Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Dark Nest #1: The Joiner King

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    Suprisingly good

    Being a devout fan, i pick up pretty much everthing related, (to my wife's dismay.) I was very surprised with this novel, and the direction it is going. It deals primarily with the spiritual obligation of the jedi and the ramifications of the use of their power, which to me is far more interesting than a long drawn out fight scene. Plenty of fighting, (it is a Star Wars novel,) but the contrast between what they were, and what they may become made it a very good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    this book is frikin awesome

    in this book you find out what anakin skywalker really did to padme amidala and yes r2d2 recorded it but man still this book is full of great storyline and action i can not wait to read the unseen queen and the swarm war

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    Star Wars: The Dark Nest I: The Joiner King

    Star Wars Dark Nest I: The Joiner King is the start of a new set of Star Wars novels. There is the Dark Nest Trilogy and then the nine part Legacy of The Force series. The Joiner King gives this new set of novels a very good start. The Jedi have now established themselves again and are a valuable force for good in the Post-NJO Galaxy, however there are many problems that they will have to deal with in the next series of books. Such as clearly defining their role with the Galactic Federation of Free Alliances and refining their expanded view of the force combined with getting back to a mindset of peacekeeping after the Yuuzhan Vong war had made them a little too ruthless in their methods. This is all good as it shows that the books that follow are going to be plot rich and valuable to the Star Wars universe. Troy Denning has the classic characters down extremely well but with enough development to show that the Yuuzhan Vong War shown in the NJO 19 book series had effected them. This shows respect towards these well loved characters but indicating that Del Rey and Lucasfilm Licensing are trying to show that the events in past books are not forgotten and the consequnces are shown in later books. The Joiner King has an exciting plot with potential for development over the next two books, where i expect a number of surprises will occur. Jedi Master Luke Skywalker has some good Lightsaber duels and him and leia get to learn more about their parents pasts. Really good Star Wars novel for people willing to accept that not everything is gooing to wrapped up at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! awesome cliffhangar at the end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Can't Wait To Read #1

    I'm reading the sequel and, honestly, it's pretty good, so I really wanna read this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Troy Denning

    If you love this then you will love Star by Star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Hate Bugs

    This book (actually the whole series) made my skin crawl. I am right up there with Solo. I hate bugs. It was an excellent bridge for the new Legacy Series. Minus the bugs, I really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Worthy entry to the Star Wars series.

    The Joiner King shows again that there is more to Star Wars Post ROTJ than stories about the New Republic versus the Imperials and opens up a new confilct for our favourite characters to attempt to sort out. Troy Denning as in his previous Star Wars books shows that he is one of the best Star Wars writers for the brilliant way he depicts the orginal characters and the way he writes action sequences. The book is full of plenty of Jedi action and philosophy that is still bearing the scars of the YV war and a number of good space battles. This was a good read from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    This one bugged me

    In the first installment of the 'Dark Nest' series, a number of Jedi Knights go missing during a crucial rebuilding period. The Solo twins, among others, have followed a Force compulsion to aid a mysterious group in the Unknown Regions, and the Jedi Council wants to know why. At the same time, the Chiss blame the same Jedi for interfering in territorial disputes. Han and Leia Solo trail the young Jedi to a new, fascinating, yet disturbing society of bug-like aliens. What they find leads them to an old friend, new enemies, and a puzzling pattern of behaviors by the AWOL Jedi. In general, I feel the Star Wars novels have been decent to good quality, even when I haven't cared too much for a storyline. The writing in The Joiner King is well done however, I question certain plot points, such as the Joiners' pulling Jaina, Jacen, Tahiri, and others from their duties. As much as I enjoy Star Wars, I feel the 'Dark Nest' premise is not up to the caliber set by earlier Star Wars works, such as Timothy Zahn's Thrawn series and Kevin J. Anderson's Jedi Academy series, etc. I would like to see events that can make the Star Wars fan feel more than grief and/or disappointment. I want to see more than, well, war. While that may seem an odd sentiment in reference to an inherently tumultuous universe, it is not impossible. Strife drives the machine, but the promise of reader satisfaction keeps it going. Unfortunately, I haven't felt that kind of reader satisfaction lately. We shall see how the remainder of the 'Dark Nest' series plays out. Maybe it will surprise me. -C.W.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    If you like NJO yeah nice follow

    I dug it. I loved the NJO, best series EVER. This is just another series, but after the Yuuzhan Vong destruction show, nice to see the 'sith' return.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    This book was AWESOME!!!!!

