Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Black Fleet Crisis #1: Before The Storm

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    3014060050813001

    3014060050813001

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    :) cool

    Havent read it but sounds good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Dud

    I hate it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent political thriller done Star Wars style

    The two central characters in this one are Luke and Leia. Each of those characters have a story worth following. Leia has to uncover secrets within her own government, and Luke sets himself on a journey to discover whatever happened to his mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    The Worst Star Wars Series Ever

    I read this a long time ago and hated it! Normally I love anything Star Wars, but this just seemed so pointless! I tried to read the series again, but I just couldn't do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    lord sidious still lives one even without his troops

    darth sidious and darth vader built the empire without either of them we would not have captain admiral thrawn i praise thrawn for doing his duty with my troops and men and women of the empire but the empire never fell it still lives on without me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2000

    Its A Really Great book!!!

    I am a Star Wars X-Wing series fan but when i read this book i was amazed at the other aspects of the star wars universe besides the dog fighting between starfighters.Leia has a very well built character and Han is very funny in times just like who he was in the movies.another thing i like is that it gives you a look at the remaining imperials just after the battle of endor.i think the yevetha are a prefect enemy for the republic and will widen the enemies facing the new republic instead of just the empire. I hope everyone enjoys this book as much as i did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2000

    Exceptional!

    I've read several Star Wars novels. Some of them are quite good (Zahn's original Thrawn trilogy), and some of them make me wonder how they ever found their way to print (Anderson's Jedi Academy trilogy). But nothing in the entire Star Wars line up has impressed me the way Michael P. Kube-McDowell's 'Before The Storm' does. The book is exceptional. I could not put it down. It is not only THE best Star Wars book I've read, it's one of THE best novels I've ever read. The book holds its own against the best works of Tom Clancy. I'm not kidding. Gone are the silly situations that Star Wars is sometimes known for (Ewoks beating a Legion of the Emperor's best troops; Jar-Jar taking out several attackers because his foot stuck in the wires of a downed droid). What you get instead are the more 'adult', serious types of situations, like the attack on the Death Star or the battle against the giant Walkers on the ice planet of Hoth. The story is a very believeable look at the 'empire building' the New Republic is engaged in 12 years after the events of 'Return of the Jedi'. If you like the political intrigue evident in 'The Phantom Menace', you get much more of it in this book. I like what Kube-McDowell die with Leia--she's not infallible. You also get osme gruesome, realistic action, that takes you to a Star Wars universe that is more akin to that of 'Babylon 5' or 'Aliens' than the sometimes too childish 'Star Wars' flicks and books. For example, take a peek at this paragraph describing the reaction to a planetary bombardment: ---- On what had been one of the wide, flat landing pads of Ten South, those who had come out to watch the visitors land were evenly divided between the stunned and the screaming. A man near Plat Mallar went to his knees and vomited. Turning away from the sight, Mallar found a woman clawing madly at her allsuit with such force that she was bleeding profusely from beneath what was left of her nails. The sight galvanized Mallar out of his paralysis, and he began edging his way toward the east edge of the pad.---- If you want to read something more believable than your average, every day Star Wars book, I suggest this one. If you want the more 'fantasy' style of stuff, then you might want to look elsewhere. I give this book my highest rating and recommend it to anyone interested in reading Star Wars. It's a new take on a familiar universe. Kenneth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2