Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Jedi Academy #1: Jedi Search

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love Kevin J Anderson's books.

This book was great. As I said in the title I like all of Kevin J Anderson's books. I really liked it when Luke and Lando tricked Moruth Doole, and the Umgullian blob races.

posted by Anonymous on November 9, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A good enough book for a sequel

The story was a little slow moving in places, but the Han Solo and Chewbacca part of the story made it worth it. My best advice is to read it so that you will be prepared for the far superior sequel, "Dark Apprentice".

posted by ColoradoBR on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good enough book for a sequel

    The story was a little slow moving in places, but the Han Solo and Chewbacca part of the story made it worth it. My best advice is to read it so that you will be prepared for the far superior sequel, "Dark Apprentice".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    I love Kevin J Anderson's books.

    This book was great. As I said in the title I like all of Kevin J Anderson's books. I really liked it when Luke and Lando tricked Moruth Doole, and the Umgullian blob races.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    A non stop action book!!!

    I liked this book very much. It starts off with Han & Chewie going to Kessel on a diplomatic mission. They are taken prisoner and forced to work in the spice mines on the planet. Not only is a old enemy trying to kill him but a energy stealing spider that lurks in the mine. Luke skywalker is trying to put together a new order of Jedi knights. Leia is trying to keep it together because her husband is missing, her diplomatic duties are weighing her down, and her twin children are coming home to stay. There was so much action in this book I didn't want to put it down and I didn't til I had finished it. I will read more from this series. If you want to read a good Star Wars trilogy start with this book. You'll be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Good Book so far

    I just bought the book and I am totally enthralled in it. I love the story and how Luke is trying to open up an acedemy for young Jedi. If you are a Star Wars fan, buy this book. I just wanted to grab a book at B&N that looked fun to read, and man, did I come upon a treasure:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Han and Chewie Go Missing!

    Jedi Search is a very interesting science fiction book created by Anderson to piece together the years after Return of the Jedi. This book is the first in a trilogy called the Jedi Academy. Kevin Anderson did an excellent job in opening up the trilogy, while at the same time keeping with an excellent plot. The story itself starts off with Luke, the now Jedi Master, appealing to the New Republic to allow him to reform the Jedi Knights. Of course he gets approval. Right away he dashes out across the galaxy in search of his new candidates while Han and Chewie are off to Kessel, a mining planet, to convince it to join the New Republic. Several things happen to both quests, good and bad, that will keep you on the edge of your seat begging for more. There is so many twists and turns that I can¿t tell you without giving away the whole ending. The story becomes so much more than just good vs. evil, Light vs. Dark. In the end the story enthralls you with its excellent sense of description and words. There¿s a part where Anderson writes, ¿the beam hit the scales and broke into a million beams of light shooting all over the cavern.¿ Here, before after, and everywhere in between Anderson shows just how good of a writer he is. I definitely recommend this book to everyone, but if you read this one you¿ll definitely want to read the other two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Meadow

    She gpes to res one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Silver

    Hey meadow you on now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Willow

    "Tanks." She grinned. "Ivy's adorable." Theta stood and sat down in front of Anna, his tail wagging as he yapped at her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    One Of The Best

    I've read Timothy Zahn's Heir To The Empire and, while I am impressed, I still prefer Kevin J. Anderson's Jedi Search. This book and both of the others in Anderson's Jedi Academy Trilogy are among my favorite Star Wars books ever. The whole concept of the Jedi Academy is quite intriguing to me. I highly recommend this book for two reasons: (1) The most important: It has a great story and (2) It's quite affordable, especially used.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Its weird

    Confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Hyperspace

    A place of intense battles. Use this area to get from planet to planet via spacecraft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    This book is great!

    The book is about luke restoring the jedi order.In this book,Luke searches for a new canidates for the jedi academy that he starts.Butt also the chapters revolve around leia, Han and Chewie,and some around lando calarissian.Its an amazing book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    AJ

    ONLY 8 WORDS READ THIS BOOK IT IS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Incredibilities

    This book is so funny! Here is one of my favorite parts of the book:
    Luke touched an isolated nub in the back of her mind, and suddenly felt as if a giant hand had planted itself on his chest and shoved backward! Luke stumbled, taking to steps away from Leia. "What did I do?" Leia asked in the same moment Luke said "What did you do?" "I don't know!" they said simultainously.
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!
    Yeah. I like the trilogy so much, I am making a plush star wars movie trilogy on the books! YYEESS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    I loved it!

    By far one of my favorite star wars books!I reccomend it to anyone over ten or eleven

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    super fantastic

    i really enjoy this book but because its just all around super fantastic homies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    Great Book

    This was one of my favorite books ever! The book started out with a great lead. Over all the begining of the book was kinda boring but it got better toward the middle. I recomend this book to any Star Wars fan, and any one who is looking for a great sci-fi book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    Excellent book

    This book was non-stop action. From the first page to the last I was always anxious to find out what would happen next. The way Han and Chewie are taken prisoner on Kessel and then discover an Imperial research laboratory surrounded by a cluster of black holes was very intriguing. This book also introduced Kyp Durron in the spice mines of Kessel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    Not that impressed

    To start off, this is the best of the three. But, given the quality of the others, that isn't saying much. The general story line was entertaining enough to read the whole book, but I cringed at Anderson's attempts to create any interest in the character's love lives. Melodrama best describes Anderson's foray into emotion. He also has a penchant for taking quotes right out of the movies, which in of itself is not necessarily bad. However, he did it with such a heavy hand that I felt he couldn't fill the pages with his own words. Lastly, every reference to past events was listed without subtly. He spoon-fed everything to the reader. This work, and the remainder of the series, was sophomoric at best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2000

    I took great pleasure in reading Star Wars: Jedi Search

    Star Wars: Jedi Search is the genesis of one of the greatest Star Wars trilogies that I have ever read. In it, Luke Skywalker, the last known Jedi, presents the concept of a Jedi Academy to the Senate of the New Republic. It is approved, and thus begins a new generation of Jedi. In another part of the novel, Han Solo's legendary ship, the Millenium Falcon, is attacked and crashes onto Kessel, a planet infamous for its spice mining prisons. Introduced in this book are Admiral Daala, an Imperial officer who controls a secret research laboratory surrounded by a cluster of black holes, Qwi Xux, a humanoid responsible for the construction of the Death Star, the World Devastators, and the Sun Crusher, a ship with impenetrable armor that is able to destroy an entire star system. And Kyp Durron, a young boy with a great Jedi talent who has a strong anger for the Empire...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3