Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Splinter of the Mind's Eye

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Classic Star Wars at its very finest

This book is a great read.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Takes you WAY back into the time before the classic sequels were even born

If you are all about experiencing the very early years of the 'Star Wars' universe, then 'Splinter of the Minds Eye' fills that quota. Written by science fiction expert writer Alan Dean Foster, this novel was intended to be a sequel to 'A New Hope' if consumer reaction...
If you are all about experiencing the very early years of the 'Star Wars' universe, then 'Splinter of the Minds Eye' fills that quota. Written by science fiction expert writer Alan Dean Foster, this novel was intended to be a sequel to 'A New Hope' if consumer reaction to the first film wasn't good and George Lucas wouldn't be able to make any sequels. However, obviously Lucas' first film amazed people worldwide, and he got his sequels. So where does this now place 'Splinter of the Minds Eye' in the realm of 'Star Wars' canon and continuity? On the very fringes. Among fans it is heavily debated whether this book deserves to be canon because film sequels indeed were conceived. However, despite the debates over its legitimacy in the canon, it is really interesting to read the first-ever novel, or form of media period, that expands upon the movies. Most of the story could be part of canon, but some parts near the end of the book- like where Luke cuts off Vader's right arm- are debatable since that was meant to happen in following sequels. In addition, Luke gets badly injured while fighting Vader and Leia picks up his lightsaber and actually holds her own against the Dark Lord of the Sith. Continuity problems? Probably. This was simply meant to show that Leia had abilities in the Force in a quick and physical way, as opposed to the way it was revealed in a long and drawn-out process in the original trilogy. The plot during the novel is up-and-down with regards to its pace and ability to grip the reader. But with this said, if you want to go really retro in the 'Star Wars' expanded universe, then check out this book. If you'd rather follow more established and defined continuity, then read a different 'Star Wars' novel.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Takes you WAY back into the time before the classic sequels were even born

    If you are all about experiencing the very early years of the 'Star Wars' universe, then 'Splinter of the Minds Eye' fills that quota. Written by science fiction expert writer Alan Dean Foster, this novel was intended to be a sequel to 'A New Hope' if consumer reaction to the first film wasn't good and George Lucas wouldn't be able to make any sequels. However, obviously Lucas' first film amazed people worldwide, and he got his sequels. So where does this now place 'Splinter of the Minds Eye' in the realm of 'Star Wars' canon and continuity? On the very fringes. Among fans it is heavily debated whether this book deserves to be canon because film sequels indeed were conceived. However, despite the debates over its legitimacy in the canon, it is really interesting to read the first-ever novel, or form of media period, that expands upon the movies. Most of the story could be part of canon, but some parts near the end of the book- like where Luke cuts off Vader's right arm- are debatable since that was meant to happen in following sequels. In addition, Luke gets badly injured while fighting Vader and Leia picks up his lightsaber and actually holds her own against the Dark Lord of the Sith. Continuity problems? Probably. This was simply meant to show that Leia had abilities in the Force in a quick and physical way, as opposed to the way it was revealed in a long and drawn-out process in the original trilogy. The plot during the novel is up-and-down with regards to its pace and ability to grip the reader. But with this said, if you want to go really retro in the 'Star Wars' expanded universe, then check out this book. If you'd rather follow more established and defined continuity, then read a different 'Star Wars' novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    Classic Star Wars at its very finest

    This book is a great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    This is a very famous novel

    And very good i might add

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I read this book years ago wen I was probably 12 or 13 and I tho

    I read this book years ago wen I was probably 12 or 13 and I thought it
    was good. Here are a few little known-but interesting- facts. Contrary
    to what another reviewer says about this book, they got a few of their
    facts wrong. First off, when george Lucas first wrote the the origional
    Star Wars script, this story was suposed to be the basis for the movie
    but as we all know, the plot eventually became the classic movie we all
    know and love. As to this book's place in the Star wars cannon, the
    story unfolds in the following order: A New Hope (EP 4) Splinter of the
    Mind's Eye, The Empire Strikes Back (EP 5) Shadows of the Empire, and
    finally Return of the Jedi (EP 6). This book was origionally released in
    1986,(bettween episodes 4 & 5) so the prequils were still some 13
    years away, so that (in my humble opinion) allows for a lot of wiggle
    room for some of the inconsistancies found in the overall story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Classic

    A great read for Original Trilogy fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Wow

    I havent read this book yet but im exited to i dont know what tp rate this yet so ill do this again latter

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Most highly recommended

    I have loved this book since it was first published, and when I saw it was available as an ebook I bought it immediately!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Star Wars Story

    This book was written before Empire Strikes Back even came out in the theatres, so it is interesting to see where an author would go with the main characters without knowing what would happen in the next movie. This is strictly a Luke and Leia story, so do not expect Han Solo and Chewbacca to pop up in this one. However, it is very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    Cool

    This was a pretty good book. I got one of the 'Splinter' comics when I was little and I always wondered what happened after that comic. I found out. The only thing that bothered me though was the way the characters acted. Luke, Leia, and Vader acted in a way that they never would have in the movies. I was pretty suprised when Leia picked up that lightsaber though...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    Good but not Great

    Good action but sometimes the book got a little slow. The battle with Vader should not have been as close as it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    The Best

    I originally read this book way back when it first came out. I've read several other Star Wars books, and Splinter of the Mind's Eye, in my opinion, is still the best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    The Star Wars Novel that started it all...

    Alan Dean Foster took a story created by George Lucas and with only one film to go off of he created a story which was his own. I give a thumbs up to ADF for taking a few characters and giving them a cool adventure which is still in the spirit of Star Wars and must be given it's due since he had no other films or other SW novels to help him write a good story. I rate this book as really good despite the flack it has been given. Give Mr. Foster a break, he tried and succeeded in my book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2001

    Great

    IT was so cool and had so many actions. It show the relationship betweent Luke and Leia I love it so much, When I started reading it I didn't put the book down I went from the first page to the end It was COOL MAN Peace mon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    There have been better

    Splinter was a huge let down. In my opinion the characters are portrayed to the extremes of their personalities. There is no medium, they just aren't believable. When I started this book I was really excited because I had heard of a few events that take place, specifically Luke slicing Vader's arm off. But I often found myself nodding off while trying to read. Don't get me wrong, I'm a hardcore Star Wars fan, I've read several books including all of the X-wing books, Zahn's, the Jedi Academy trilogy, and several others which, for the most part very good reads. But this is steaming toss. Just have someone tell you all the details you want unless you absolutely need to read and know everything Star Wars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    One of the Best!

    This novel prooves that you don't need space battles and futuristic technology to make a great Star Wars story. The plot is great and the details are even better. This is one of the best Star Wars books ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2000

    Not as good as I had hoped

    In my opinion this book was rather dissapointing. There were some good parts but overall it was dissapointing. For one thing How can you use a lightsaber underwater? In all of the other books that I read it is impossible, yet in this one Luke can. I know that this book was written before the other books, yet one book saying that a lightsaber can be used underwater isn't very convincing as compared to all of the books that say it can't be used underwater. Plus the Kaiburr Crystal could enhance someone's ability in the force even if they aren't force sensitive beings. I would think that it would take a force sensitive creature to activate something like that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    A 6 star book in a 5 star world!

    This book shows the true feelings inside of Luke and Leia, and how when put to life or death, they could do it togeather. I loved this book so much that I cried when my mom thew out my really old copy, and then I went out and bought another one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2