Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Shatterpoint

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great for all star wars fans

This was the best star wars book i have read in a long time. Matthew Stover does a great job in creating new characters like kar vastor and nick rostu but, he also creates a great storyline in this book mainly about Mace Windu. If you are looking for a great book with p...
This was the best star wars book i have read in a long time. Matthew Stover does a great job in creating new characters like kar vastor and nick rostu but, he also creates a great storyline in this book mainly about Mace Windu. If you are looking for a great book with plenty of detail then you should read Shatterpoint by Matthew Stover if you haven't already.

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

S.W.Geek

Let me say at the outset, Lucas is quite a crafty fellow. He took real human events (a set of historical happenings that most children and adults won't bother learning about unless they expect to be tested on the material) and turned them into one of the most popular se...
Let me say at the outset, Lucas is quite a crafty fellow. He took real human events (a set of historical happenings that most children and adults won't bother learning about unless they expect to be tested on the material) and turned them into one of the most popular series ever. And all he did was throw in a few force using jedi and some other pieces of science fiction. I find shatterpoint a bit disturbing, however. Mace's homeworld, and the events taking place there, parallel the colonization of third-world countries (particularly countries on the African continent) that took place centuries ago. This is not the disturbing part though. What I found not only disturbing, but also distasteful and even border-line racist, is how Stover never misses a chance to cast the indigenous people of Mace's homeworld as blood-thirsty, murderous savages, whose every action is based on the most visceral of emotions. Ironically, these characterizations often come from Mace himself. At one point, Mace, while thinking, describes two Korun teenages as 'dancing like Kowakian monkey-lizards' Upon his arrival in the jungles of his homeworld, Stover's characterization--as communicated as Mace's perceptions--of this part of the planet is reminiscent of Joseph Conrad's 'Heart of Darkness'. Savagery, blood-lust and darkness (not as in a lack of light, but a lack of knowledge and civilization) are so omnipresent that you get the feeling that they can be reached out and touched. Notwithstanding the not-so-subtle racial undertones of the book, it is still a good read, and I recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on November 16, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Great for all star wars fans

    This was the best star wars book i have read in a long time. Matthew Stover does a great job in creating new characters like kar vastor and nick rostu but, he also creates a great storyline in this book mainly about Mace Windu. If you are looking for a great book with plenty of detail then you should read Shatterpoint by Matthew Stover if you haven't already.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Awesome, Awesome read.

    This book could possibly be the best Star Wars book that i have read to date. The author paints you a crystal clear picture of what each scene looked like, and nearly inspired me to write my own book! This is a MUST READ!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    Joe

    A book only a fan of star wars will like

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    S.W.Geek

    Let me say at the outset, Lucas is quite a crafty fellow. He took real human events (a set of historical happenings that most children and adults won't bother learning about unless they expect to be tested on the material) and turned them into one of the most popular series ever. And all he did was throw in a few force using jedi and some other pieces of science fiction. I find shatterpoint a bit disturbing, however. Mace's homeworld, and the events taking place there, parallel the colonization of third-world countries (particularly countries on the African continent) that took place centuries ago. This is not the disturbing part though. What I found not only disturbing, but also distasteful and even border-line racist, is how Stover never misses a chance to cast the indigenous people of Mace's homeworld as blood-thirsty, murderous savages, whose every action is based on the most visceral of emotions. Ironically, these characterizations often come from Mace himself. At one point, Mace, while thinking, describes two Korun teenages as 'dancing like Kowakian monkey-lizards' Upon his arrival in the jungles of his homeworld, Stover's characterization--as communicated as Mace's perceptions--of this part of the planet is reminiscent of Joseph Conrad's 'Heart of Darkness'. Savagery, blood-lust and darkness (not as in a lack of light, but a lack of knowledge and civilization) are so omnipresent that you get the feeling that they can be reached out and touched. Notwithstanding the not-so-subtle racial undertones of the book, it is still a good read, and I recommend it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2004

    JEDI MASTER MACE WINDU... a book of his own...

    There is no doubt that Matthew Stover is among the best of writers in scifi, and fantasy, with an eloquent penchant for words. Stover has penned a winner in STAR WARS: SHATTERPOINT, which focuses largely on Jedi Master and General of the Grand Army of the Republic Mace Windu. Jedi Depa Billaba was assigned to Haruun Kal to train citizens to fight the vicious powers-that-be in The Summertime War of the Separatists, the Republic, the innocent and not-so-innocent forces involved. Depa has vanished. Jedi Master Mace Windu is assigned by the Jedi Council to travel to Haruun Kal, his long-ago home world, to find his former Padawan Depa. What Mace finds is not attractive, but deplorable! Has Billaba gone to the dark side? Shatterpoint defined is 'a critical weakness'. It is through finding the avenues of 'weakness' which compel Windu, and the Force. On Haruun Kal, Kar Vastor has been the 'keeper' of Depa, and a force to be reckoned with. Vastor is not a trained Jedi, but, as others on the planet, he is an 'untrained Force user', through instincts provided by nature to inhabitants. The latter is defined further by Stover as, '... they seem to be our reflections in a dark mirror. They rely on instinct; Jedi rely on training. They use anger and aggression as sources of power; our [trained Jedi] power is based on serenity and defense.' Stover's SHATTERPOINT traverses between Mace Windu's first-class writing of journal entries (which are encrypted and become part of the Jedi Archives), alongside the narrative of the story from a general view. Introduced are living creatures the Akks, characters Lesh, Besh, Chalk, and Nick Rostu (a Korunian who becomes Windu's Major, and provides great humor in the story). Mace's humor sets in oft as well, 'Surrender is always made under duress, ... That's why they call it surrender'! Stover does not provide as much dialog as this reader expects in compositions. He does draw out well-written descriptions of the action, battle, and fighting scenes, however lengthy, and at times tiresome. I commend the author for not swaying, but keeping major focus on Mace Windu throughout the story. Stover's ending provides for Depa in an 'other worldly' state, laying in a bacta tank (an opening for a Depa and Mace sequel, perhaps?). Supreme Chancellor Palpatine asks Mace, why does this happen to Jedi? Mace's response is: 'It's war, ... . When every choice you make means death. When saving these innocents means that those innocents must die. ... I'm not sure that any Jedi can survive such choices for long.' In Mace Windu's closing journal entry at book end, he writes, 'Our enemy is the darkness itself... cloud of fear and despair and anguish... poisoning our galaxy. ... As long as Anakin lives, we have hope. No matter how dark it gets, or how lost our cause may seem. ... our new hope for a Jedi future. May the Force be with us all.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Read if u are on clone wars adventures

