Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Republic Commando #4: Order 66

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    reply to quigonreborn

    First let me say that your review while somewhat inaccurate was very well spoken. However i most heartily DISAGREE with your assement! karen traviss has done with her writing something that should have been done almost from the begining, She has put a human face on the faceless. The clone troopers are in the movie are portrayed as little better than the droid forces that they were fighting! But here comes Karen Traviss who come out and says loud and clear what the other writers would only hint at, that the republic at large sees the clones as little better than slaves. Even the jedi themselves (with a few notable exceptions) don't see the clones as human the way that u or i are. What I find refreshing about Karen's writing is that it puts a real face on the star wars universe (warts, moles pimples and all). Where the jedi are not always the good guys, That mandalorians are more than just mercs and bounty hunters and that one of the mandos and a a pair of jedi knights (one of them pregnant by a clone soldier) seem to be the only ones who really see the clones a human beings who are being selfishly used. Lets also not forget that the real bad guy, Palpatine aka darth sidious is the whole reason that the clone army exists in the first place playing both sides against the middle. So in conclusion i think your review was somewhat harsh on the writing of a very talented author. I recomend to all who read this review to read the entire republic commando series, It's a very well written story and it's a story real enough for all to relate to.<BR/><BR/>Peter Oakley

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    You Can Almost Hear the Imperial March

    I just finished reading Order 66 and I have to say it was worth the wait. As this is the first novel to tell the story from the clones point of view, I thinkk it exceptionally telling when one of the Jedi tries to explain their coup against a democratically elected Chancellors by saying 'He´s a Sith!' and the clone (Captain Maze) answers 'What´s a Sith?' showing the clones really were just pawns in a bigger game being played by both Palpatine and to a lesser extent, Jango Fett. The character developement in this novel is particularly good, as we see professional soldiers struggle with doing their duty to a government they have no tie to (never took an oath, no contract) and deserting to look for a better full life. I really liked the dialogue between Null and Alpha ARC troopers as a device to show the stark difference in how each views his lot in life. An excellent book all around!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Ridely Raven Ive been checking and i havent seen anything what

    Ridely Raven
    Ive been checking and i havent seen anything what did it say respond on (The White Cottage Mystery) by Margery Allingham. i hope you have a happy new year i wish there was some way i could see you lol im going into the new year at work until 2AM!!! at least i wont be broke going into the new year i geuss i hope your new year is great :) i miss u

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    RIDELY RAVEN i hope you have a good night love you and miss you

    RIDELY RAVEN

    i hope you have a good night love you and miss you

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Xx killerXx

    This is a great book it folows the clone wars.They all DYE :0 Spoiler alert

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is so epic

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Karen Traviss, slow and boring.

    Ms. Traviss writes well but is slow and boring. She creates a story that is too much like real life, long periods of no action, slow and dragging along with short periods of action. It should be more action and actions and less "touchy-feely" exploration. I read to get the touchy feely, thoughts of the characters and so on but there are better ways to do it.
    I am reading L.A. Banks and she does a great job of that, she carries you along. With Traviss you have to fight to get there. I had an acquaintance decide to stop reading the whole SW series (his loss) because of her books.
    I am glad she got the work but there are far better writers for the SW galaxy than she.
    Overall Order 66 is a good book and answers some questions and fills in some holes. I do think that the surrounding galaxy events are missed somewhat. I can not detail them here but they come to mind as I read.
    I wish someone would seriously address the other force users in the SW galaxy, not as adversaries only and off their planets as well as force sensitives who were never trained, there had to be some.
    The Jedi do not look good in this book and that is good as it makes them as people more "human" especially with their institutional blindness to the total situation and to the duping of Skywalker, can one be too good?
    There has to be something about the Clones that got away, what happened, did were more kids born, any force sensitive? What happened to them.
    A galaxy full of stories.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for the Republic Commando Series

    excellent characterization, helps to understand the differance between the good guys and the bad guys and the corruption between the similarites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    Sad End

    What else would you expect with a book titled "Order 66," it's gloomy and final. It was also a great addition to the Republic Commando series. I've enjoyed the characters that Traviss has created and look forward to her additonal efforts in the Expanded Universe.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    :o :) ;)

    Shab, this is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Great job

    Traviss has made a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Best book series EVAAAARRRRRRRR!!!!!

    BEST
    BOOK
    EVER
    :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    U.........................

    Read it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    I've enjoyed the Republic Commando series. Books two and three w

    I've enjoyed the Republic Commando series. Books two and three were great reads and I really enjoyed the fleshing out of the Clone and Mandalorian cultures. This entry was just as good as the others. I much prefer Travis's version of the clones than the one we got on the Clone Wars and in the original Clone Wars multimedia project. It's too bad that the heroes of this series were the kind of &quot;antihero criminals who are looking out for their own&quot; types. I didn't really enjoy that aspect of this book. Knowing though that Book 6 was cancelled due to a pretty public falling out between the Star Wars powers that be and the author made me less excited about this story though.

    When I reached the end of the novel, which was a great ending, it seemed like a better point to jump off this series than the end of Book 5, so I guess I'm done with the Commando books. Unless Imperial Commando 2 is ever released and wraps up this storyline better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Amazing book

    Realy good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Epic

    Great near ending book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Battle

    Yiu sholud play starwars battlefront 2

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Wow

    Right now my head is exploding with all the things that are happenning in this book. I am kinda mad at ehat she did to certain characters i wont mention. But i will read tge next book to find out what happens

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Looks great but what is the first book???


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6