Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Shatterpoint

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great for all star wars fans

This was the best star wars book i have read in a long time. Matthew Stover does a great job in creating new characters like kar vastor and nick rostu but, he also creates a great storyline in this book mainly about Mace Windu. If you are looking for a great book with p...
This was the best star wars book i have read in a long time. Matthew Stover does a great job in creating new characters like kar vastor and nick rostu but, he also creates a great storyline in this book mainly about Mace Windu. If you are looking for a great book with plenty of detail then you should read Shatterpoint by Matthew Stover if you haven't already.

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

S.W.Geek

Let me say at the outset, Lucas is quite a crafty fellow. He took real human events (a set of historical happenings that most children and adults won't bother learning about unless they expect to be tested on the material) and turned them into one of the most popular se...
Let me say at the outset, Lucas is quite a crafty fellow. He took real human events (a set of historical happenings that most children and adults won't bother learning about unless they expect to be tested on the material) and turned them into one of the most popular series ever. And all he did was throw in a few force using jedi and some other pieces of science fiction. I find shatterpoint a bit disturbing, however. Mace's homeworld, and the events taking place there, parallel the colonization of third-world countries (particularly countries on the African continent) that took place centuries ago. This is not the disturbing part though. What I found not only disturbing, but also distasteful and even border-line racist, is how Stover never misses a chance to cast the indigenous people of Mace's homeworld as blood-thirsty, murderous savages, whose every action is based on the most visceral of emotions. Ironically, these characterizations often come from Mace himself. At one point, Mace, while thinking, describes two Korun teenages as 'dancing like Kowakian monkey-lizards' Upon his arrival in the jungles of his homeworld, Stover's characterization--as communicated as Mace's perceptions--of this part of the planet is reminiscent of Joseph Conrad's 'Heart of Darkness'. Savagery, blood-lust and darkness (not as in a lack of light, but a lack of knowledge and civilization) are so omnipresent that you get the feeling that they can be reached out and touched. Notwithstanding the not-so-subtle racial undertones of the book, it is still a good read, and I recommend it.

posted by Anonymous on November 16, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Great for all star wars fans

    This was the best star wars book i have read in a long time. Matthew Stover does a great job in creating new characters like kar vastor and nick rostu but, he also creates a great storyline in this book mainly about Mace Windu. If you are looking for a great book with plenty of detail then you should read Shatterpoint by Matthew Stover if you haven't already.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Awesome, Awesome read.

    This book could possibly be the best Star Wars book that i have read to date. The author paints you a crystal clear picture of what each scene looked like, and nearly inspired me to write my own book! This is a MUST READ!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Perhaps the best Clone Wars novel of all!

    Despite what others have written about this book, I think it is perhaps the best Clone Wars novel yet! Mace is a fascinating character and an extremely powerful Jedi. To know that he developed his own fighting style (Vaapad) that takes a Jedi through the path of the dark side, to know that he was the youngest Jedi ever to be appointed to the Council...beautiful! You don't get much about Mace in the movies, so to fill in the gaps about who he is with this novel was wonderful. I dare say that Mace was a more powerful Jedi than even Anakin, considering that he defeated Palpatine in saber-to-saber fighting and would have killed him had it not been for treachery (I know this doesn't come from 'Shatterpoint' but I stand by my statement). It was brilliant the way the author portrayed the trials that a Jedi must face in adhering to their values, and seeing the difficulties faced by Mace in this one book alone makes him comparable to Luke Skywalker and his trials over the course of numerous novels. You can really feel Stover's martial arts background in every action scene too. Finally, Vastor is a very interesting character, but the ending left me wondering: what did the Emperor do with Vastor after the fall of the Jedi? He could have been made into a powerful ally if turned, but would Vastor have submitted to the 'dark side?'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Hats off to mister stover

    Great book. I have been waiting for a book all about Mace Windu. This was awesome. A bunch of action. Mr. Stover should consider writing a whole series about Mace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    AWESOME!!

    AWESOME!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    I once read Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad, and this book re

    I once read Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad, and this book reminded me of Star Wars + HoD. It was a great read adn sent Matthew Stover into the top ranks of my favorite SW aurthors. I only read for school until I came across Darth Maul's book, which sent me reading every novel (in timeline order). This book took an excellent character, who remained a minor character (at the point of the book's release) in the prequels. I found it tieing into the Mace Windu's story in the Dark Horse comic story archs as well. Stover really dove in deep into the issues of the Force adn how close you could get to the dark side without crossing over. I was glad to see Nick in a future Stover SW book. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Yodas better

    Top four jedi of the new jedi order is luke skywalker,ben skywalker, jaina solo, and kyp durron.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Bounty hunter area

    From here to the next result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Awesome book

    I love this book soo cool!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Dont mess with the Jungle...

    Shatterpoint is a really entretaining read with a complex plot. It is also very graphic and even crude at some parts.
    The story overall is good, and it's one of the best SW novel I've read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Ummm.

    I HATE Mace Windu (Boba Fett!), but the plot of this book was intriguing. Excellent for most people, I'm just a leetle bit biased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this book rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    Star Wars Shatterpoint is a powerful and riveting novel transpiring during the Clone Wars era. Fascinating insight is provided into the fundamental moral and ethical difficulties every Jedi must confront in order to become one with himself and with the Force. As is demonstrated in this book, while some emerge stronger and with a greater inner focus, others destroy themselves, or simply whither away. Of couse, Mace Windu is impressive in both combat and negotiation, but the powerful Jedi is displayed with a somewhat more human and fragile perception, while the final focus is upon the greatest catalyst of the war, the young Jedi Anakin Skywalker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Excellent Read

    This book had a very complex plot yet still managed to have enjoyable, richly detailed characters and a descriptiveness alone woth writing about. And even though it is a science fiction book it still is chock full of good lessons and morals, and an appealing aspect of good vs evil that lives in us all. The book is centered around Jedi Master Mace Windu, and makes for an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    shatterpoint

    do you guys really believe mace windu died? c'mon, he lost an arm and was hit by a couple lightning bolts. sure he fell a few stories after that but, really, he's the pimpist jedi ever. there is no way he's dead. just in hiding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    One of the greatest books i have ever read

    I loved this book because not only did it have Mace Windu in it had A LOT of explosions. The creations in this book were so outstanding. Also the use of the characters in this book was teriffic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    Great book.

    This book was very good and was completely action packed. It gives great insight into the character of Mace Windu. The book has made Mace one of my favorite Star Wars characters. This book takes place during the Clone Wars though doesnt really have anything to do with them. Cool new characters are introduced in this book such as the story's villan Kar Vastor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    It is a great book that goes in side the mind of Mace Windu

    This book is a great book. It allows you to see right into Mace Windu's mind. It also allows you to find more out about Depa Billbo Mace's former apprentice. It is intersting because she is the only other master of the lighsa ber form Vapeed. This is style was created by Mace and she is the only other jedi to learn this style. It is amazing to see Mathew Stover how he gets so into the mind of Mace Windu. It was an amazing read. Mathew Stover really nailed this I love this book and all his all work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    For sure, the best Star Wars novel I have read

    I really enjoyed the compact backround information about Mace. Seeing him die in the movie hit me hard after reading this book. I also like how this book explains the thinking process of a turning jedi. The primetive jedi were also an interesting group to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    THE TEST OF THE JEDI

    This was a great book, it was interesting to see more in-depth about the jedi's most notable saberist (yah yah, I don't think so either, talk to SW.com) the book is good and the battles are spectacular, a good book for anyone looking for more backround on the old-republic jedi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3