Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

this book seriously is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this book proves karen traviss is one of the best star wars authors out there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by PeterPanForever on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A once promising franchise, destroyed

The Star Wars extended universe officially jumps the shark in this book. As if The New Jedi Order series hadn't done enough dreary damage to once long-beloved characters, the Legacy of the Force series turns them stupid, willfully blind and just plain moronic. Featuring...
The Star Wars extended universe officially jumps the shark in this book. As if The New Jedi Order series hadn't done enough dreary damage to once long-beloved characters, the Legacy of the Force series turns them stupid, willfully blind and just plain moronic. Featuring one of the most pathetic villains in the EU to date (and considering the books written by Kevin J. Anderson, that's saying something) and the complete character assassination of the leading cast, Sacrifice is unreadable. Which, considering that author Karen Traviss is firmly on record as saying she hates to read novels, only comes as a surprise to the brain trusts at Del Rey who hired her. Traviss should stick to the two-dimensional video game characters for whom she has such an affinity and leave her rather sketchy political leanings out of the Star Wars universe (soldiers with big guns are kewl, Jedi and all their respect for life schtick are douches.)

The only thing that can save the EU now is a complete reboot.

Stay far, far away from this series.

posted by 5154342 on November 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    this book seriously is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book proves karen traviss is one of the best star wars authors out there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    the book is worthy of the name star wars

    this book series is amazing i do not understand why people dislike both karen traviss and troy denning because both those authors i gave alot credit to i also give aaron allston alot of credit as well this book series is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love all 3 authors who made the legacy of the force book series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    this book series does not need a reboot karen traviss is and alw

    this book series does not need a reboot karen traviss is and always will
    be one of the greatest star wars eu authors in my honest opinon shes
    better than christie golden plus her books are awesome and the book
    reminds me of the author who wrote the first book in this book yes her
    writing is on par with both troy denning and aaron allston heck man shes
    even on par with both timothy zahn and michael stackpole and plus her
    writing is also on par with matthew stover and drew karpyshyn

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book series

    better than the twilight saga and the harry potter series star wars wins yet again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    A once promising franchise, destroyed

    The Star Wars extended universe officially jumps the shark in this book. As if The New Jedi Order series hadn't done enough dreary damage to once long-beloved characters, the Legacy of the Force series turns them stupid, willfully blind and just plain moronic. Featuring one of the most pathetic villains in the EU to date (and considering the books written by Kevin J. Anderson, that's saying something) and the complete character assassination of the leading cast, Sacrifice is unreadable. Which, considering that author Karen Traviss is firmly on record as saying she hates to read novels, only comes as a surprise to the brain trusts at Del Rey who hired her. Traviss should stick to the two-dimensional video game characters for whom she has such an affinity and leave her rather sketchy political leanings out of the Star Wars universe (soldiers with big guns are kewl, Jedi and all their respect for life schtick are douches.)

    The only thing that can save the EU now is a complete reboot.

    Stay far, far away from this series.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Good addition to the series

    Let me start off by saying I don't like Karen Traviss. I don't like her writing style, I don't like how she portrays her characters, and I have no interest in the characters she seems to push to the forefront of her books.
    The only thing I do like about her writing style is the little quotations at the beginning of her chapters.

    With that said this was a pretty good book. Overall much more exciting than Exile. The character of Mara Jade Skylwalker takes a role ahead of many of the other characters in this book which is both good and bad. I don't like the character and at time she can seem kind of flat and overall she is very central to this book and her role is very important.

    Jacen's character is written fairly well in this book and Ben really starts to come into his own as a introspective and intelligent person. I would say more on the both of them but I don't want to reveal anything.

    If you have liked the other books in this series so far you should definitely continue on and read this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Hey read this!!!!!

    MARA JADE SKYWALKER DIES IN THIS BOOK!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    I love mara jade

    Too bad she dies in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    So so

    This was far better than the previous book in the series. It would be nice if Luke was more like the Luke of the past. Jacen's path to distruction needs to be more reckless. I'm disappointed in his character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    This was a Traviss-ty of a novel, not worthy of the Star Wars name...

    Just awful. Two-dimensional characters rife with personalities that don't match previous novels...I have to wonder if Karen Traviss did ANY research whatsoever before writing this. She doesn't like to read, so it wouldn't be surprising. She doesn't get attached to her characters, so that's another negative point. It is riddled with "sacrifices" that don't actually mean anything, other than it just being poorly chosen. The writing's not completely bad, but I have to say her choice of direction for this novel was just awful.

