Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Legacy of the Force #7: Fury

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    The End is Begun

    The last third of the LOTF series starts off strong with Allston's last entry in the series. The story has a very new hope/empire feel to it, and the concentration on Han and Leia for much of the novel really brings the story together. Jacen's continued development as an antagonist continues in ways not unexpected, but certainly a little intense. The tone is set for a dramatic end with only two books left, and the alliances of the main characters finally being put in place in a more polarizing fashion makes the eventualy showdown all the more anticipated. Roll that all in with the story finally making Allana into a character and not a Mcguffin for Jacen's ambitions and you have a very solid entry from Allston.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    "Fury" of A life Time

    Love the way Jacen is following the foot steps of his grandfather.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good star wars series

    This book show you sets the stage right after Mara died and goes on to show you Jacen at his lowest but tells the lengths Ben goes for venegance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the battle rages on good vs evil who will win who will lose

    amazing book in the series lots of everything that is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book

    Probably my least favorite of the series. Still it's a must read. It adds the details needed for the whole story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Best of The Legacy of the Force series so far

    This has got to be the best of the Legacy of the Force series. It has all the formula needed for a star wars novel and more... A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    The Apex of Legacy of the Force

    I must say, Legacy of the Force has been, thus far, a turbulent yet brilliant combination of action, dialogue, intrigue, tragedy, and humor. In addition, and more significantly, it contains plenty of lightsaber duels and Force philosophizing - what every Star Wars fan not only hopes, but expects, to see in a Star Wars novel, to bear the powerful traditions of the films. Fury is, undoubtedly, one of the greatest of the Legacy of the Force series (besides, of course, Sacrifice, which is indeed the most memorable). It certinly has the best dialogue of the novels, and the author has finally assumed the wise decision of explioting the obvious talents of Kyle Katarn (not to mention popularity') to increase the novel's suspense and relieve the reader from Jacen (or shall I say Caedus), Jaina, Han, Leia, Zekk, Luke, and the rest of the gang for a while, and even contains an amusing and rather artfully executed 'suprise' concerning Lando. Morever, it has a short dialogue between Han and Leia that is possibly one of the greatest I have read in a Star Wars novel. Leia: Han? Han: Yeah, sweetie? Leia: How do you teach a man not to be a noble, long-suffering, self-sacrificing idiot? Han: I don't know, sweetie. Mostly I shoot them. Leia: I'll consider that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Outstandingly good LOTF.

    This is a very well written book, but I am a bit mad that the Jedi won't just kill Jacen when they get the chance. This is what, the third time they could have? Still this book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Good, but..

    The name 'Fury' doesn't seem to apply to this book, I actually think Fury applies to Inferno, like when Jacen and Luke fight, but story is great read, Allston does best job in LOTF imo. Yay now i get to read about mandos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force: Fury

    This book is amazing. None stop action from the begining, this is probly my favorite book of the series, so much is goin on that I could not put it down. I liked that the Jedi Council has more of an active role in trying to end the war and Jacens reign of terror, and how Ben Skywalker gets through to luke who has been on a steady decline since the death of mara. I also love the way Jacen has really embraced his sith teachings becoming a true tyrant like his grandfather, ruling with an iron fist and comanding respect by fear. I just hope the next books deliver as good a story this one did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    i agree with the reviewer who gave this book 2 stars, but i give it 1 star. the whole LOTF story arc is so lame! it's inconsistent, and dragged out to 9 BOOKS just to make money, in my opinion. if LOTF had been made into a 3 book arc, it would have forced the authors to write a better story, instead of filling each and every one of these books with boring nonsense!! ALL of the main characters - especially Jacen - are doing and saying things that make no sense from one page to the next, not to mention the characters as they have been defined by previous novels! anyone who read these and liked them must not have read any other Star Wars novels first. some are really great writing - how about the Zahn books - they are wonderful, as is the whole NJO series. i don't know what happened here, and i am at a loss as to why some people like these. of course, the Dark Nest trilogy was also really bad. it seems Lucas Books and Del Ray are into money making big time now, instead of keeping the quality of the novels high. the LOTF novels would also have made great graphic novels instead of 9 MIND-NUMBING novels where the authors had to invent a whole lot of filler material. yuck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    Whole series is poor

