Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The New Jedi Order #10: Dark Journey

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Remarkable!

I've read all the books up to this one in the NJO and Dark Journey is the most in depth and philosophical novel written to date! It goes in to the life of an extrodinary jedi knight and shows how easy it can be to be swayed over to the dark side in the most troubling ti...
I've read all the books up to this one in the NJO and Dark Journey is the most in depth and philosophical novel written to date! It goes in to the life of an extrodinary jedi knight and shows how easy it can be to be swayed over to the dark side in the most troubling times! It is a must read for any Star Wars fan and especially those who love a novel full of romance, deception, and action. You shouldn't be hestitant to pick up this book, you will NOT be upset! I warn you, you won't be able to put this novel down!

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

no plot

yeah, if you like reading about Jaina standing around saying that she is going to get revenge and acctually doing nothing and having no plot then this is the book for it continues the story in no way

posted by Anonymous on November 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Remarkable!

    I've read all the books up to this one in the NJO and Dark Journey is the most in depth and philosophical novel written to date! It goes in to the life of an extrodinary jedi knight and shows how easy it can be to be swayed over to the dark side in the most troubling times! It is a must read for any Star Wars fan and especially those who love a novel full of romance, deception, and action. You shouldn't be hestitant to pick up this book, you will NOT be upset! I warn you, you won't be able to put this novel down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow, an intelligent, suspenseful, Star Wars NJO thriller

    Elaine Cunningham, a Forgotten Realms juggernaut, took the opportunity to write this book with the suggestion of R.A. Salvatore. Wow! This book's suspense brought me back to one of my favorite Star Wars books, Cloak of Deception{a political thriller}. Dark Journey is a war suspense thriller that leaves you guessing, and unless you read spoilers, considering the futures of some key characters. Tenel Ka is also very much in the fore-front of this book. Fact. It does seem that the NJO scored a victory over the alien invaders with a Trickster on their side. Awesome read. Very fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2002

    no plot

    yeah, if you like reading about Jaina standing around saying that she is going to get revenge and acctually doing nothing and having no plot then this is the book for it continues the story in no way

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    The Low Point is Here

    Prior to it's release I had heard much hype surrounding Dark Journey. And that hype made it sound as if great things were to happen. As if a dark sider to the New Jedi Order was about to be unleashed. A darker side certainly was unleashed, the side that said "here's the first major dissapointment of the series". That's right, Dark Journey is the first major dissapointment. We are lead to believe that Jaina's fall to the dark side and her redemption will be of great importance. Yet they were only secondary to the real story. Hapan court intrigue. With all that was going on, Ta'a Chume's plans should have been a minor distraction from the plot, not the plot itself. Other low points in this story include: 1. The fact that both Kyp Durron, and Jag Fel, both of whom were rumored to have been major players, were barely there. 2. The book itself made it clear early on that Tenel Ka was to have a major role, especially considering the court intrigue, yet she had even less "screen time" than both Kyp and Jag and was of little importance at all. 3. The Yuzzhan Vong, who in all previous books clearly had an idea of what they were doing, are suddenly bumbling idiots who seem lucky enough to find their way to the Hapes Cluster despite knowing exactly where it is. 4. The Vong were supposed to pose a serious threat to the Hapes Cluster, but yet again their suddenly to stupid to be of any actual danger to anyone. The only high point in the story is Anakin Solo's funeral. We see a shroud covered body burned at the funeral, and we must believe it's Anakin's. Yet without a description to confirm this, such as "The light from the fire on his cheek's made it look as if Anakin was still alive", we have no idea if it's actually Anakin or someone his size. We know his body was brought to Hapes and that Leia saw it. But time elapsed between the arrival and the funeral. Time in which a body was tightly wrapped in an all concealing funeral shroud. Once again we are left with the chance for Anakin's return.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Avenge Anakin!

    This is one of those ridiculously sad books that are sooo depressing, but amazing! I think Cunningham did an extravagant job ecpressing all the characters' grief, espeially Leia's and Jaina's. The whole story is a compelling tale of tragedy and heartbreak, Anakin's mother and almost-girlfriend and sister alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Hey

    GREAT BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i love all the books in the new jedi order book series but this book series keeps getting better and better they worked seriously hard to release this 19 book series i love star wars i also love the legacy of the force and the fate of the jedi book series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BOOORRRIIINNNGGG!!!!!

    BORING! Don't buy this book. The book is 301 pages long and no more than 30 of those pages have action. All it is is talk, talk, and talk. Jaina brushes the Dark Side and does... NOTHING BUT TALK! The only thing good about this book is the cover.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    Boring!!!

    There is no action in the book. All it is is talking about doing something, and never doing it. Worst book of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Great!!!!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!! We see Jaina as we have never before! I really liked Kyp in this book. He was very supportive towards Jaina. I think he feels a little something for her! To bad Jag is so perfect for her. Great Book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    AWSOM!!!!!

    I found this copletly unpridictable. You understand a totaly different side of Jaina. It had just the right mix of romance and action to keep you at the edge of you seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT THE WHOLE TIME!!

    It was a completely different side of Jaina you have ever seen. This book was, by far, the best Star Wars book ever!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Unpredictable

    This book has everything from love to action to mystery;although not as much action as I would have liked. But I definetly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    JAINA!!!! NO!!!

    This book ROCKS!!! the only thing that would have made it better was Luke, Mara and Jacen. i couldent put it down and read it in only 3hrs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    she's changed

    Jaina should be carefull. If she's not there might not be any Solo kids left. Though I still dont think Jacen is dead. No matter what (darkside or no) Jaina would have felt SOMETHING if her brother died. All twins know when the other is hurt or dead. It's like an intuition or something. But Jaina should stay away from Jag, Zekk's the one for her!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    AWESOME!

    this book (beside Star By Star) is the best one i've read yet! Jaina should have kept going on her path and whooped some Vong @$&!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    Let Down

    You know this Turn of events is really depressing the Galaxy almost would have been better off under the Empire at least the could have put a much better fight. :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    Jaina's best

    Watching Jaina slide into the dark side was fascinating. I love her as the Trickster Goddess!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    EXELLENT!!!

    I thought that it was on of the best books in the New Jedi Order series. Jaina struggles with the death of her younger brother Anakin, and the disappearance of her twin brother Jacen. She has to overcome the difficult time and the new relationship of a master/apprentice with Kyp Durron. This is also a difficult time for Han, not because his youngest son is dead, but because he is still overcoming the death of his copilot and friend Chewbacca. Luke and Mara are happily reunited with their son, Ben Skywalker. Leia and Han see some old friends after twenty years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    Jaina's show

    A trixter, eh? I guess that storyline is OK; about as good as others in this series. The whole Hapes thing was weak. I thought Isolder was a character that should have joined the 'my heart was broken by a famous Star Wars character' club the way Callista did. For me, the character exploration of Jaina was the best part of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3