Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The New Jedi Order #14: Destiny's Way

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2002

    Awesome!

    Destiny's Way was worth the wait! It's kinda cheesy to think that four basic characters are the keystones of every battle, but hey, it's cool. Besides, the way things play out-Jedi meld, the Vong's reverance of twins-all the events are given credibility. Certainly, this was the most fun battle since Ithor, or maybe, actually, Borleas and Ebaq are even better. This was great! Another nice thing is that Vergere's dead. I liked her, but her position-and personality-was too liquid and uncertain. I also found "Sword of the Jedi" astounding, though really, the name fits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2002

    Give me a break!

    Is there a NORMAL fan out there that can merely take these books for what they are(works of fiction from somebody's imagination)? I am a fan of continuity but I promise the world is not going to end if Cal Omas is written as "the 4th Chief of State when he is the 5th". It's not like Chewbacca was written into the storyline or Luke was married to Leia! This is a solid book that will only dissapoint those TREKKIE types that seem to get hung up on minutia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Awsome

    The book was awsome! Finally, the New Republic has made a comback! Took them long enough. The death of Vergere and The Warmaster were really disapointing, cause i kinda liked them both, but the battle scenes were awsome, and i loved the book. P S I am an amatuer SW:NJO era writer, if u want to read any of my work i can send you some if you email me. I have a half-completed NJO book, but it is a bit confusiong for all the time it took me to write what I have the series was going on, and I have a new project I have just recently started on. It is a chronical of the Vong, and i have had others read it and have gotten favorable responses. For those of you that decide they want to read it, it will be wierd for it makes no sense to what the Vong are in the NJO, but bear with me here, it will all come together. Maybe i can even get it published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2002

    Bleh

    One of the worst NJO books thus far. Certain scenes were horribly written and downplayed, and certain characters were not written as well as they could have been. At the most, I suggest borrowing it from someone foolish enough to buy the book, rather than purchase it yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    Is this a book review or a message board?

    I'm going to go ahead and say that the njo series have been rather lame until the Edge of Victory and books ensuing it came out. I'm going to have to say the lamest thing yet is the eBooks. computer disks just doesnt look right next to my hardcover and softcover books. Perhaps making them available in both formats would be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    Star Wars: The New Jedi Order: Destiny's Way

    I can't find him cause he isn't wearing a red and white striped shirt. I can't remember if he died or not, but if not where is he? Just curious. This series is way more realistic and in depth than the earlier works. Who wrote that only the bad guys lose. Ever here of the Crucifiction, be real the good guys don't always win. I would give it 6 stars if I could. The reason they are losing is they had finally gotten comfortable with the idea that they won, that the new republic would last for a thousand years. No one in any of the books really experienced loss until Chewie died. That was a chance to explore the characters, down to there souls. What, did you think that the Vong were gonna bring a living Death Star with them, have an evil leader in a black robe shoot lightning at people. Last time I checked the Stormtrooper outfit had been retired from the galaxy. I support anyone who says this series rocks, don't like it don't read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    Star Wars: The New Jedi Order: Destiny's Way

    Oh boohoo, everyone in the series is evil. People are dying and the bad guys are winning. Really, I never would've guessed that an unstable government run by greedy power-mongers could be defeated by a overwhelming group of dogmatic aliens! Duh, of course all the main characters have lost hope at one point in the series, it's called humanity. Someone kills your friend, you want revenge. It's not a new concept, it's as old as time. I personally think it helps to add depth to the characters. As for Destiny's Way, I expect only great things from the NJO series. Who knows, maybe Han will turn to the dark side. I mean even though it doesn't exist and he can't sense it. But what the heck, I hope they do it to get these whiners to stop complaining. Don't like it, write your own novel and send it to Del Ray.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    I love the njo books

    I love the njo o books i go to high school and the are like my little escape from realitiy i read them and i just love it i cant wait to see the out come i really hope it is the new republic that wins!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    A Bad Pattern

    First off I would like to say that I do love Star wars and most of the books that have come out. Its seems to me though that every single important character (that becomes a Jedi) turns to the dark side. I mean come on, every single one! But if you can seperate the books from the movies you will enjoy the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    Jacen's Return. I want Revenge for Anakin's Death.

