling her that he doesn't want Ben around that. Really? After what happened with Anakin Skywalker only a generation before?
I did enjoy the window into Boba Fett's life. That his body is giving out on him. That he had a family.
And while I am really hating that no one around Jacen is confronting him about his decision, only getting frustrated that he's not the same kid he used to be.I am enjoying the story line. Watching him try to rationalize the decisions he's making. Trying to justify that by becoming a Sith he will have more ability to influence the force and bring stability to the universe, like his grandfather was supposed to before he lost control and became consumed by the evil.
Unlike when I finished Betrayal, after reading Bloodlines, I am eager to read the third book in the series, Tempest by Troy Denning.

posted by qarae on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    one awesome book by karen traviss

    this book seriously is awesome its on par with the first book in this amazing book series long live the legacy of the force book series long live darth caedus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Part 2 of the Legacy of the Force series

    In this story, Jacen Solo increasingly becomes more and more like his grandfather Anakin Skywalker (AKA Darth Vader). He ditches the Jedi robes for a black paramilitary uniform and becomes the leader of a military unit whose job is to remove Corellians from Coruscant. Ben Skywalker is rapidly becoming Jacen's apprentice without knowing that both of them are edging toward the dark side. Meanwhile, Boba Fett has found out he is dying. He must search out a cloner that knows how to restore him. In the process, he meets up with a young girl that may be more important to him than he thinks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome book series i am reading both legacy of the force and fate of the jedi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Boba Fett is back

    This novel in the series adds new depth to the character of Boba Fett. It reveals new secrets of his past, and the story actually teams him up with Han Solo of all people. Do not miss this book if you are a fan of Boba Fett or Han Solo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    The Legacy series moves to another level

    Having read many Star Wars books over the years, it is great to finally have a series that lives up to the Star Wars name. The entire Legacy series features the rise of a new Sith Lord, who is not only threatening, but is argueably one of the most powerful Sith Lords in the Star Wars cannon. With past Star Wars books I felt like the writer was trying to "convince" me how powerful his/her character or villian was (and usually, I wasn't sold on it) - but not this one. The reader gets the full sense of the power now confronting Luke, Leia, Han and the Galactic Alliance.
    Bloodlines takes the characters from the first book in the series (Betrayal) and gives them depth. We come to understand why certain characters (both good and evil) act in the way they do & what the character's motives and intentions are. We also learn what the fears, desires & insecurities of the main characters are. The lines between what is "good" and "bad" are blurred, as we realize that bad things can be done in the name of good, & not all who claim to be good are acting for the overall benefit of the majority. So, what is right? What is wrong? If you read this book, you almost automatically want to read the next one in the series. There is drama, action and surprises that the reader will not have seen coming
    Very well done and enjoyable -

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    "He's taking a different path as a Jedi, that's all"

    The second book in the Star Wars: Legacy of the Force series, Bloodlines is written by Karen Traviss and takes place 16 days after the raid on Center Point Station. I could actually feel the difference between Betrayal, written by Aaron Allston, and this episode into Star Wars saga. I felt more emotion in this book, more connection to the characters, and can actually feel the pain that Jacen is feeling as he makes the decisions he must to learn all that he can of the Sith. There is still plenty of action and drama, but Karen has deepened the characters into 3 dimensional beings and added detail of activities that you don't find yourself wondering how you go there.
    I think my greatest peeve against this plot line is how oblivious the Jedi Counsel is to Jacen's decent. They finally realize that something is going on when he becomes a military commander and takes 13 year old Ben Skywalker on raids to round up all of the Corellian on Corusant, whether they were breeding dissent or not; turns out that the Jedi Counsel is only concerned how it will look to have the Jedi Grand Master's son participating in these raids.
    Only Luke really sees that Jacen is turning to the Dark Side. Does he confront Jacen? Does he take action to prove that Jacen is being swayed? Does he investigate what is going on? No, he whines to Mara Jade Skywalker, telling her that he doesn't want Ben around that. Really? After what happened with Anakin Skywalker only a generation before?
    I did enjoy the window into Boba Fett's life. That his body is giving out on him. That he had a family.
    And while I am really hating that no one around Jacen is confronting him about his decision, only getting frustrated that he's not the same kid he used to be.I am enjoying the story line. Watching him try to rationalize the decisions he's making. Trying to justify that by becoming a Sith he will have more ability to influence the force and bring stability to the universe, like his grandfather was supposed to before he lost control and became consumed by the evil.
    Unlike when I finished Betrayal, after reading Bloodlines, I am eager to read the third book in the series, Tempest by Troy Denning.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, Not Great

    I thought this book was good, but not great like Betrayal. We see Ben get some action in the Galactic Alliance Guard, and how he reacts to it, Jacen go running around Coruscant arresting people, how the not-yet- offical war is progressing, and Han, and Boba, and Mirta Gev, Fett's granddaughter, team up to kill someone. There are quite a few dry spots in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Star wars forever

    I love this series!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    This book is awesome

    This is 1 of the best ive read so far. No doubt about it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Rumors!

    There is suposed to be three side story films about Yoda Han Solo and Boba Fett in between 789

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    this book seriously is amazing boba fett and han solo both team

    this book seriously is amazing boba fett and han solo both team up with each other which i thought never would happen but it does i love star wars its amazing from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Who ever said this sucks i hate you more than anything.

    Very great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Good read if you really liked Boba Fett

    Not Bad but really didn't get into the whole Boba Fett line. while the story is good I basically trudged through so that I could follow what happened with Jacen and his fall. What i really wanted to know was how Boba survived the Sarlac Pit but i never found that out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    It sucks

    IT SUCKS!! DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    if u see anything having to do with clones,mandalorians or the Fetts Karen Traviss probable wrote it.

    alwase loved her Commando series and this book is no exeption its a great book to continue the darkside Jacen took

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely a Fan

    I have always been a Star Wars geek but have never read a Star Wars novel until I started this series. Ms. Traviss did an outstanding job in painting a very believable landscape of geekfull bliss. The character lines, conflict, and resolve; all ran together rather seamlessly. I am certainly going to continue this series and would recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book

    Awsome book, must have. I love bounty hunters and when I thought Boba Fett was dead for good I got really mad. But then I read the back of this book and saw the cover, I imeditly picked it up. I lovewr starwars novels and this one was realy good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    Love the author

    Karen Traviss is one of my favorite authors. I was so excited to read about some characters from other series. Not the most exciting of books, but I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    A reviewer

    I've always liked this author and this is better than the republic commando books. incredible. i love Boba Fett and actually liked to see a different side of him. thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Jacen's path

    I have to say I'm not totally surprised by the path Jacen's life has taken, but it's still disappointing. I see him following Vader's footsteps to a tee, but I really hope the end of it all will be a little more surprising. I was pretty psyched by the way Han Solo and Boba Fett teamed up. There were so many twists and turns with the characters and their relation to each other. The plot keeps thickening in this book, although some of the others don't progress as quickly or as interestingly. This was probably the best of the eight books so far. I liked the flow of it the best. It focused on much bigger issues than Jacen. I would definately recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6