BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Republic Commando #1: Hard Contact

Average Rating 4.5
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Well Written

I enjoyed a story about the inner workings of the clone psyche and how that relates to how they live and fight. That being said this book didn't exactly keep me on the edge of my seat which is kind of what I was expecting but I wouldn't say I was disappointed in the sto...
I enjoyed a story about the inner workings of the clone psyche and how that relates to how they live and fight. That being said this book didn't exactly keep me on the edge of my seat which is kind of what I was expecting but I wouldn't say I was disappointed in the story line. The implied complications of the Clone/Jedi relationship is an interesting angle. I look forward to reading the next book.

posted by spit9lvr on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

SLOW

This was a goodbbook but you have to admit it was pretty slow for almost half the book they talked about their game plan in a shack. I picked this book up thinking it woul be action packed but really nothing ever happened it was boring for most of the book but the only ...
This was a goodbbook but you have to admit it was pretty slow for almost half the book they talked about their game plan in a shack. I picked this book up thinking it woul be action packed but really nothing ever happened it was boring for most of the book but the only battles were short and a lot of the words they used u would need to be a major nerd to know no affense i mean i like SWars too but i wouldnt take the time to know all the names of these guns unless i was Mr. Lucas my self! But come on this book was slow nothing happpened it was boring at most times the breifing at the begging of the book was like 50 pages please miss traviss next time please make things more interesting.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well Written

    I enjoyed a story about the inner workings of the clone psyche and how that relates to how they live and fight. That being said this book didn't exactly keep me on the edge of my seat which is kind of what I was expecting but I wouldn't say I was disappointed in the story line. The implied complications of the Clone/Jedi relationship is an interesting angle. I look forward to reading the next book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Realism.

    What brought me into this story-line so emphatically, aside from its incredible portrayal of the main characters, was an ultra-realistic side of Star Wars I've never seen before. It's obvious that Traviss has had an extensive military background to depict war so pragmatically in a fantasy world. All in all I think this is a very noteworthy and remarkable depiction of the Clone Wars as seen from some very awesome Commandos.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    A ripping good yarn

    I devoured this book. I devour many books but my problem with this one was not being able to take it along with me as I do most paperbacks to read during dull moments on the train or in hearings; people label you if you're seen reading Star Wars books. But I wasn't reading it for Star Wars, I was reading it for Karen Traviss. I was introduced to this wonderful author with 'City of Pearl' and followed up woth 'Crossing the Line', only to find disappointment in learning that book three isn't published yet. She has a gift for characters and dialogue and there seems little wasted in painting the scene while moving the plot; no overblown imagery, just sharp, taut stories that grab you by the throat and hold you to the end. Hard Contact doesn't disappoint. You know the universe, you know who's good and who's bad but Ms. Traviss reveals a side that's unsuspected -- clones with personality and feelings. What this book really reminds me of is Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six series. The Squad is quietly competent, dedicated to their duty, intent on their objective. And the interplay between the clones could be any group of highly trained soldiers;full of gallows humor, understated and sarcastic, fatalistic and still determined to accomplish the objective. My favorite line in the book is, 'Drink-spilling nervous?' You'll see: the timimg is perfect. A four star rating because the ending is so predictable. But Hard Contact is a page turner, a roller coaster in 300 pages that you want to turn around and ride again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Played the game

    I have and played the game... all right WANT THE BOOK!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Good book

    Great book buy it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Pretty good

    It needs a little more star wars spice

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Pretty good

    Have all five books and this is my fifth favorite but it was good read them out of order mabey that was my problem

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The book you have always wanted.

    Wow! What a great way to kick off the Republic Commando series! This book puts you in the middle of the Clone Wars with a rough-and-tumble team of elite commandos who are the only survivors of their original squads. As they fight through the wilderness to try to find a hidden science lab that is bent on finding the ultimate virus to eliminate the clones from the galaxy. I recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Tttttt

    YayYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This is a xbox game as well

    This book is about some of the missions in the middle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2