Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Republic Commando #2: Triple Zero

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow but striking. A sequel that doesn't square what the origina

Slow but striking. A sequel that doesn't square what the original came up with but cubes it.

posted by Thorne2112 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Waiting for it to get good

I struggled through this book is an understatement. Every time it started to get remotely interesting it turned into something long drawn out and boring. The book did have a few redeeming qualities for one it is written well. I can't say anything bad about character dev...
I struggled through this book is an understatement. Every time it started to get remotely interesting it turned into something long drawn out and boring. The book did have a few redeeming qualities for one it is written well. I can't say anything bad about character development. This book started out exciting and strong then got mired in endless waiting for some action. There are some things that happen in the book and I wonder where if anywhere the author is taking this and how she will fit it into the overall storyline of the star wars universe. All in all I will read the next book in this series I just hope it doesn't become another reading chore. I can't honestly say I would recommend this book unless you super interested star wars "lore"
Well thanks for reading my review and remember reading is a privilege so take advantage of it as often as you can.

posted by spit9lvr on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    This book is mostly character development but is great in the end

    This is a bit slow but speeds up later. Delta squad really helps and has diffferent personality. Vau seems to harsh on Atin and blames him for his brothers deaths. Kal Skirata is more strict than he seems but is still a good character. My favorite character is Bardan Jusik. I totally recomend. [T]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Karen Traviss has a gift, and that is prying into the lives of h

    Karen Traviss has a gift, and that is prying into the lives of her characters and laying bare their souls, hearts, desires, and ambitions. Omega Squad is a team of elite clone commandos, bred to do their job, fight, and/or die if need be. They used to be contented with their role . . . but now, having tasted life in the galaxy, begin to wonder if they're more than subhuman warriors. Sergeant Kal Skirata, a stubborn, paternal Mandalorian mercenary, certainly thinks so. Early on in the war, he adopted six misfits, the "Null ARCs", and they are as beloved to him as sons. Etain Tur-Maken, a Jedi, believes that the clones are human as well. Omega squad (Darman, Fixer, Niner, Fi, and Atin), Skirata, Etain, and the Null clones all find their lives woven together by this devastating war tearing apart the galaxy.

    Personally, I loved Traviss's style. She brings her characters to live, flaws and all, and brings them together in a formidable force for family and each other. The author used this book to bring to mind some of the moral issues in the Star Wars universe (dehumanizing humans, cloning, etc), and argues for parenthood and the rights of the downtrodden. However, she undermines it with other issues (death, lack of honor, an affair, etc). The series is written in a darker tone than the original movies . . . is it really worth the read?

    To sum it up, Karen Traviss opens up a different viewpoint of the famous galaxy. She points out and tackles moral flaws in the galaxy . . . but she undermines it with moral problems of her own. If you're looking for something lighthearted and classical to remember Lucas's epic series, then this probably isn't the book for you. However, if you're one for dark and gritty, than this book is for you. I wish I could recommend this book, but due to certain issues, I'm afraid I can't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    This was a very good book if you like Science fiction and know a

    This was a very good book if you like Science fiction and know anything about the topic. If you know some background of the series to that would help. The characters were really good. I especially like Darman. He was one of the clone commandos. I especially recommend this book. I didn't think I would like it because I don't like reading but this was really good. Just about every page was action. AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    KANDOSII!

    Kovid lo'shebs'ul narit, spit9lvr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Reply to split9lvr

    Your tast in books sucks and its a great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Most awesomely cool epic pee your pants book.

    Everything i said on top is ture connor.
    %$&&352&&3*$&#&$&"&":'*'*'-;*&%*fyfydthxhcchgjfhxgbfhfgtejtctrcjvjxrxhjctthgsgsydgdhdhfdjdvccjcvxhhshgutghhgugdjvjbihufhcjbfjbhfddhfhhhhfhfhfhfhdjsjsjsjkjjjjjjnf#u%c&hdhjd$*h*$dggdgdhdugdjfidvhbddbhhdgdjhvdmhdeterwuwdcvkhxj

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good

    It was a very goog book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Good

    This was so much better than the first one miss travis thank you for making it more interesting! At parts in the first book i would just put it down and come back later it was so boring but this i couldnt put down thank u!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Best book ever

    LOOK AT UPPER BOX!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Nice book!

    Only have the sample but can tell its going to be a pretty good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Best ever

    Sorry about the tippos kniw is know and draa is drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    One of the best books I have ever read

    I have read the first one and I am only on chapter five and it is very good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Loved it

    Not all sequles are better then the original or even as good but this one was, pick it up and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    I Best series in STAR WARS!

    I highly reccommend this entire series. It was very entertaining and provided a fresh and different look into the clone troopers lives and their side of the story. Karen Traviss is a fantastic author and well worth her salt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Can't stop Star Wars Fans

    Great book to add to your Star Wars library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    R&R Commando Style.

    I'll star by saying this book, and the whole series for that matter, happens to be the best Star Wars depiction as far as realistic qualities I'v read. The only problem I had with Triple Zero is its lack of momentum in the story-line, but what it lacks in plot it makes up for in better character portrayal and exploration than Hard Contact. Overall counterterrorism seems to be the main plight facing our Commandos and they do a superb job of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Great rainy day reading

    I really enjoyed this book. It's action packed throughout with some humorous situations. If you like the other books in the Star Wars series be sure to try this one. The Republic Commando books are really good. I am looking forward to reading the third book in the trilogy. Don't just save it for a rainy day.

    Read and reviewed by a 9 yr old boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Grat book

    This was a great book i could not bilive how funny and cool it was if you like star was books you will like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Special forces + Terrorrists = classic

    This is yet another great book from the "Queen of Scifi" Karren Travis. The story line is great and I like the introduction to Delta Squad into the series. Some of the ethics are questionable, but, this is the Special Forces. So if you're looking for a good action/adventure book, this should be one of your books in consideration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Go Go Go! To buy this book.

    If you've never read the first book, don't read this one. If you have read the first one, Go Go Go! To buy this book. Well what are you waiting for? Go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6