Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The New Jedi Order #15: Force Heretic I: Remnant

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Good

    I liked the story line. However, my only dislike is the amount of time spent towards the space fight scenes. I'm not too interested in the dog fights. Sometimes I wonder if there is more interest in the dog fights than the actual story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good NJO book

    My only complaint is that the authors don't use chapter-breaks. I like knowing that their will be a clean pause every 20 pages or so. The characters are awesome and the foundations for peace were cool in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    A well-paced, exciting story.

    The Yuuzhan Vong, aliens who deplore machines (their own technology is entirely bio-based), are overrunning the galaxy. When their forces collide with the Imperial Remnant, the retreating Remnant encounters what used to be its worst enemy ¿ Jedi Master Luke Skywalker, traveling in his wife and fellow Jedi Master Mara Jade¿s starship (with nephew Jedi Knight Jacen Solo also aboard) toward the fabled sentient planet Zonama Sekot in search of a way to defeat the Vong. This complex novel is the first Star Wars book I¿ve read since Timothy Zahn¿s Thrawn Trilogy, in which Leia Organa Solo¿s twin children Jacen and Jaina were born. Without the timeline and book list in its front, I¿m sure I would have been lost; and even with that to aid me, I still had a bit of trouble sorting out the vast cast of characters and comprehending references to previous events (especially those relating to the death of the third Solo offspring, Anakin). However, this is a book meant to be read by fans following a series. So I cannot hold my difficulties against its authors, and I must in fact compliment them on making things as easy for me as they did. With that said, this is a well-paced, exciting story. The Yuuzhan Vong are a fascinating people, and the relationships among the familiar Star Wars characters (especially Leia and Han) have developed over the years with believable complexity. I¿m not sure I want to go looking for all the books in the series now, but I¿ve enjoyed reading this one. It is satisfying to read a media tie-in novel that allows its characters to grow, change, and even suffer wrenching losses, instead of being essentially the same at the story¿s end. My compliments to whoever approves the Star Wars saga¿s written continuation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2003

    Great Action No Philosophy

    This was a fresh break from the standard NJO book. It had a ton of action yet none of that 'Where is the line drawn between light and dark?' philosophical stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Sean and Shane Write Another Good One

    Sean Williams and Shane Dix are masters of the space opera, and I am glad to see them in the Star Wars saga. They bring depth and quality to the series where, quite frankly, some of the other writers in the series did not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Left plenty of strings hanging loose...

    I believe that Tahiri's disturbing dreams are related to what the shapers did on Endor, and that she may be the 'Force heretic.' This is not good news at all. If this keeps up she could turn dark or might even join the Yuuzhan Vong -all against her will.Remember Anakin's preminition in Conquest? This could happen.I hope I'm wrong, though, Tahiri has always been one of my fav. characters (this is pretty obvious,considering I use her name as my pen name). It's too early to tell anyway.I really enjoyed the development of Jaina and Jag's relationship, along with Jacen and Danni's.Somebody wrote a review and said something about the Yuuzhan Vong taking Anakin's body and making a clone, well I don't believe this is possible. Jaina, Tahiri and a few others resued his body, while Jacen's group killed the voxyn queen, and in Dark Journey they burn his body on Hapes. Over all I enjoyed this book, and I'm looking forward to the last few books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    NJO still going strong

    I'm surprised at how much good material has come out of the NJO series. This wasn't the best book in the series, but it was an easy read and it brought Grand Admiral Palleon into the mix. I try not to get to specific in my reviews because I don't want to give too much away. If you haven't read any of the New Jedi Order books yet, then you should. It's not typical Star Wars. There are no quick solutions and the good guys take a pounding. If you decide to read them, be sure you start with Vector Prime and read them in order, otherwise you won't get the most out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    My friends just don't understand

    I've been a New Jedi order fan for a year. My 'friends' Don't understand! this book is the one of the best yet. I can't wait to read more in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    May the Force be with this book

    This book had a good story line set for teh next Book!!!!. I would rather this book had more action in this book. I was kind of hoping that Anakin would come back because he was probably the most livleiest characters in the book and without him Tahiri seems like a hopeless lovelost creature. I think the only significant part of this book was that the Empire joined the Galactic Alliance. But I really hope Anakin comes back because without him there is not much action in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2003

    Star Wars: The New Jedi Order: Force Heretic I: Remnant (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order Series)

    In response to the last few reviews, Luke, Mara, and Jacen go to the Unknown Region in search of Zonama Sekot. Any true Star Wars Novel fan will remember that planet from the book Rogue Planet, where Obi Wan and Anakin Skywalker found a living ship and the planet where the Yuhzaan Vong first appeared in the Star Wars galazy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    very very good

    I think this book will be awsome. Anakin will NOT!!!! come back!! You people who do are very strange. I have a question: What happens after Episode III? Does Star Wars just fizzle away? Hope you can answer it. Again a very good book this will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    The Ssi-Ruuk will come.

