Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Legacy of the Force #2: Bloodlines

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

one awesome book by karen traviss

this book seriously is awesome its on par with the first book in this amazing book series long live the legacy of the force book series long live darth caedus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by TheReturnOfDeathTroopers on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

"He's taking a different path as a Jedi, that's all"

The second book in the Star Wars: Legacy of the Force series, Bloodlines is written by Karen Traviss and takes place 16 days after the raid on Center Point Station. I could actually feel the difference between Betrayal, written by Aaron Allston, and this episode into St...
The second book in the Star Wars: Legacy of the Force series, Bloodlines is written by Karen Traviss and takes place 16 days after the raid on Center Point Station. I could actually feel the difference between Betrayal, written by Aaron Allston, and this episode into Star Wars saga. I felt more emotion in this book, more connection to the characters, and can actually feel the pain that Jacen is feeling as he makes the decisions he must to learn all that he can of the Sith. There is still plenty of action and drama, but Karen has deepened the characters into 3 dimensional beings and added detail of activities that you don't find yourself wondering how you go there.
I think my greatest peeve against this plot line is how oblivious the Jedi Counsel is to Jacen's decent. They finally realize that something is going on when he becomes a military commander and takes 13 year old Ben Skywalker on raids to round up all of the Corellian on Corusant, whether they were breeding dissent or not; turns out that the Jedi Counsel is only concerned how it will look to have the Jedi Grand Master's son participating in these raids.
Only Luke really sees that Jacen is turning to the Dark Side. Does he confront Jacen? Does he take action to prove that Jacen is being swayed? Does he investigate what is going on? No, he whines to Mara Jade Skywalker, telling her that he doesn't want Ben around that. Really? After what happened with Anakin Skywalker only a generation before?
I did enjoy the window into Boba Fett's life. That his body is giving out on him. That he had a family.
And while I am really hating that no one around Jacen is confronting him about his decision, only getting frustrated that he's not the same kid he used to be.I am enjoying the story line. Watching him try to rationalize the decisions he's making. Trying to justify that by becoming a Sith he will have more ability to influence the force and bring stability to the universe, like his grandfather was supposed to before he lost control and became consumed by the evil.
Unlike when I finished Betrayal, after reading Bloodlines, I am eager to read the third book in the series, Tempest by Troy Denning.

posted by qarae on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    "He's taking a different path as a Jedi, that's all"

    The second book in the Star Wars: Legacy of the Force series, Bloodlines is written by Karen Traviss and takes place 16 days after the raid on Center Point Station. I could actually feel the difference between Betrayal, written by Aaron Allston, and this episode into Star Wars saga. I felt more emotion in this book, more connection to the characters, and can actually feel the pain that Jacen is feeling as he makes the decisions he must to learn all that he can of the Sith. There is still plenty of action and drama, but Karen has deepened the characters into 3 dimensional beings and added detail of activities that you don't find yourself wondering how you go there.
    I think my greatest peeve against this plot line is how oblivious the Jedi Counsel is to Jacen's decent. They finally realize that something is going on when he becomes a military commander and takes 13 year old Ben Skywalker on raids to round up all of the Corellian on Corusant, whether they were breeding dissent or not; turns out that the Jedi Counsel is only concerned how it will look to have the Jedi Grand Master's son participating in these raids.
    Only Luke really sees that Jacen is turning to the Dark Side. Does he confront Jacen? Does he take action to prove that Jacen is being swayed? Does he investigate what is going on? No, he whines to Mara Jade Skywalker, telling her that he doesn't want Ben around that. Really? After what happened with Anakin Skywalker only a generation before?
    I did enjoy the window into Boba Fett's life. That his body is giving out on him. That he had a family.
    And while I am really hating that no one around Jacen is confronting him about his decision, only getting frustrated that he's not the same kid he used to be.I am enjoying the story line. Watching him try to rationalize the decisions he's making. Trying to justify that by becoming a Sith he will have more ability to influence the force and bring stability to the universe, like his grandfather was supposed to before he lost control and became consumed by the evil.
    Unlike when I finished Betrayal, after reading Bloodlines, I am eager to read the third book in the series, Tempest by Troy Denning.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2014

    The second in the 9 volume Legacy of the Force collection, Karen

    The second in the 9 volume Legacy of the Force collection, Karen Traviss' Bloodlines packs in a lot of story, much more than in the first book of the series. With the Galactic Alliance teetering on becoming the Empire that it was formed to overthrow, everyone is starting to take sides, even down to the Skywalker/Solo families, as relationships are strained. Han, a proud Corillian is hit hardest as his people are rounded up as the enemy by none other than his son Jacen, who appears to be following in the footsteps of his infamous Sith grandfather. Meanwhile, a dying Boba Fett goes on a hunt for a scientist who has the data from the cloning of Jango Fett. This data could save his life, which for once is starting to mean a great deal to him. With Death in his immediate future, Fett's thoughts turn to his family and the daughter who tried to kill him.

    I liked the Boba Fett storyline much more than the Solo family meltdown and the disturbing shift in Alliance policy. Karen Traviss feels much more vested in these aspects and I felt there was enough there to be a separate book from the main novel. As we read of the rioting on Corusant and the appointment of Jaycen as a Colonel of covert operations, one cannot help but see the parallels with world events in current times. While it is interesting to see these things projected into the fut...uh I mean past, I like Star Wars for escapism reasons and this felt a little too familiar to me.

    Karen Traviss is a great author and after reading Bloodlines, I will definitely be going back and picking up some of her earlier novels on the Republic Commandos. I liked her take on Mandalorians, namely Boba himself. The Legacy of the Force storyline is still in its infancy during this second book in the series and as such there is a lot of ramp up material present. I like the handling of Jaycen and feel that he will turn out to be one of the better extended universe villains (I haven't finished the series yet so that is speculation.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    Boba should be dead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Bloodlines

    The way this book is written makes the Jedi seem rather stupid when dealing with the Sith. Granted the Jedi aren't always supposed to know when the Sith are around but the whole thing with Jacen and his powers, come on. I really wanted to like this book but found it hard to do so. Its like the Jedi never learn how to do deal with the Sith. Could have been written a bit better imo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1