    My name is don ricker add me as a freind tell me u r from the nook

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Perhaps the best Clone Wars novel of all!

    Despite what others have written about this book, I think it is perhaps the best Clone Wars novel yet! Mace is a fascinating character and an extremely powerful Jedi. To know that he developed his own fighting style (Vaapad) that takes a Jedi through the path of the dark side, to know that he was the youngest Jedi ever to be appointed to the Council...beautiful! You don't get much about Mace in the movies, so to fill in the gaps about who he is with this novel was wonderful. I dare say that Mace was a more powerful Jedi than even Anakin, considering that he defeated Palpatine in saber-to-saber fighting and would have killed him had it not been for treachery (I know this doesn't come from 'Shatterpoint' but I stand by my statement). It was brilliant the way the author portrayed the trials that a Jedi must face in adhering to their values, and seeing the difficulties faced by Mace in this one book alone makes him comparable to Luke Skywalker and his trials over the course of numerous novels. You can really feel Stover's martial arts background in every action scene too. Finally, Vastor is a very interesting character, but the ending left me wondering: what did the Emperor do with Vastor after the fall of the Jedi? He could have been made into a powerful ally if turned, but would Vastor have submitted to the 'dark side?'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Hats off to mister stover

    Great book. I have been waiting for a book all about Mace Windu. This was awesome. A bunch of action. Mr. Stover should consider writing a whole series about Mace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    AWESOME!!

    AWESOME!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Mace Windu Bursts Into Action!

    Star Wars Shatterpoint displays the more gritty side of the Clone Wars. It's full of deadly new creatures and locations with some pretty great battles. The story revolves around Jedi Master Mace Windu, who's former Padawan Depa Billaba has vanished into the jungles on Haruun Kal; the homeworld Mace barley remembers.

    Only Billaba's former master knows how to find her and so Mace plunges into a grulling trek through one of the most treacherous jungles in the galaxy in search of his once great pupil. But THIS jungle holds perhaps far more than even a Jedi Master can reckon with.

    Matthew Stover does a brilliant job of bringing the Clone Wars raging to life with this novel, which also includes his short story "Equipment" (a Clone Wars short story).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    This story is about the horrors of war, and it was a pretty good

    This story is about the horrors of war, and it was a pretty good look at that aspect of the Clone Wars. While I never particularly got into the storyline, it was an great book because of the look into the life of Mace Windu. He has a very particular talent in the Force, one that it was great to take a deep look at. This book really fleshes out his character unlike any other book, comic, or film ever did. If you like Mace Windu this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    I once read Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad, and this book re

    I once read Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad, and this book reminded me of Star Wars + HoD. It was a great read adn sent Matthew Stover into the top ranks of my favorite SW aurthors. I only read for school until I came across Darth Maul's book, which sent me reading every novel (in timeline order). This book took an excellent character, who remained a minor character (at the point of the book's release) in the prequels. I found it tieing into the Mace Windu's story in the Dark Horse comic story archs as well. Stover really dove in deep into the issues of the Force adn how close you could get to the dark side without crossing over. I was glad to see Nick in a future Stover SW book. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Yodas better

    Top four jedi of the new jedi order is luke skywalker,ben skywalker, jaina solo, and kyp durron.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    I dont know

    There was a sample of this in jedi acadamy book two and I would not read it.It is gruesome in the first two chapters!!!!!!I will never read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Bounty hunter area

    From here to the next result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Awesome book

    I love this book soo cool!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Dont mess with the Jungle...

    Shatterpoint is a really entretaining read with a complex plot. It is also very graphic and even crude at some parts.
    The story overall is good, and it's one of the best SW novel I've read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    To nobody

    Dont fead my ass!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Weeeeeeellllllllll............

    This was good-I guess. Mace was kind of a jerk sometimes; it really disappointed me. I was hoping to get to know him better, and I still hope that's just the author's representation of him and not how he really acts. Also, the dark side of the Force was a major part of this novel, and it got really ominous and icky in some places. Most of the book was bloody, bloody fighting and deaths. It was EXTREMELY graphic. Also, Nick (a secondary character) cursed A LOT. Practically every other sentence. Of course, most of it was made-up Star Wars curses, but it was still quite unsettling at times. If this was a movie, it would DEFINITELY be rated R for language and graphic violence. On the whole, I guess it was good, but the fighting scenes and dark side stuff could have been REALLY toned down. I guess it's 3 1/2 or 4 stars, but NOT 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Have not read the book yet but I Cant Stand MACE WINDU

    Im a boba fett fan but if the plots any good ill read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5