    I loved how the book tied in with some parts of Episode 3 and how Luke and Leia start to find out things about their family history. The action was pretty good, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    Acceptable

    I have to say that this book has none of the excitement of the NJO series and the evolution of the main characters takes a step in the wrong direction. It makes the Jedi look to impulsive and quick witted, makes jacen look like a wise hermit and Jaina a impulsive quick to anger child. The story is also hard to follow but at this point in the tril I'm willing to humor the author for another book. The action is okay but the story needs to be worked on, I hope the next two books are better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    Star Wars: The Dark Nest I: The Joiner King

    Troy Denning who has written a number of excellent Star Wars novels does it again with the first book set after the end of Star wars New Jedi Order. The Joiner King is a brilliant read. It shows how the main characters have been made a little more ruthless and cold after the war and how they must try to get back to being more compassionate. The Jedi also face this problem and the plot which is about a border conflict between the Chiss and the Killiks is integral to this process as the Jedi Order, Han and Leia have to stop a war from occuring instead of fighting a war as they did in the NJO. However remember that not all the plot points are completely resolved as this is only the first book of a trilogy. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    Star Wars: The Dark Nest I: The Joiner King

    In Star wars Dark Nest 1: The Joiner King Troy Denning does a brilliant job of showing the Star Wars galaxy recovering from the Yuuzhan Vong Invasion detailed in the New Jedi Order series. It was good to see that the Jedi have firmly established themelves a new temple on Coruscant, a new Jedi Academy on Ossus and a Masters Council in the Post Yuuzhan Vong War Galaxy. The plot is intersetingly different and in my opinion is worthwhile as it does not go down the path of rehashing the Imperial vs New Republic conflict or extending the Yuuzhan Vong situation after it was wrapped up extremely well in The Unifying Force but instead shows the Jedi Order in the process of getting used to being peacekeepers and playing a part in rebuilding the galaxy they helped save in The Unifying Force. However through the book we dicover that the Jedi of this era are also trying to intergrate the new found knowledge of the Unifying force and that the force has a Will, plus the consequences of the brutal Yuuzhan War upon what the Jedi ae prepared to do to save the galaxy. This Jedi contemplating is subtly intergrated into the plot which revolves around mysterious border skirmish between an insectile race called the Killiks and the Chiss and the consequences when a group of Jedi Knights become deeply involved in it. I found it an enjoyable read and i am quite sure those of you who follow the Star Wars Novels will do too. It serves as a good solid introduction to the Dark Nest trilogy with plenty of plot points included that will be developed and sorted out in the next two books including Jedi Master Luke Skywalker and Leia Organa Solo finding out some tantalising details of their past. It also acts as a prologue to the 9 book Legacy of the Force series that starts next year. It also helps clear up almost all of the continuity questions people had after reading about the Chiss in Survivor's Quest after seeing how different things were later when they read about the Chiss in Force heretic II: Refugee. Good Stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    Beautiful!

    Troy Denning has an excellent handle on the Star Wars universe. This would indeed be a difficult timeperiod in which to write - following the NJO, where the philosophical decisions at the end were the culmination of nineteen novels worth of discussion and being in the unique postion of having both the younger and older generations of SW interact with one another. I thought Troy Denning did a fabulous job incorporating all elements into a fast-paced, exciting novel that proved, once again, that he's quite an addition to the SW saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    Disappointing

    One word says it all. DISAPPOINTING, that is if you read the NJO series. I suspect the author did not read the series in its entirety ¿ because the character evolution of Luke, Mara, and the rest of the gang has seen a real setback. The lessons they learned in NJO are forgotten and now they use the quick paths to power and problem solution. This is so unlike the moral dilemmas and caution displayed by Luke and Jacen throughout NJO that the author might have well written a story with new characters - this would have been preferable to misrepresentation of the old ones. I sure miss Kevin J. Anderson¿s literary talent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    DENNING STRIKES AGAIN!!!!!

    I say this book was awsome. I loves Han and Leia in this book. Mara was also cool, and Luke was okay. It was funny and action packed. I'm glad that Raynar Thul is back. He was one of my favorite characters. Zekk finally reveals that he loves Jaina and he is in the book a lot. Tenel Ka is only in eight pages but has 63 lines. She finally kisses Jacen and then Jacen spends the night. Lowie( a character I dislike) is also barely in it. Ben finally has a big role and he is smart for a eight year old. Though Tenel Ka is barely in it, she is one of the key characters in the plot. Tenel Ka and Han are my favorite characters and I'm glad they are both in it. Alema and Tahiri, and Tekli are not that importent in here (though I would have to say Alema is in it the most out of the three). I do wish that Tesar had a bigger role, as well as Tenel Ka, Jacen, Kyle Katarn, Tionne, and Cilghal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    awsome book

    This is one good book taking place five years after the unifying force. It takes on a new story, with everyones favorite characters and it ties in with star by star. It also includes the ebook Ylesia, a must buy for any star wars fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4