    She said it was her idea to kill off the most popular, most beloved character of the Star Wars Expanded Universe -- EVER. I can only hope Traviss NEVER comes back to the realm of Star Wars to inflict this kind of single-handed damage to the Star Wars universe. Maybe she'll just stick to her pets, the Mandalorians and Boba Fett, so I can skip any books she writes in the series.

    She focuses way too much on the Mandalorians and completely rewrites the classic characters as we know them. Luke, Mara, everyone involved, just completely go off the deep end and do things completely out of character. Traviss doesn't even try to justify their actions; just makes them completely deranged and out of their heads. I can't even begin to explain how bad this book is. Complete waste of time. Unfortunately, George Lucas put his okay on this, and we're stuck with it.

    I just wish George would get his head out of the Dark Side of his butt and give the Star Wars franchise over to someone who actually cares about the success of Star Wars, and not just keep letting it spiral out of control into the Dark Abyss of Ridiculousness. The Yuuzhan Vong war (series) was bad enough, and it just keeps riding the downward slope into oblivion with Traviss' latest installment.

    Hopefully her newest military series will keep her involved and away from Star Wars for the rest of eternity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The pivotal book in the Legacy series

    This is the novel that will set the tone for the rest of the series. It is shocking, sad, and exciting all at once. The story gives great goodbye to excellent characters.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great continuation of the Star Wars Saga

    The Legacy of the Force series continues to expand the characters we have grown to love. The three authors who are writing this series really kept you in suspense as they slowly build the excitement. The subplot with Boba Fett and the mandalores is great and gives some much needed insught into this favorite character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    Awesome

    At this point this is my favorite book in the series. Great twists that will make you want to finish and the other books in the series even faster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Pleasant Book to Escape the Daily Grind

    I am a recent Star Wars fan thanks to my eight-year-old son. I shrugged my shoulders and decided to start reading this series. I began reading Star Wars because my son and I read the comic books together to help keep his interest in reading. I enjoyed this book, and the others in the series, at night before I go to sleep. Sometimes, I find it difficult to put these books down. These books help me escape my long work days for approximately an hour a night, and beats turning on the television.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Heartbreaking

    I was so sad when I saw the cover of this book. Excellent book. It shows how far someone can actually turn. The death of such a dominant character is always hard, but that was definately the way to do it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    He Will Strengthen Himself Through Sacrifice...

    Sacrifice is, by far, the greatest of Legacy of the Force series thus created. Darth Cadeaus's ascention to Dark Lord of the Sith is phenomenal, and comparable to Anakin's own tragic 'fall'. Lots of philosophizing about the Force and what is 'right' and 'wrong' in terms of Jedi and Sith, and the concept of balance and order out of chaos is constantly addressed, keeping the reader consistantly engaged. The Sith will have their revenge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have read all the LOTF books and being a Star Wars dork rate it above any other book series in the Star wars galaxy yet. This book is the best one since PoD and Star by Star. Everyone must die sooner or later, and now was the time for this person, but life must go on if the sith are not to rule the galaxy again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    Great Book

    The best part about this book, is finally seeing Jacen cross the line of no return. Jacen was one of my favorite characters from the NJO and the Swarm Wars books, to see someone that changed the way the jedi viewed the force become a sith is great. I love once again how Jacen parallels Anakin both were going to be the future of the Jedi, Anakin almost eradicated them and Jacen is following the same path. My big question is what EU character will he kill next? I wouldn't be surprised if it was my favorite starwars characted Corron Horn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Sacrifice is a nuclear bomb that just went off. I wasn left speechless because I have been waiting for so long for something like his to happen. I now know that this is the tip of the iceberg and more people are going to be removed from the series. The one problem that I have always had with Star Wars is that for a story that encompasses an entire universe, a majority of the characters that were there 50 years ago are still involved in the shaping of the uvinverse. Our society does not emulate this principle. Jacen is the changing of the guard. Maybe not as we expected, but nevertheless, people are going to start to have a bad day. I can't wait to see how this all unfolds, but I would like to see Han killed and Luke switching sides. Those are my predictions. Until the next book, may the force be with you, because it is leaving some of the other characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Moving

    Karen Traviss has ascended to the lofty ranks of Masters Zahn and Denning. This installment in the LOTF has altered the Star Wars galaxy more than any book in this series, or any EU book since Star by Star. The 'Sacrifice' involved, brought to mind the same emotions as when Anakin Solo become one with the Force. Things will truly never be the same again. Aside from that :) ..... the author's depiction of Boba Fett, his relationship with Mirta, and his difficulty accepting his role as Mandalore opens up a whole different side to the galaxies greatest bounty hunter. Let's just hope Luke finallly takes action in the next one. For Ben's sake.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5