    Everyone I think Luke goes out to the unknown regions to make allies with the Ssi-Ruuk(Truce at Bakura). Also Jag Fel will return to the Chiss and give them his report on the situation in the New Republic and Soontir Fel will lead a flotilla of their ships to assist the New Republic in the elimination of the threat. Come on we already know they are currently working with the New Republic. I believe that this book will hopefully be a part of a great new series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    ANAKIN IS DEAD??? What were they thinking?

    OMG! I was visiting my grandparents when I started reading rebel lines or something (I had skipped Star by Star cuz I couldn't find it anywhere) And I'm totally punched in the stomach to know Anakin is DEAD!!!!! My fav. character! Aargh! And now his bro gets kidnapped, then he returns, Jaina is in love with a stuffy-head chiss comander, and I'm all confused about the force thx to Vergere! So, who's right? The force is 'one' right? THat makes since. I still don't get how the yuuzhan vong are outside the force. Or maybe they are like on the outskirts of it. Wasn't there another species, taozin, I think, they couldn't be sensed in the force either could they?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    ANAKIN IS DEAD!!!!!

    Good thing about it he is exactly like a irritating little brother. Thats whhy he wont be coming back, he isnt-an anti hero. When he lived he was a hero and that was his only goal, thats why i didnt like him, thats why he got killed. So he wont be coming back. Besides Anakins twin brothers have all along been the only hope for the galaxy. To Anakin fans who dont know about star wars, i tell you this burn in he... To jacen and jaina fans, who undoubtedly know them from the YJK series congratulations you are star wars fans. Who never lost faith in the power of the twins. And possibly the greatest jedi knights. As for the next upcoming NJO trilogy really looking forward to it. And hope that the solo twins bring down some Vong.(Would love to see the Jacen, Tenel Ka romance)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Anakin can, and will come back!

    You guys really need to back up your opinions instead of just blurting out that he won't come back. I think he will come back in either the Force Heretic trilology, or "The Final Prophecy". Long live Anakin Solo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    "that one general guy"

    it would be somewhat difficult for another Thrawn clone to be produced, due to the small fact that Luke and Mara destroyed the cloning chamber...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    Jedi Master Tuke -_-

    Having main characters die is sometimes what makes books even more enticing (spelling?) and can also make readers want more additions to a series, just to figure the ends to other characters n' wut not. Also, NJO is the most real of all the series' in StarWars... just because of this new addition that the heros cant always live

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Star Wars: The New Jedi Order: Force Heretic I: Remnant (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order Series)

    I think the NJO series is probably the best series since the Young Jedi Knight books. Although it will never top the Thrawn Trilogy or Splinter of the Minds Eye, those are classics. Anyway, why don't you guys stop bickering over the series, we'll see what happens in a little less than a year, can't you wait that long? I hate to see it end, but everything has to. (And if you don't believe it could end, the official Star Wars site has already announced the final books in the series!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Lukes anti hero could be Anakin could be someone from Lukes past

    After his death in Star by Star Anakins body is taken by the Vong. The Vong had the ability to clone the voxyn why couldn't they have cloned Anakin. If Anakin was cloned that could explain some of the prodlems Tahiri was going through. Jacen is not a fighter but Anakin was or is if for some reason Anakin were to have been cloned or something else occurred. Anakin could be the one who kills Lord Shimrra after Jacen reaches his heart and mind. Their are still great misteries surronding the force so why shoul their be an automatic beleif that Anakin would not come back in some form? Their is one other possibillty what if it is someone we have allready seen but not herd from for awhile. Callista has been gone for some time searching for her powers their is no reason to think she didn't end up deep in the unknown regions of the galaxy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Not one of the best, but brought back tons of emotions...

    A great great book. I was sincerely hoping that we could have an improvement of continuity and dialogue over what Jon Williams did in Destiny's Way. Although it doesn't have the impact of a Star By Star, it is a great tale and what I consider a turning point in the NJO series. It pulls from everything in the entire history of the saga. Fans of the movies will see the Empire and automatically be interested, but then be shocked to see this isn't the Empire they remember. Long time SW novel fans will hear Bakura and their interest will peak immensely. Romances are developing at a very nice and heartwarming pace with Jag and Jaina, as well as Jacen and Danni. Although there is a lack of some familar faces(Lowbacca, Tenel Ka, etc), the twists and turns with Tahiri's fall and the return of the Ryn more than makes up for it. To top it off, the beginning of the quest for the now legendary, both in the saga and real life as well, Zonoma Sekot is looking to be amazing. Sean Williams and Shane Dix did a superb job, and I hope the rest of the last of the series continues to grow at this pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3