    I love Star Wars, being a writer myself, it gives me a great insight on how to write science fiction. I love the NJO books, I have every single one of them, and just two days ago I finished with Traitor. I read it in a day an a half, it was the most interesting of them all. But I think the best of all is going to be Destiny's Way. I'm looking forward to seeing how powerful Jacen Solo has become, and I'm hoping Jacen will get sweat revenge for his little brother's death. I love these books, and I believe they are the greatest series of all the Star Wars. Read this book, it's going to be the best of all. Jacen Solo, your the best. Anakin, I give you a silent thought. Jaina, kick some Vong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    The books of NJO

    I think the title is kinda lame for Star Wars, but I look forward to Mr. Williams's book. I have loved all of the NJO books, but Traitor confused me a little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    Hello, What are you thinking?!!

    "The magic has been lost somewhere along the way?!" "I wish this series would end?!!" I don't know what you people are thinking, the NJO is the best!!! I have read nearly every single SW book written, and the NJO is definitely my one of my favorite series. So what if some characters die? That's what brings out the depth of the characters that still survive and what gives them incentive to go on and win. And it's not like people never die. I mean, come on. In my opinion, the Skywalker and Solo families were too secure in their belief of their own immortality. Until the NJO, the endings of the SW books were always predictable: the good guys would win, the bad guys would lose. At certain points in the NJO, however, I found myself wondering if the good guys really would win. This series is awesome, and Jaina kicks butt!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    The best Star Wars book ever!!

    Walter Jon Williams has an impressive talent for bringing the spirit of the Star Wars universe alive. I've read every SW book that has come out and this is, by far, the best one ever written. Any author writing for the SW universe after this is going to have a difficult time trying to top this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    The Best

    This is one of the best NJO books yet. The book had suspense, action and it was realistic. Stop whining about not seeing Ben Skywalker[he is only a few months old!] And stop whiniong about all the good guys getting killed, some bad guys get killed in the book too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    Yeah, it's good...

    Okay, so the series has killed off some main characters. It's called realism. So Corusant was taken a year ago. It's called war. And now that the New Republic has taken a breath, it's time for more war. I thought the book was very well written. Walter Jon Williams, while not a huge fan of Star Wars (based on some interviews), has done an excellent job of keeping the New Jedi Order series going. Now if only he'd killed Ackbar... And if only Luceno wasn't writing The Unifying Force. :p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Sick of NJO

    Really, where has Star Wars gone lately? Ever notice in any of the other books the bad guys actually kicked the bucket? Now, only good guys get knocked off. There won't be any Jedi left! I love Star Wars, but it seems like the magic of it has been lost somewhere along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    NJO; Best Star Wars books yet; except the originals, I, Jedi, and the rest of the x wing series

    Traitor is the best one in the series so far as it finally shows the Yuuzahn Vong losing at least partialy, and judgeing from the title, the Resistance is going to make some big leaps and bounds against the Vong. (Oops, they kill me now, for I am a machine, i am greater than the Vong. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    Believe what you want...

    I think that the books are great, but can be easily confusing. I like that someone decided to make the books go on, and elaborate on the children's lives, but I don't like that they killed inpmortant players. I hope they beat the Yuuzahn Vong soon, because the series is starting to drag on. All the books, when i started them, I couldn't put them down. I hope no more major players are lost. The books wouldn't be fun and enjoying anymore. I just want something significant to happen so that the books will end on a good note and be able to start a new series, like Ben being older or Jaina and/or Jacen end up having kids, Luke sure did take his time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    THE NJO IS GREAT!

    i have been enjoying the NJO books since the beginning. The whole concept is great and I love it. Finally it looks that the real picture is comming into view, no more of the stuff that plagued the first 5 books of the series, but the real goals. Traitor was great, one of the three (Traitor, Star by Star, Vector Prime) best books of the series, if not the best one. I couldn't put it down. Now Jacen will come back and I can't wait to see what they do with Vergere and Nom Anor (if he mad it out)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Very anticipant

    this series gets better with every book. i am interested to see who survives, what happens to coruscant, and what government is formed. zahn definitely needs to write the ending or the closing books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4