    I agree totally with Ann and J. What makes this worse for me is that the idea and the series could be very good. Although, many previous topics in this series have obviously come from the original books, the chance to tell these from the perspective of the evil side hadn't been done. It's difficult to 'believe a fiction book' when some characters continually cheat death while others are weeded out in ways that aren't consistent with the reality they have created. It's like they are getting ready to start over when this series is done, but don't bother to dispose of characters in proper ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force: Fury

    Fury is a five star read. It is indicative of the entire Legacy of the Force series. It has brought me back into Star Wars books by bringing back emotional depth and the pulpy space opera feel to the Star Wars book line. The biggest mistake ever made was the NJO series and now after the Dark Nest Trilogy and the Legacy of the Force series things are now ACTUALLY reading and feeling like Star Wars and not some knock off Star Trek series. Aaron Allston has given another very good entry into this series and I loved every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    Balance Of The Force?

    These are great books... if you disregard most of the original cannon. With the end of Return of the Jedi, the Sith were supposed to have been defeated. Forever. While this puts an end to the continuing saga, it is the real story. With that out of the way, these are fantastic books. I highly recommended them to any fans of the Star Wars universe that is willing to suspend their suspension of disbelief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    'Fury', while not the worst Star Wars Expanded Univers novel is definitely not worth the Five Star rating these other reviewers are giving it. First of all, as a stand alone novel this would confuse the heck out of anyone not familiar with the previous New Jedi Order and Legacy of the Force series books. There is no overall plot and this novel simply serves to build upon and tie up loose ends to previous installments in the series so far. I'm also not crazy about the characterization of Jacen Solo/Darth Caedus. His motives aren't anywhere near as complex as Anakin Skywalker/Darth Vader were in prequel trilogy 'and I hated the prequel trilogy', and his fall from grace has been so easy to predict that his character has become very two dimensional. He seems to do things just because he's a Sith now, and that's how Sith do things. He wants order for orders sake'at least in this novel', not because he has some misguided sense of what's right like Anakin/Vader did. His sister Jaina on the other hand is obviously being set up as the big hero at the end of this series and other than her temper tantrums and emotional distance from everyone around her she doesn't seem to have anything to contribute to the story. She doesn't have any great hurdles to overcome other than being, as Jag puts it, a 'good Sword, but a bad Jedi'. I would much rather see Ben Skywalker become the archetype 'young hero' that Luke was the movies, than see anymore of Jaina's 'poor me, I have to do this all alone' attitude. My biggest complaint with the series and this book so far has been the reliance on the prequel trilogy for ideas and themes. It's dark, dreary and overall depressing. It has none of the hope and promise that a group of heroes fighting against all odds and building a better world had at the start of the Star Wars universe. And that is a very sad thing indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Must Read

    The 'Legacy Of The Force' series were the first starwars books I have ever read, they are some of the best books I have ever read. For people that liked the movies and wondered what happened after. Well there are many books that continue the series, but these are the best, with Luke the most powerful Jedi in the universe and his nephew the new Sith Lord who rivals his powers, these books hooked me into the starwars books. Must Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Why can't these come out faster!!!

    This series has been fantastic! I love the way they mirror the original trilogy, but add the new cast and freshness. As someone who grew up with Ep 4-6, it's fun to look at what Jacen does and how it compares to Vader. My only complaint for the series is that I have to wait months before the next book comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    This series is going nowhere but up,up,up. If you're a big fan of the star wars novels,'legacy' wont disappoint. Trust me, i work at a bookstore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    After inferno, Luke 'GrandMAster' Skywalker, returns to defeat the New Sith lord Darth Cadeaus. Is he really the Lord of all siths or is there another who awaits to detrone him? Does Boba Fett and his grandaugter return for his revenge? The greatest storylines and story archs, in the history of STAR WARS return with another in the best of all StarWars Expanded Universe novels . These books keep getting better and better, some one has to wake up and make these into a movie! There to good not too! All i can say is, by this book on site,! myspace.com/vinylspotter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4