Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The New Jedi Order #14: Destiny's Way

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Good but I wish that it had more Jag

    Needs more Jag and Jaina but is still good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    If you like Star Wars this is a good series.

    The New Jedi Order series starts to turn around and you begin to see where the universe is heading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Anyone who likes starwars will love this

    Bought this book for my 15 yr old before we went to the beach. He couldnt put the book down. If you love starwars you will like these series of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Awesome Book!!

    I like this book because it's a lot of action in it. If you don't like action you shouldn't read it. It takes place thirty years after New Hope. It takes place during a war this is also one of the reasons I read it. One of the best books I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    NJO Continues to Impress

    This book is an excellent story of sacrifice and it explores the true meaning of the Force. Finally, we define aggression!!! Jacen is back to the New Republic!!! The New Jedi Order is now complete with a New Jedi Council. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Not Bad

    This book was really good. I couldn't stop reading it. I guess the only thing I really didn't like was the lack of response from Jacen's return. Everyone was happy, but no one was really upset about what he did in the previous book. That bothered me. I was really looking forward to everyone's reactions, considering Jacen had always been so uptight about rules.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    NJO Gets Fired Up Again

    I read this book in a day. The return of Jacen and a climactic battle in the core...all awesome. Good action and the continued development of the Solo kids. NJO has been great over all and this is among the best of the lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    A COOL BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was okay. Tenel Ka could have had a bigger role! And what's up with Danni and Jacen. I think it should be Tenel Ka and Jacen! Tahiri is once again anoying, but this book does have qa lot of action! Jacen is finally back! Tesar should have had a bigger role. Zekk should have been in there more too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Best NJO Book!

    I think this was truely the best NJO book. it had the perfect mix of drama, action, and suspence. Awsome read couldn't put it down. Welcome back Jacen!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    A good read!

    The book was a really good read. It gives you a much deeper meaning to the force.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Changes the course of NJO for the better

    It really changes NJO. I love it, it is spectacular. I would recomend this book to anyone, ANYONE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2003

    Involves older characters, redefines politics, minimizes some great writing

    Destiny's Way is a somewhat poor title for a volume that tries to tie together other Star War characters and the direction of the Jedi. It reminded me a lot of some of the roundabout writing in the Rogue Squadron series as it tries to involve minor characters, bad guys and political maneuverings with the Jedi almost as a side story. It did nicely bring back Admiral Akbar and coalesced the government and new Jedi Council. It made Luke 'a person' instead of a monotone buddha examining his navel -- which was a good thing. However, it minimized the beautiful characterization and development of both the Jacen and Jaina characters and by sacrificing Vergere, as with the needless sacrifice of Anakin in the earlier book, it tore off the possibility of some major dramatic plot twists and development between new and old Jedi philosophy. Of course I still recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    A great book!

    After reading some of the reviews for this book, I was a bit sceptical about it, but after reading it I thought it was great. I'm a slow reader but this was the fastest Star Wars book I've ever read. I thought the shift from political debates of electing a new Chief of State and forming a new Jedi Council and the struggle of our heroes, Jania and Jacen especially, was fantastic. I did find one discrepancy. It mentions Tresina Lobi for a possible Jedi Council member. But the author describes her as a member of the Chevin species (a la Ephant Mon from Jabba's palace), not the Chev for wich she is. They are both from the same planet however. Minor but visible. It's a great book, definately one of my favorites in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    The war goes a new way

    This series is growing on me. I like the premise, I like the action. Luke is finally receiving the just treatment he deserves as a character. The other standbys are also moving in interesting directions. You need to start at the start, though. The synopses at the beginning of each book are helpful, but can never capture the whole picture. Start from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    Wasted Opportunity

    There were so many thing the author could have explored further and gave additional clarity. Instead, quite a few chapters of the book read like a book report summary just to get the facts across. It lacks drama and style deserving of a story where the republic hands the YVs a resounding defeat. Jason was supposed to be the point where the universe's fate hinges on. In this book he is no more than a human war coordinator and a hot head foolishly plunging himself to a no win in a desperate effort to save his sister. all the good that did and some other Jedi had to sacrifice her life to save his. Vergere as a character was so much more interesting and the author failed to take advantage of that to develop the story line more fully. Her time with the YV was no more than a regurgitation of factoids. It should have been a story on its own. what their homeworld was like. what their culture was like. just a lot of missed opportunities!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Great...But has its faults

    the book was great. YV's get their buts royally owned. However, they put Jacen back in the spot he was in before traitor. He is a bit more mature, but where is that adult character of him that wwas developed in Traitor? I loved that book and this somewhat does him wrong. I also agree with the argument that Jacen is little more than a human Yammosk in this book. However, its ups defeinitly beat its downs. High in action, political intrigue, and more, this book rocks! (WHY DID THEY HAVE TO KILL VERGERE!?!?!?!?!?!?!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    This book ruled

    Although Walter Jon Williams seemingly doesn't know jack about the Star Wars universe if he thinks that Cal Omas is the 4th Chief of State when he is the 5th. One last thing. Gabe gamer, with someone with as atrocious grammar as you, I doubt that your book would make any sense or be good for that matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Hmmm...

    Well after reading Destiny's Way I thot it was really really good, esp. "Sword of the Jedi." However, after looking at the critical reviews I realized how much the auther cud have done. Even tho it was agood book I was bummed out with Vergere death. I think her character wasn't finished with all she cud have given to the rest of this series. Considering she was with the Vong for 50 years she sud have had her own side story but, it's been written. Maybe some future author will throw us a twist. Finally I must say that out of the whole series Anakin's death was the heart crusher!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Could have been better.

    This book was good but,deffinatly could have been better.There wasnt really a point to the book beside Jacen coming back and Vergere dying (finally! she was so annoying!!) But the battle at the end was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    what a waste

    one book gets you all excited about jacen and then the next book he stinks. what a waste of a book. you have to read it to know the next one but try to read it fast. not worth the time to flip through all the pages. how is he the great one, he didn't do anything in this book. it was like the author didn't know about the new jacen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4