Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The New Jedi Order #13: Traitor

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Everything I tell you is a lie.

    Despite what some have said in other reviews regarding the "wordiness" of Stover's storytelling, Traitor cuts through everything that has come before and digs into the essense of the Force. Traitor ranks as my favorite Star Wars novel. I've probably read it a dozen times or more now, and I find new details every time I pick it up. Ultimately, it provides a very nice setup for the events of the 'Legacy of the Force' series down the line. Just remember: Everything I tell you is a lie. The truth is always bigger than the words we use to describe it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!

    Of all the New Jedi Order Series, personally, this book stands out the most. The transformation of one of my favorite, and sadly doomed, characters (jacen solo), is amazingly told here. The story is fast paced and will be a delight to any fans of the Star Wars Universe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Stunning and Powerful Novel!!!

    One word: WOW. Darth Bane: Path of Destruction was amazing. Revenge of the Sith was asotounding. Invincible was heartrending. But Traitor is manifestation of the raw power of words. Vivid description depicts Jacen's transformation from the tender, yet critical young man, into a tragic figure twisted by vicious circumstance. Fanstastic, and, once more, Mathew Stover excelles in his prose.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Aaaaaa

    Da<_>mn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Yay

    By far one of the best books in the vong saga. Later reading the Legacy arc, this book shows its importances even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    The beginning of Jacen's fall

    The beginning of Jacen's fall

    Vergere is an expert at seduction and manipulation. Her corruption of Jacen is subtle and progressive.
    How she slowly brings Jacen toward the Dark Side by getting him to doubt the Duality of the Force.
    Her using his love, protectiveness, and righteousness against him. Her teaching set Jacen on a path that saves the Galaxy and eventually leads to the his Fall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Shut Up I-READ-STAR-WARS-BOOKS

    Its awesome, You baloney brain :() $)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Thrilling and suspensefull

    I really enjoyed this book. I was confused by Vergere but eventually by the end of the book I was impressed with his jedi prowess and teaching that reminded me of a twisted form of yoda. Therefore, this was great and I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Found This Book Boring, But Important

    This book shows how Jacen changes from the whimpy little boy he was, to a more powerful Jedi Knight. I found this book boring because Stover keeps going on and on in detail, when I already got the point. Describing Jacen's condition, phisical and emotional, is important, and you really get the point the Jacen has changed, but I think Stover could have made this book more exciting. BORING!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Matthew Stover, fantastical.

    Simply amazing. I picked up this book, prepared for Stover to bound me tightly just as he had did with his other novels, but, this time, I had a different experience. It was fantastic-ER then the others. There was so much emotion, action, understanding, thoughtfullness portraid that after I finished I just sat and thought for an hour. Wonderful, reccommended to readers of any genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    One of the Best Contributions to Modern Literature

    Not only isTraitor an impressive and insightful addition to the New Jedi Order which I enjoyed, but it goes deeper. Author Matthew Stover explores young Jacen Solo's thoughts, contemplations and misery, this is a novel. I would recommend this title even to haters of science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    THE BEST!

    I have read the whole NJO series and though they are all incredible this one is the best. Simply amazing action, story, and theories on the Force. Best Book Ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    possibly the best book, outdoing even the unifying force

    I would recomend this to anyone, it's such a great book and really dives deep into the meditative and more philisophical part of the force, Verger was crafted masterfully, too bad she didnt live. This book made me a beleiver in Jacen, at first i always thought he was a wimp, but this book showed a side most ppl never see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    Star Wars lover (what happens after? ahhhhh)

    Traitor is a GREAT book. I love how stover makes it mainly a philosophical book. The small action parts are awesome too, like when Jacen uses the ampistaffs to wipe out Vong, while Vergere is laughing (basically) at Nom Anor. The philosophical parts are SO confusing, but you can get them if you think about it. I wish Anakin was still alive with his lambant crystal lightsaber, he could do serious damage. Anyway, it is a awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    The Best NJO Book

    Stover goes into great detail about the Force and how it is perceived. It really enlightens the reader and I found his development of Jacen into a sage very interesting. It's a pity that he doesn't act like he did in this novel again until the last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    The best of the series.

    Awesome, written Siddhartha-style with Jacen becoming the 400lb Gorilla in the mystery of the force. This was my favorite book of the series. It was an uncharacteristically deep look into the Star Wars Universe. I feel the book following Traitor, Destiny's Way, lost much of the profound new insight Jacen discovered about himself, but the Jacen of Traitor is powerfully encapturing. Hope to see more of that Jacen in the future books. Yeah Matthew Stover, I'll definitely look for more of your books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    In the tradition of Siddhartha, Self Discovery comes to Star Wars

    This is the story of a boy who becomes a man and finds a kind of enlightenment along the way. False truths are cancelled out, and in a very zen fashion, the boy learns what the truth is by finding out what it isn't. This is the sort of pretense one gives to Siddhartha, not to Star Wars, and it was quite a surprise to read Stover's masterpiece. He has done things with Star Wars I never thought possible. An amazing read, this is the story of the self-inflicted destruction and rebirth of Jacen Solo into a more complete being and a part of the Force. Jacen and Jacen alone is able to see the truth behind the Force and the Yuuhzan Vong because of the path of suffering; in order to grow as people we must first suffer in order to become stronger and in our suffering find the solutions we seek to the problems that we are confronted by. This is a rare read in a series long thought to be tired tripe; were it not for guys like Stackpoke, Zahn, Allston, and Anderson, Star Wars might never have come to the point of NJO where character development is frequent and surprises constant. Read this, plain and simple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    The Star War Bible of the Force and Yuuzhan Vong.

    To read this book, will give you a deeper understanding of the Force, Yuuzhan Vong, and Jacen Solo. To read this book, you become on with the Foce!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    All symantics, no content

    This book could have been the most revolutionary Star Wars title ever. Instead, it was a bunch of hot air. It's obvious that the creative directors behind the NJO series were trying to change the way everyone looks at the Force, but they picked the wrong author to do it. Instead of a book full of profound insight, we got a book full of word games. Instead of original thinking, we got metaphysical cliches. I am amazed that the author was able to use so many words to express so few ideas. Stover (the author) makes Dickens look terse! By removing all of the sentences with a net meaning of zero, a good editor could easily reduce this book to a short story and still get the entire message across. The worst part is that you have to sift through all of the junk in these pages to get at the few meaningful passages so that the next books in the series will make sense. If you are reading the NJO series, I recommend getting a summary from someone who has already suffered through this lobotomy-inducing abomination so that you don't have to read it yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    This is the way it should be done!!!

    Traitor, Enemy Lines, and Destiny's Way have been the biggest high points in the NJO. Traitor is a breath of fresh air for this series. Stover does a great job of bringing a very serious and adult tone to the series that really challenges you to think about everything the past books have said about the force. Jacen's character transformation is well thought out and Ganner's role is unforgettable. Enjoy the books listed above because the Dix/Williams trilogy gets too weird and is not as enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6