Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Force Unleashed

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

I was never a really big reader. I read books here and there, but nothing on a regular basis. But this title really caught my eye. I first noticed it when I seen the video game. I was hooked as soon as I seen it. Then I found out out there was going to be a book. I got ...
I was never a really big reader. I read books here and there, but nothing on a regular basis. But this title really caught my eye. I first noticed it when I seen the video game. I was hooked as soon as I seen it. Then I found out out there was going to be a book. I got it the first day it arrived and could not put it down. It explains everything that happened between Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope. It shows how Darth Vador really struggled with himself what happened to the last of the Jedi Knights from Order 66 how the Death Star was created and the birth of the Rebel Alliance. I recomend this to anyone that is a Star Wars fan...old and new. This will explain alot of the Star Wars universe that was left blank in the movies. This is a must read!

posted by Anonymous on September 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Free sample

Free sample is super good i think i might buy it

posted by 9072381 on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Amazing!

    I was never a really big reader. I read books here and there, but nothing on a regular basis. But this title really caught my eye. I first noticed it when I seen the video game. I was hooked as soon as I seen it. Then I found out out there was going to be a book. I got it the first day it arrived and could not put it down. It explains everything that happened between Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope. It shows how Darth Vador really struggled with himself what happened to the last of the Jedi Knights from Order 66 how the Death Star was created and the birth of the Rebel Alliance. I recomend this to anyone that is a Star Wars fan...old and new. This will explain alot of the Star Wars universe that was left blank in the movies. This is a must read!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    exciting novelization of the video game

    The chaos of war throughout the galaxy is no more as the Republic and its Jedi Knights are history and ironically so is their Separatist opponents who while destroying the Republic destroyed their movement too. However there is no power vacuum as the diabolically brilliant Darth Sidious has played the sides against each other and has come through as the only central power left declaring himself the Emperor Palpatine. However this sly dictator knows others out there want to dethrone him either out of a thirst for freedom or the more dangerous group that want to replace him. He plans to rule with an iron fist forever so must eliminate the cancers that remain in revolt even those that are microscopic. The Emperor assigns his top assistant, the equally vicious Darth Vader, who Palatine brought into the dark side with him, to destroy the remaining resistance. Vader has groomed a student for years for a deadly enforcer role. This Sith student knows one thing: to kill Vader¿s foes, who are defined as those opposing the Emperor. This student of Vader must first kill the remaining Jedi who failed to turn dark. However, this Apprentice has one flaw of light in an otherwise totally dark existence. He must choose between his mentor father figure Vader or the flickering light of hope he feels when he thinks of Juno Eclipse who hopes to hear his long lost name from her lips. --- THE FORCE UNLEASHED is an exciting novelization of the video game though at times falls into the trap of feeling like a game. The Apprentice is a fascinating prime player who knows only loyalty and death as everything else has been programmed out of him by his fatherly mentor. His trek to eliminate resistance takes the audience on journeys to fascinating worlds especially that of the Wookiee. Fans will relish his escapades as this seemingly emotionless killing machine suddenly has feelings for a woman, but will his training or his heart rule his mind? --- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book seriously is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book seriously is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    The Force has been Unleashed!

    I heard about this video game and I wanted to get it, but that was before I got a Wii. Now I have a Wii, but that's another story. I got this book around May of 2011 and could not put it down! Sean writes great action, and there's no doubt that I'm gonna buy the second one very soon! Awesome job Sean!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What Star Wars is Meant to Be

    This is an action-packed canonical novel in the Star Wars extended universe. It's the detailed story behind the forming of the Rebel Alliance. One of the coolest parts is how over-the-top the force abilities were. This book explores some of the limits of The Force, and shows what happens when said limits are pushed. All in all; it's a good, action-packed, drama that is fun to read, and imagine. The Star Wars universe may never be the same.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Cool star wars

    Sean williams is a amazing star wars author. I would buy this book if i were you. Star wars the force unleashed is a awesome book to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The novelization of the video game STAR WARS: THE FORCE UNLEASHED

    This book is very good. The characters are great (especially PROXY) and the overall plot is good. The story takes place in between Episode III: REVENGE OF THE SITH and Episode IV: A NEW HOPE. Darth Vader, during his time hunting down the last of the Jedi, discovered a boy with great force powers. He took the boy and began training him as his secret apprentice hoping one day he will help him overthrow the Emperor. Giving him the code name "Starkiller", a droid named PROXY, a ship, and a pilot named Juno Eclipse; Vader sends the apprentice to hunt down a Jedi General named Kota. This mission begins a journey in which Starkiller will discover his origins, his name, and his destiny. But is his destiny to help save the galaxy or embrace the dark side of the Force? I have not played the video game but after reading this book I really want to. This book is very good for fans of the video game and Star Wars fans in general. I give it a 9/10. May the Force be with you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Have not read

    I like the game not read the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    It was awesome

    I could not put this book down.It captured me and would not let me go

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Eternaldawn

    A pretty golden she cat walks in and says may i join

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action Packed!

    This book was non stop action from beginning to end! Following the turmoil of a powerful Sith Apprentice from betrayal, to revenge, to an internal struggle with the dark and light sides of the force. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A unique look at the Star Wars Universe

    It is a good concept to have an anti-hero in the Star Wars Universe. Starkiller takes on the good guys as well as the bad guys. It fits well between the prequels and the original trilogy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not like any other book on audio....Hey it's Star Wars!

    What can I say about Star Wars that has not already been said? As to this particular product, it will help complete the story for those that have the game, complete your collection of SWt Force Unleashed products, and it will surprise you. This audio book is more of an audio drama, as all the characters are voiced by different actors, and it has sound effects as well as music. I recommend this item to everyone as it is both interesting and worth the $$$$ you pay for it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    entertaining

    another layer added to the star wars universe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    very good addition to the star wars universe

    A must read.Good novelization of the video game. Its not just a story thats been thrown together to promote a video game. A story thats worthy to be added to the star wars universe. If you are waiting to play the game first, i suggest reading it when your finished for a more detailed story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Good game

    Read the book then play the game

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Good story. Translates very well from the game. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Great game

    Favorite game to play hope the book is great too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Action Unleashed!

    Star Wars The Force Unleashed hits the ground running and doesn't stop. The action is continuous throughout the book and the plot is quite involving. Sean Williams did an excellent job adapting the video game from Lucasarts.

    Unlike the PS2 game, the story fits in with the Star Wars movies. Darth Vader secretly takes an apprentice whom he trains in the ways of the dark side to do his bidding. But can anyone truly hide anything from the Emperor?

    Filled with a constantly winding, twisting plot, lots of battles, secrets and betrayal, The Force Unleashed is one of the best Star Wars action adventures ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Loved It!

    Big Star Wars fan. I have never played the game that the book was made from, but with that being said, this book and story did not disappoint. This book will take you through the beginnings of the Rebel Alliance that will one day destroy the Empire, and how it almost did not come to be. Can't wait to read the next in the edition in the series, Force Unleashed II, and am now seriously considering picking up a game that's already been out for years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5