Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Republic Commando #1: Hard Contact

Average Rating 4.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Well Written

I enjoyed a story about the inner workings of the clone psyche and how that relates to how they live and fight. That being said this book didn't exactly keep me on the edge of my seat which is kind of what I was expecting but I wouldn't say I was disappointed in the sto...
I enjoyed a story about the inner workings of the clone psyche and how that relates to how they live and fight. That being said this book didn't exactly keep me on the edge of my seat which is kind of what I was expecting but I wouldn't say I was disappointed in the story line. The implied complications of the Clone/Jedi relationship is an interesting angle. I look forward to reading the next book.

posted by spit9lvr on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

SLOW

This was a goodbbook but you have to admit it was pretty slow for almost half the book they talked about their game plan in a shack. I picked this book up thinking it woul be action packed but really nothing ever happened it was boring for most of the book but the only ...
This was a goodbbook but you have to admit it was pretty slow for almost half the book they talked about their game plan in a shack. I picked this book up thinking it woul be action packed but really nothing ever happened it was boring for most of the book but the only battles were short and a lot of the words they used u would need to be a major nerd to know no affense i mean i like SWars too but i wouldnt take the time to know all the names of these guns unless i was Mr. Lucas my self! But come on this book was slow nothing happpened it was boring at most times the breifing at the begging of the book was like 50 pages please miss traviss next time please make things more interesting.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well Written

    I enjoyed a story about the inner workings of the clone psyche and how that relates to how they live and fight. That being said this book didn't exactly keep me on the edge of my seat which is kind of what I was expecting but I wouldn't say I was disappointed in the story line. The implied complications of the Clone/Jedi relationship is an interesting angle. I look forward to reading the next book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Awsome

    Most star wars books are awsome but the ones about commandos are the best ever!!!!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    YES?

    This is an Amazing book and an amazing series. Traviss is a Briliant writer and really makes you connect and feel for the charactors in her books, from the prologue til the very last page and beyond. I would reccommend this book and the entire series to Anyone and Everyone! It's just plain awesome!. =) these books are an Amazing deal too!! Only $8 a piece and this is one of my favorite series of All Time. =) Everyone shud buy these books, and Everyone should read them. =)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Realism.

    What brought me into this story-line so emphatically, aside from its incredible portrayal of the main characters, was an ultra-realistic side of Star Wars I've never seen before. It's obvious that Traviss has had an extensive military background to depict war so pragmatically in a fantasy world. All in all I think this is a very noteworthy and remarkable depiction of the Clone Wars as seen from some very awesome Commandos.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Outstanding!

    In addition to Karen Traviss' mastery of military details, the story moves with no slowness. She does an excellent job developing the characters that you feel for. The story moves with the fluidity of a movie. Then again, when you read her bio and see she's a screenwriter it explains that. I literally tried to find every opportunity to read this book. And she sets things up for the events that occur in the next book "Triple Zero".

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good

    Awsome book, just like the game.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Awesome

    I only have the sample, but it is really awesome. The series is really good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    amazing

    i could read this all day

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Kji

    Awesome

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Awesome

    The best book. I will reread over and over again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    I will read it again and again!

    Its my first star wars book, love the films and cartoons, but this gave me a 3 dimensional view of the Clones. Its an easy enough read that if your not a SW fanboy you will still enjoy this book on its human espionage merit alone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Read it! Love it! Enjoy it!

    Great novel that is full of action scenes and talking scenes. About equal amount. Still a great novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Amazing book

    Not big on reading, but this was so good that I couldn't put it down very much so worth the buy and read!!! Nick

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    this book very long in the sense of conversation.but it is a great story in the overall rating.it needs more action though.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    Who knew clones were so different from each other? This gave me a whole new outlook in the Star Wars universe. I was hooked from the first page. I could not put this book down! It's the beginning of an amazing series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Awesome!!!

    This is an awesome book and I would reccomend reading it if you like Star Wars books. It's an overall great book!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    wow........ amazing!

    I never liked star wars novels until I bought this book. I can not wait to get the next 3 books in this series. Wow..... Amazing! Buy it, rent it, whatever, just make sure you get it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Go Go Go! To buy this book.

    If you like star wars I would think it almost impossible for you to not like this book. It is a great book to start a series with, but could just as easily be a stand alone novel. However if you read this book, even if you don't like it read the additional books as well, or your perspective will be clouded.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    BEST ONE EVER !!!!

    The book blew me to Geonoasis!!! It felt like I was actauly a clone commando troop waiting to be given orders.I think it is the best book in the whole wide world!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    A ripping good yarn

    I devoured this book. I devour many books but my problem with this one was not being able to take it along with me as I do most paperbacks to read during dull moments on the train or in hearings; people label you if you're seen reading Star Wars books. But I wasn't reading it for Star Wars, I was reading it for Karen Traviss. I was introduced to this wonderful author with 'City of Pearl' and followed up woth 'Crossing the Line', only to find disappointment in learning that book three isn't published yet. She has a gift for characters and dialogue and there seems little wasted in painting the scene while moving the plot; no overblown imagery, just sharp, taut stories that grab you by the throat and hold you to the end. Hard Contact doesn't disappoint. You know the universe, you know who's good and who's bad but Ms. Traviss reveals a side that's unsuspected -- clones with personality and feelings. What this book really reminds me of is Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six series. The Squad is quietly competent, dedicated to their duty, intent on their objective. And the interplay between the clones could be any group of highly trained soldiers;full of gallows humor, understated and sarcastic, fatalistic and still determined to accomplish the objective. My favorite line in the book is, 'Drink-spilling nervous?' You'll see: the timimg is perfect. A four star rating because the ending is so predictable. But Hard Contact is a page turner, a roller coaster in 300 pages that you want to turn around and ride again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9