Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Yoda: Dark Rendezvous

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Not The Best, Not The Worst

    While Star Wars Yoda Dark Rendezvous isn't the worst Star Wars novel I’ve read, it’s not the best either. As the title implies the story centers on Yoda and includes only brief appearances by other iconic Star Wars characters like Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker. The author includes many worldly references that don’t feel very much like Star Wars: paper in mentioned although at the time of the clone wars paper was already an antique. There is a reference to a bee (not some type of bee, just a plain old bee). Also plastic is mentioned which isn’t too unusual but it seems kind of unimaginative.

    On the upside of things, there were some neat new characters. There was also a funny moment between Yoda and a droid that’s reminiscent of Yoda vs. R2 on Dagobah. Perhaps my favorite thing about this book is how quickly things get rolling: I found myself enjoying the book as early as chapter three. There are some things about this novel that remind me of the Jedi Quest series. I really like the way the Jedi train in there temple on Coruscant in the first few chapters of the book.

    Over all it’s a pretty good story and an easy read and, although I’ve enjoyed other Star Wars books more, I’d still suggest it to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    Wonderful Sometimes, Slows to a Crawl at Others

    First of all Yoda, who I imagine to be a very difficult character to describe in writting is wonderfully dipicted and the book gets five stars whenever he's involved. Even the parts with Dooku and Ventress were wonderful. However, a little less than half the book acctually has Yoda in it. The other half the book is about two Jedi padawans who are annoying and pointless characters and contribute nothing to the plot unless another character is there to make up for them. If the book just took out all the parts with them in it leaving it at only about 150 pages it would be a wonderful read. Yoda is hilarious. Comedy is one of the hardest things to do in a book and here it is done stupendously. Anakin and Obi-Wan even have a nice cameo. Also Dooku's personality is explained more fully and more wonderfully than any movie could. you get to see what makes him tick and how he really feels. Overall the good outweighs the bad and any fan of Yoda (that would be everyone) should pick this up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Pretty Good Book

    This was a pretty good book. The title is deceptive--Though it is called Yoda: Dark Rendezvous, Yoda is merely a co-star, sharing the spotlight with two Jedi Padawans. Though I thought the book was slow at some points, it was overall a really enjoyable read, and I recommend it for anyone interested in a good, humorous story packed with great Yoda events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Nice book

    I thought this was a very good book. If you enjoy the EU and Star Wars books that go off on other tangents besides Anakin, Vader, Obi-wan, luke, etc. you'll like this book. It's a good read for anyone interested in Jedi Academy training, young jedi tasks, etc. Before I read this book, I didn't want to read anything that didn't have to do with Anakin, Obi-Wan, Yoda, Mace, or any of the main characters from the movies, however I found myself in more anticipation for the parts with Whie, Ventress, Scout, Leem, Maruk, rather than the parts with Yoda and Dooku.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    Im so loving it, so should u!

    the book rules in every way man! get it now! i read it nearly 10 times its that good. DOWN SIDE: It cost alot for it hard back $20 and paper back like $12. IT IS AWESOME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Excellent If Not Akin To A Young Jedi Knights Novel

    WHAT WORKED: Anything leading into Episode III is worth reading right now, just for the clues alone. How great it is that Sean Stewart wrote an extremely entertaining novel to lead us in. This one had it all, humor, romance, killer battles. First, let's talk about the characterization. This book has quite a few laugh out loud scenes and the one of some poor drunk guy watching the R2 unit Yoda was hiding in taking a leak had me rolling. Yoda himself had a great mixture of humor and seriousness, going from a wide-eyed wise-cracking little whatchamacallit into a vicious, point-making, philsopher. The lines were dead on and I could visualize Yoda saying everything I read. The new characters were very well done. I can only hope that Whie makes the movie as he reminds me of a Gantoris (Jedi Academy trilogy) who actually did the right thing in the end and didn't end up a charred collection of ash and bone. Scout was annoying at first but really grew on me the weirder Whie got. Read the passage towards the end where he in the tunnels of Malreaux to get a better unstanding, he starts to go quite mad in the lair of the dark side. Sad as it may seem to an obvious nut such as myself, this was my first experience with Asajj. Sue me, I don't live near a comic shop, was going through a divorce during the Clone War cartoons, and don't buy hardcovers due to having many bills to pay, so missed her in The Cestus Deception as well. Let me say, this calculating, cool-as-a-polar-bear's behind female was awesome! The idea of her having a tattoo on her skull for every Jedi she swore to kill is brilliant. She seemed like she chose her words carefully when it came to Whie and that made their exchanged some of the most memorable. Also, Palpatine makes a few cameos here and there, but enough to screw it up for everyone. If it wasn't for him shipping out Anakin to Vjun, Yoda had a shot at turning Dooku, which was a suprise to me. Dooku himself was portrayed as a little weaker than when I last saw him in Episode II. The man is getting old, the shell is failing, and all he wants is a little peace of mind going as far as calling Yoda 'Master' a few times. He didn't show up that often but when he did, it was significant and his actions made sense. His flashbacks to when he was a kid learning under Yoda were well done as well. Gave you a semblance of importance to their meeting that the movie failed to capture. The battles were fun reads as even though you know all the Jedi eventually bite it, you just want Whie and Scout to make it through just this one. That is very important in any of the prequel novels or else it takes you completely out of it from the start. I honestly thought the Jedi's blade that killed Whie would be his own, then when he runs into Anakin, I thought it would be Skywalker eliminating the padwan with Force powers a little under his. Neither happened but it made you gasp for air when you were done. Also neat was the explantion of Vjun's citizens enhancing their midichlorian count inducing insanity in everyone on the planet. I always wondered if people strong in the Force would try making a 'Weapon X Jedi' and it looks like I got my wish. They all go freakin' crazy! Also, anyone who has lost a mentor can agree that after Jai and Maks fell, you couldn't help but feel for the teenaged padwans. If only I knew what in this novel makes it to the next film but if I had to guess, I'd say Palpatine being the one to kill Dooku would be very high on that list. Excellent book! WHAT DIDN'T WORK: Damn it, I want Grevious! He barely got a few mentions in this one and the only clue into his personality was that 'He is more dangerous than Asajj, but makes for less entertaining dinner conversation). I wish I didn't have to wait for The Labryinth Of Evil due out in January to read about this guy. I refuse to get my hopes up as I've heard that half the people on covers these days only makes cameos in the novels (i.e. Asajj on the cover of The Cestus Dece

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1