Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Crystal Star

Average Rating 3
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A strong Princess Leia story

This is a story that tests Leia's resolve and resourcefulness. It was nice to see the story focus on Leia for a change.

posted by ColoradoBR on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok book, but is this really Star Wars?

Crystal Star in itself was a satisfying read. There were enough elements in the book to make it enjoyable. However, as a Star Wars book, this book stunk. The main characters (Luke, Leia, Han) did not act like themselves, and there wasn't enough lightsabers and blaste...
Crystal Star in itself was a satisfying read. There were enough elements in the book to make it enjoyable. However, as a Star Wars book, this book stunk. The main characters (Luke, Leia, Han) did not act like themselves, and there wasn't enough lightsabers and blasters. Also the whole title and main plot of the book was only covered very briefly, right at the end. So in the end, if it's your goal to read all the Star Wars books, then this book won't be on your favorites list. If you're just looking for an ok book and could care less who the characters are then you should like this book.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A strong Princess Leia story

    This is a story that tests Leia's resolve and resourcefulness. It was nice to see the story focus on Leia for a change.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    The Crystal Star should just fizzle out...

    This book lacks in almost everything. Detail, plot, corrections for all of the errors. I counted a few different times when I ran over basic grammatical errors that anyone should have caught. 'She envied Han his beard'? Something seems a bit off with that. It lacked a lot of continuity also. It jumped from subplot to another without so much as a warning. There were a few redeeming qualities, but I'd be perfectly honest in saying it's best to avoid this book if you're in the middle of reading anything Star Wars. It's not worth the trouble.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    Ok book, but is this really Star Wars?

    Crystal Star in itself was a satisfying read. There were enough elements in the book to make it enjoyable. However, as a Star Wars book, this book stunk. The main characters (Luke, Leia, Han) did not act like themselves, and there wasn't enough lightsabers and blasters. Also the whole title and main plot of the book was only covered very briefly, right at the end. So in the end, if it's your goal to read all the Star Wars books, then this book won't be on your favorites list. If you're just looking for an ok book and could care less who the characters are then you should like this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2002

    A Major Disappointment

    This was one of the worst Star Wars books I have ever read. McIntyre did not capture the essence of Star Wars. There were many scenes, especially towards the end, where the characters were in a desperate situation, and they stood around talking. However, the most disappointing thing of all was the end, but for anyone who still wishes to read it, I will not give it away. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    borrow it, don't buy it

    I don't know, I guess the fact that Star Wars is in the title is its most redeeming aspect. Overall, I thought the plot was just a little bit dull from the lack of any good action and quite frankly, I found it a little bit corny at times. Too much of a 'kiddie' book to really enjoy for me. If you want to read it, borrow it from a friend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Awesome

    I like this book because I like star wars.So thanks for sharing your book you published

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    The Solo kids story

    People complain Han,Luke & Leia are out of character.This book plot is set around the Solo children Jaina, Jacen and Anakin (age 5 & 3.5). Its basically avout them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Very strange and confusing

    It was a ver bizzare but stupid story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    ?WHAT THE HELL?

    This made no sence

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    BORING GARBAGE!

    I forced myself to finish this book. There was not one action scene that I can remember. All a bunch of boring trash with the characters all messed up. I don't even care for the cover. Whatever you do, DON'T BUY THIS BOOK!

    P.S.
    The only reason I would buy it would be to rip it up and throw it in the trash.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Out of character

    Like many of the other reviewers noted, the characters - how they acted, thought, spoke 'like Leah's whininess and extreme anger at Chewbacca, and Luke's creepily intimidating Han with his light saber in a dark room' - all seemed very out of sorts. The other Star Wars books do a great job on that aspect, and are even very well written. This was more like an unembellished story than an immersing and descriptive tale. It's the first time I've been really disappointed in one of the Star Wars books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    Maybe this isn't Star Wars

    I have read several Star Wars books and enjoyed them immensely. The twins and Anakin were portrayed very well. But the title stated something called the Crystal Star which wasn't given very much depth. Luke was very off. He seemed like a different character totally. The story line was good but lacked the details that it needed. And also there was not much detail on Waru or his cult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    As transparent as a crystal...

    Though I have become enthralled with the Star Wars books series, this has been the most difficult book so far to digest. The lack of detail is extraordinary. The author touches upon some major topics: the Empire Reborn, the apprentices of Darth Vader, the ongoing slave trade in the galaxy, the existence of 'world ships,' etc.... Yet, these vastly interesting facets receive almost no attention at all and are lost to the ongoing story. I disliked the fact that the most important politician in the galaxy, the most powerful Jedi in the galaxy and an esteemed New Republic General could simply 'take off' without any mind to the affairs of state or praxeum! There was far too little detail given about Waru also. The most despicable thing of all was the way in which the author portrayed Luke Skywalker! Jedi Master and philosopher 'extraordinaire,' we see him in many scenes losing his temper, playing carelessly with his lightsaber and being drawn into a hoax that even Threepio had reservations about! The saving grace of this work is the three Jedi children (Jaina, Jacen and Anakin). They were portrayed very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Great book

    This book is one of the best book's I have ever read. It's action packed page after page. I really like how the Solo twins escaped from there captors. I also like how little Anakin Solo befriended Tigris. This book keeps you guessing till the very end. T It kept me guessing page after page. There is cliff hangar after cliff hangar in this book, but it gets all summed up in the end. This book also visit's a friend from Han solo's past. I just like to say that if you want a really really good Star Wars book that will keep you guessing till the very end, then this is the book for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    ok book not great

    tis book was OK it was not the best. i thought i was alittle irritating at times.not bad though good ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    A Very Good Book!!!!

    I loved this story! I liked how the solo kids were in it and how they got away from their kidnappers. You should read it if your a star wars fan! :):):):):)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    Crystal Star

    This book takes place a few years after Return of the Jedi. Luke, Han, and C-3P0 journey to Chezic Station after reciving a message from Han's old friend Xavvari. It ends up that Han and Leia's children had been kidnapped by an apprentace of Lord Vader. One of the best books around without Boba Fett... Luke learns that beeing a Jedi isn't all it's cracked up to be, because he gets sick midway in the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    Crystal Star Review

    This is an overall good book. I like how Vonda McIntyre used some of the unknown Star Wars technology in this book. Basically Leia's children, Jacen, Jaina and Anakin Solo are kidnapped by a man named Hethirir, a person still loyal to the Empire who has taken the children as slaves, along with another amount of children who are already on the World Ship that has an artifical planet, and sun and moon, with grass and water as well, it even has its own assortment of creatures. Han Solo and Luke Skywalker are taking a vacation away from the New Republic where Luke has found a weird entity and senses something bad about this entity while Han Solo goes out and wastes most of the money. Somehow it ends up that Hethrir and the three children end up in the small cluster of places that Luke and Han are taking a vacation...sorry won't spoil the end for you...I can't say if they are kidnapped forever or not. You gotta read it for yourself..I give it four stars! =D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2000

    *******GREATEST BOOK EVER, EVER!!!!!!!******

    I Love this book soooo much. It made me like Star Wars sooo much more. I love how Jayna Jaken and Anakin were in it so much. It made me wish I was involved in the story myself. This book was soooooo great!!!! cxxxxxx|::::::::::::::::::::::>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    Big Disappointment

    Although I enjoy many sci-fi books by McIntyre, this one was TERRIBLE!! It was way too confusing for even the most advanced reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2